Confessions logo

Bardot Contre Merlot

If A Woman Were Like Wine

By Gina The BallerinaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Bottle & Glass of Merlot

He was someone whom I had met on The Internet and had come to crave meeting up with again and again and again. Today, at the last moment, we made plans to get together later this evening. I didn't want this date to be regular. It should be extra pleasant, romantic, full of intrigue.

A last minute date calls for stopping by the supermarket and some rushing. The excitement and newness of attraction between us was feeling well worth it to me though. Typically I would go with the flow and let the man decide what to discuss, where to go, what to eat until the reckless end of the night. We'd have a burger and beers or dance until the club closes while he tells me about his previous lady experiences. Meanwhile I would find him crude. This man, however, was better looking and kept my attention. He isn't starting out as a passing fancy.

For this date I will do something that I saw on television or something like my friend, Josh, introduced -- to cook dinner and stay in. Josh often wanted to go out carousing but sometimes he would get bread and crab and cheese and make the simplest things into fancy with a round of friends. Usually it turned out fun and awesome! In some essence I could resort to serving foodies and drinks. But I wanted to make a classic gourmet dinner.

"Isn't it strange that we soon resort to the opposite talk of milk with a square meal and family right after the dating goes well? I would rather more dating than the opposite next conclusions," I was thinking while jumping into my car to zip over to the supermarket. "Why doesn't the dating continue" I wondered while knowing the pre-set outcome and disliking it and listing off that I needed to pick up, "mixed greens, dressing, flowers, wine -- hmm, wine. I may not be a wine expert. What kind of wine?", and continuing, "the right cut of beef, potatoes...".

"This may seems to be the man of my dreams. He just may be the one who doesn't need me to produce 2 1/2 children for him, if I know what I mean" I dreamt as I shimmied down the street in my late model Nissan. Checking my watch, I was pretty certain that I had time to make something classic and not Italian and that hopefully the right cut of meat was on-hand or I will have to change the menu.

As I parked, I picked up my pace to ensure that I had sufficient time to prep a tres chic dinner even if I had to continue cooking after our date began. I practically ran through the produce section to get ingredients for chopped salad. All the while I felt a surge of passion to be seeing this guy again. You know how it is when there's ardor and you have to keep putting down the phone so that you are not constantly contacting and up to stalking someone? -- I headed towards the meat section to make certain that the right cut of meat was in and -- voila`, yes, whew, there it is! Good, to not have to resort to serving foodies. Foodies -- you know, an array of gourmet like chicken salad on brioche with different cheeses, Greek olives or combinations like such? After picking up a package of meat I hurried back to the produce section to select the perfect potatoes, carrots, and onion and then shifted over to spices to pick up tomato paste and concentrated brown gravy. I planned to cook a classic gourmet Swiss Steak. Next I headed for wine and decided that I may not be the best at choosing wine and what's more removing the cork. While looking I noticed Bordeaux and thought of the actress, Bridget. "Help another girl out, Bridget" was my thought and then, "Just guess", followed by, "They say that red wine goes with beef". Glancing further I grab a bottle of Napa Valley Shafer Vineyards, hesitated and then grabbed another.

Finishing my shopping with bread, real butter, and a combination flower bouquet with orchids -- I hit the road again. I always choose orchids which are exotic to me. While making my way home I began to consider what clothes to wear and within 15 minutes I was dropping shopping bags on the kitchen counter. My cell phone began to ring which I answered while beginning to prep dinner. "Hello?" but she hung up. The number was of a close girlfriend. I tried to call back -- no answer. I caught my breath and decided that I could call her after finishing some of the tasks of cooking. Looking at the bottles of wine, I contemplated whether chilled or room temperature and placed one bottle to chill and the other on the counter. "There, both." I resolved. Within a short while the vegetables and even the salad were ready. I seared the meat and set it all to slow cook. Then I grabbed my phone to call my girlfriend back swearing that she could calm my nervousness while I went about changing attire.

"Hmmm, still no answer" so I sent her a quick text. Having time to quick shower, I shuffled through my closet for some idea of what to wear. While this I also sent a text to my date. At first, "I would like to know how you would like our date to go?" and he replied with, "However makes you happy." I then sent text: Do you like your wine chilled or room temperature? He returned: Both. I smiled warmly, replying: "Good. Both it is! Any wine preference?" and after several minutes he sent this message: A glass of Merlot would be nice. -- Interestingly enough that is exactly the type of wine I had purchased. Oftentimes I would prefer a white wine like Chardonnay or Chablis, Zinfandel -- Madeira, Moscato, Pinot Grigio, a pleasant sparkling peach -- then something dawned on me. "A man might like a wine like a woman of which I definitely would not prefer but he would". Soon after that I met him at the door with a glass of Merlot and the evening went fabulously futuristic.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.