Confessions logo

BESTIES

...friends always there for you

By CarmenJimersonCross-SafieddinePublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
BESTIES
Photo by Atul Vinayak on Unsplash

I CRIED WHEN ONE OF MY MAIN MEN DIED. He was there for me on repeated an predictable moments with an undying known mood. He died and was broadcast over live tv! It has taken a while to get over the "take away," after all, among all my friends he alone knew my common approach... without mistake. I've gone on and gotten past mourning a bit. I've learned other distractions, gotten a few new friends. Hilary beams at me reassuring that descent homes and real estate are, in fact, not a game formulated in my mind. Others have that level of steep imagination still going on even in today's broken world of life well past my own life's affiliation as a realtor. I let him slip away in exchange for brief glimpses at the likes of my past life co-worker, Dave as hestruggles not to drown or struggles not to succomb to gangsters, drug dealers and cranks. Real Estate was so much easier! His recent co-workers don't kow him like I did! (I'm determined NOT to get to caring for him... his wife is touchy.) With all the changes he never reaches his real personality... he does his acting for them... never being real anymore. Friends come and go, keeping their distance to a real business ideal. My besties, best friends who flavor my waking hours with all the affection allowed girl to girl and all the man to platonic female friend sincerity described in any dictionary. Rare to step out of line... except those related ties who could "bongee cord drop" in and zip back out of reach at their own moment's notice to get back on the job. Not OJ but COO J and impromptu meetings for whispered nothings over who has or gets gas in close... intimate spaces. My besties... within reach and so intimate when I accept the embrace and intensity of emotion provoked by them. They bring shrieks of horror. They bring coffee and sometimes cake... on a diet plate! They drift in with mention of weight but correct me if I take a wrong step toward it... pizza? no way... unless a friend, their friend is springing for the load...PIZZA HUT? fine. David! David would eat it all if you leave it there... but

He's slow coming. Nothing like the other... he's a real play boy. And there are still all the others bringing comedy and romance. They host the day with their own horror wrought with terror unimagined except by those determined to ring havoc on the nerves of their own audiences. Lasting through them all, making suggestions for their low points or sending expressed gifts... cheese baskets or bids for dollar support to preserve their dignity... I sit and hold that corner for them in their hours of need while waiting for my own to be fulfilled.

I did find another. I found one needing to be found as other than a criminal by his peers. I made a hinted suggested and hold prayers of hope that my subtle inuendos reached his heart. I wait to find success in that tap on his shoulder, still smiling and or grimacing at the pains of those others held to their gripping moments. I try my best to remain a best for those... Vin, Emo... he hated to share his food but even he has changed that mood. He gives it all away (even his bacon) for a greener pasture. I remain a best for many more... Lily and sometimes Steve. I try never to miss their most exciting developments and unless I miss at paying the electric bill, I will be there for them.

Friendship
1

About the Creator

CarmenJimersonCross-Safieddine

A widow, sharing experiences. SHARING LIFE LIVED, things seen, lessons learned & spreading peace where I can.

Call me "Gina" ( pronounced "jeena" ) short for REGINA

more at my original page https://vocal.media/authors/carmen-jimerson-cross

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Samara Simsonabout a year ago

    Very well written. Glad to come across your work today :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.