Confessions logo

Becoming A Father

Husband & Father

By Emilie TurnerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

To my husband,

I remember the day you became a father so vividly... like it happened yesterday. My beautiful, loving and supportive husband became the best daddy in an instant.

11 o'clock. That's when you became a dad. That's when our world completely changed forever and I saw you in a new light. You were devoted from the second our son entered this world and I know you will support him until your last breath.

He came out pink and screaming. You were in shock as you cut the cord and hovered closely as they checked our son over. He was so perfect and healthy. When they handed him to you, you looked as if you were holding a priceless jewel. Something so fragile you were scared your arms would break it.

I love you more and more watching you as a father. You are kind, caring, and supportive. You listen to all our son's woes and you are always present. You work hard for our family but you're never too tired to play after work.

When our son fell from that tree you were the first one there, drawing him into your arms and protecting him. You cherish your bond with him and you care for him so very much. I can see how much you love him in your eyes.

You spent weekends building him a cubby house. It was inspiring to see you work so hard to create something for him. Something he would cherish. Once it was complete you blindfolded him and took him outside. When that blindfold came off the screams of delight were enough to let you know how precious that gift was.

He played in that treehouse every single afternoon. And without fail, he waited for you every afternoon at 5pm. You were always home on time and you always went straight to the treehouse to play with him.

I loved to watch you play together. It was beautiful to see a father who cared so much for his child. Your love only expanded when we welcomed our daughter into this world.

Although you weren't new at being a father anymore you still had so much love to give. You doted on our daughter just as much as you did our son. You helped him through some big emotions when he couldn't understand why you didn't play every afternoon anymore. You still played, just inside while with his sister.

You were patient and kind. You understood that our son felt strange having a sibling also getting attention. You never yelled at him or made him feel bitter. You only showed him, and me, just how much love you were capable of.

Our children keep growing older and our job as parents keeps changing. You continue to grow in each season and you are always present in our children's lives. You have so much love to give and it is beautiful to see you dote on our children.

I am in awe of you as a father. You work so hard to earn money to shelter, feed and clothe us. You work so hard to be a good father. You spend every second you can with our children when you're not working and I couldn't imagine a better daddy for our children.

I love you so much and every day my love for you grows. You are an amazing father and I know our children cherish you so very much. They are always waiting for you to come home after work and they love our weekends together. You are exceptional.

Always,

Your loving wife

Family
Like

About the Creator

Emilie Turner

I’m studying my Masters in Creative Writing and love to write! My goal is to become a published author someday soon!

I have a blog at emilieturner.com and I’ll keep posting here to satisfy my writing needs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.