Confessions logo

Beautiful, Unique, Red Head

Learning to accept my red hair

By kasey greshamPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
15

Growing up with red hair automatically made me an outcast. It made me a target for mockery and the butt of seemingly endless jokes. In school, I had to withstand many of the infamous nicknames for redheads. "Carrot Top", "Redheaded stepchild", and later in teenage years, "FireCrotch". On a couple of occasions, I had to deal with a couple of rude guys asking if the "carpet matched the drapes". Let's face it. Us Redheads don't have it easy.

Throughout my childhood and teen years I swore that when I got older and was able to do whatever I wanted, I would dye my hair black. I hated my red hair. It was the bane of my existence.

I don't remember when, but there eventually came a day that would be the last day that I looked at my red hair with disdain and begin to love myself a little more. Eventually, I would come to learn certain facts about my copper curls that would actually instill a sense of pride in being a "Ginger". We have red hair due to a gene mutation, We make up less than 2% of the world population, and we produce our own Vitamin D.

Yeah. We're rare and cool, deal with it! Once I got older, I stopped getting bullied over my red hair. Instead, I attracted, and still attract, numerous compliments about how gorgeous my hair is. I absolutely love my hair now. It's my favorite thing about myself and you couldn't pay me to change it! Both of my parents had dark hair, but my dad's mom is who had red hair and I was blessed with it and I love her very much so having her red hair keeps me feeling close to her.

My grandma

When I'm out and about and see someone with red hair, I compliment them because no redhead should feel embarrassed by their fiery locks! We are beautiful! We are different! And if the bullies don't like it they can kick rocks!

Not long ago, I found out that according to Science and genetics, we redheads are technically all related due to the gene mutation I mentioned a couple of paragraphs ago. So, to any fellow redhead reading this, hey super distant cousin!

We redheads that exist today definitely need to be grateful we weren't born between 1450 and 1750 when witch hunts were a thing. We would have been burned just for our gorgeous hair. It's heartbreaking to think about. God rest their souls. (Yes us gingers DO have souls.)

I know it's not easy growing up with red hair. At least it wasn't when I was in school. I don't know how it is these days for kids. But, if you have a child with red hair who's having a hard time, please let them know from one redhead to another, it does get better. Let them know that one day, they'll get compliments instead of insults. And if someone calls them "Carrot top", tell them to kindly remind that mean bully that they better go take a good hard look at a carrot because carrot tops are GREEN.

One more thing before I come to a close with this one. I would like to add that now that I'm older, I enjoy the hell out of ginger jokes. But only us gingers can tell them! God have mercy on the poor fool with another color hair who dares to tell a ginger joke. Let's just hope that he looks over his shoulder before opening his mouth to make sure one of us isn't lurking in the shadows. That being said, I think it's fitting to end this with one of our jokes.

How do you get a ginger to change moods?

Wait 10 seconds 🔥

Me as a wee lass

Much love to all my fellow redheads! Stay ginger!

If you enjoyed reading this or if you're a redhead (or know one), please consider hitting the heart, subscribing to read my future articles, and leaving a tip, all of which would be greatly appreciated. If you know anyone that would find value in this article, please share it with them.

Thanks so much for reading.

Humanity
15

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.