Confessions logo

Blue, Silky Dress

A Mother's Day confession

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
11
lilylulufashion.com

Hiya, Mom,

Happy Mother's Day from your beloved son, Julius!

If I was asked to choose the perfect mother for me, it would be you every time.

There's something I've been meaning to get off my chest. Hopefully this will give you a few laughs and some insights into what makes your only offspring tick.

You were so loving and understanding when I came out of the closet. I wish all of my gay friends had such supportive parents. Lenny's mom disowned him. Jimmy's mom cried and begged him to change. Chris' dad sent him to military school. I guess that wasn't all bad, because that's where he met his better half. Anyway, I want to say thanks for being there for me.

I still remember the feeling of relief when you wrapped me in your arms. You said, "Thank God. I always wondered why my good-looking son never brought home a girlfriend."

I wasn't always sure of how you would react. When I was young, I pretended to like different kinds of music just so I could put posters of handsome men on my wall. I cringed when you bought me a CD of Brantley Gilbert's music. As sexy as he is, I can't stand country music. Sorry you wasted your money on that one. I ended up gifting it to my friend, Amanda, as I was more into Smashing Pumpkins and Nirvana at the time.

I know you had your hands full with me being a difficult child, especially as a single mom. There are so many anecdotes about my shortcomings, most of which you recall, but there's one story in particular that I wanted to share with you.

Do you remember when I was 12 and you let me stay home alone when your boss took you to that hospitality convention in Las Vegas? I spent every night that whole week trying on your dresses and putting on your makeup. I was glad your size was similar to mine at the time! I was always diligent about putting everything back exactly where I found it. When you came home earlier than expected that Friday, I was wearing your silky, blue dress and some strappy shoes. I was using the hallway like a fashion runway when you pulled up.

Worse yet, the soft, smooth fabric against my skin turned me on. I ran into my room with sizable tenting, and threw all of your stuff in my closet.

By the time you opened the front door, I had "calmed down" and changed into some jeans and a T-shirt, but I had forgotten about the makeup. I gave you a big hug and listened to you ramble on about the conference and the hotel pool, all the while worrying that you would notice that I was wearing eye shadow, mascara, and lipstick. I even shared some strawberries with you as a cover for the red lips.

I was so afraid that you would miss the dress and shoes. Of course, when I pulled it all out of the closet (ironic words, right?) your dress was quite wrinkly. I ended up washing it in the middle of the night and hanging it to dry in my closet. I snuck it back into your closet when you ran to the store the next day.

Although I suspected that you noticed, you never said anything. Either you are the coolest mom ever, or I was wrong about you noticing. Well, you're still the coolest either way!

I want you to know that I am happy. My job in the club in Miami is so much fun, and Sam treats me like a goddess.

Guess what, Mom? He proposed! I'll send an invitation, but I wanted you to be the first to know that I'm getting married to the love of my life. I want you to walk me down to the beach where we're having the ceremony. I'll be wearing a silky, blue dress!

I love you so much.

Your flamboyant son,

Julius, AKA Julie

Family
11

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.