Confessions logo

April Fools Day Phone Prank

Epic Phone Call

By Skyler RickettsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
April Fools Day Phone Prank
Photo by Marija Zaric on Unsplash

In the spirit of April Fools Day, which landed perfectly on my Storytime posting day, I decided to share the story of the fun prank calls I did in some of my character voices.IT was a great practice as adlibbing characters is, and despite it all being for good fun, I would actually call this a practice session of sorts.

It was actually about only six months ago, I was still in my closest recording when I got a very annoying phone call. I had to wait until my phone had stopped ringing, or it would be in the recording. But just as the phone had stopped ringing, it started up again. At this point I thought I was an emergency, and it was ruining my recording, so I left my recording space to check my phone. I had three missed calls at this point, all of which were from a spam alert. What annoyed me most of all was the phone getting a forth call as I was holding it.

This got me thinking about one of my favorite comedians and pranksters, James Viech, famous for replying to spam emails and wrong numbers and well, pranking them. Since they clearly weren’t leaving me alone, I thought this was the perfect idea (it wasn’t, I probably should have just blocked the number). I joined the call and answered in the voice of Shay, since her voice is slower and well, scarier then mine.

“Heeellllloooo?” I answered.

“Yes, this is your late uncle’s son, your cousin. I am calling you to let you know he left you a large amount of money in your name.” Well since I had no late uncle, this was obviously very suspicious.

“Hmmmm, oookkayyy. Whaaat kiindd oofff mmmoooonnneeyy?”(Okay I’ll stop, you get the point).

“He left you 12,000 USD, but in order to get it he made sure you had to answer this three questions.”

“Wow, what are they?” I paused. “Is this like jeopardy? Do I get lifelines?”

“No life lines, you are the only person to answer these questions. First, what what his favorite color.”

I figured he’d say yes to whatever I had chosen, so “Light Goldenrod Yellow” which just so happens to be the color with the longest name.

“Uh, yes. Good answer. Next question, what was your uncle’s favorite pet?” Ah yes, a pet question. Goodie.

“Larry the Husky.” Well considering none of my relatives are or have ever really been interested in large dogs I thought this was a good enough cover. “Or maybe Rosalie the lab?”

“It was Larry the Husky. Congratulations.” The scammer answered. “Now one last thing, what are the names of his parents.”

“Oh thats easy! It’s Uncle Ben and Aunt Mae! (I’m a spiderman fan, okay?).”

“Wow, cousin you did great! Now you have passed I need your bank details to send you the money.” The scammer answered.

“Perfect! Oh! I nearly forgot. Larry the Husky was Uncle Ben’s dog, and Light Goldenrod Yellow was Aunt Mae’s favorite color. And I don’t even have a bank account! Any chance you have a Paypal?”

They hung up. I blocked the number and never heard from them again. It was a truly happy ending.

This was a pretty great phone call. Not only for the laughs but for the many laughs that I get every time I think about it. But let’s just think about my poor ‘cousin’ for a moment, I mean he just lost his dad, tried to get me a nice sum of money, and ended up being pranked. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed it. Let me know if you have done anything similar in the comments! Thanks for reading!

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.