Confessions logo

Angel in White

The "white angel" is worthy of everyone's praise, and the hero of the story I'm going to tell today is my maternal grandmother,

By DelorisPowersPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Angel in White
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

The "white angel" is worthy of everyone's praise, and the hero of the story I'm going to tell today is my maternal grandmother, my grandmother's mother - she is a doctor.

My great-grandmother grew up in a good family, her father was very rich, and then because of the suppression of capitalists, the advantage of her great-grandmother compared to others also ceased to exist, and was often ridiculed by her classmates, but her great-grandmother is not so decadent, she studied hard and eventually entered medical school.

Due to the low level of education at that time, most patients and patients' families do not understand the condition, other doctors will always be very impatient, and even argued with patients, so the communication between doctors and patients will produce a gap, but my great-grandmother is very patient, in patients and families do not understand the terminology, she will draw a simple diagram, and then explain with patients and families, it is much better to understand; in the patient fear of surgery, also When patients were afraid of surgery, she would patiently communicate with them and their families to help them get out of their fear and accept the surgery. At that time, going to the hospital was different from now, as long as you paid the fee, you could go to the doctor's office and choose any doctor to see you. My great-grandmother was also very "in demand" and she was often busy while her colleagues went to dinner.

Today, my great-grandmother lives in a nursing home and still explains patiently to her friends or her friends' children and grandchildren when they have such questions, and has always been a patient, gentle, and good person in the eyes of all.

My great-grandmother, my grandmother's father, had always suffered from chronic asthma and it was very severe. Once, my great-grandmother was in surgery when the nurse came with the news that my great-grandmother was in the hospital because of asthma and was now being resuscitated. The scalpel slipped from my great-grandmother's hand, and a pale great-grandmother was about to dash for the door when the nurse behind her shouted, "Dr. Zhou! You can't leave! There is no other doctor in the entire obstetrics and gynecology department now!" Grandma suddenly stopped and said to the nurses behind her, "Good! The operation continues!" After wiping her tears and changing her gloves, she picked up the scalpel again, appearing to be the same calm and collected Dr. Zhou, but experiencing waves inside. That patient was eventually discharged safely, but my great-grandmother left forever ......

At that time, my great-grandmother could not accept the departure of her great-grandfather, and she was immersed in grief for a month, and due to her emotional instability, the hospital would not let her go into surgery. After much persuasion, Tai Grandma finally decided to move on and focus on her patients, rescuing more of them. I remember my grandmother telling me this story when I was a child, and at one point I asked my great-grandmother, "Great-grandmother, do you regret now that you chose to go ahead with the surgery at that time?" Grandma hastily tugged my clothes, meaning that I should not say this, but too grandma gestured for grandma not to stop me, saying, "It's okay, I have long since put down ...... In fact, ah, at a time when I was very sad, I also regret, how could I not rush out regardless of the time! After I understood, as a doctor I can not! I can't leave my patients behind! Not to mention the lives of patients in exchange for the lives of my loved ones! I think if I could do it all over again, I would still not change my decision at that time. I think your great-grandmother must have wanted me to do what I did too ......" Hearing this from great-grandmother, I thought: So great-grandmother has endured so much alone ...... I hugged my great-grandmother tightly and said to her. "Tai Lou Lou, don't be afraid, I'll protect you in the future! I will also be a good doctor like you!"

Although you are only one of many doctors, you are great in my heart and have given me the direction of my life! I hope that many years from now I can be a good doctor like you who is patient communicates well, does his or her job, puts the patient first, and is trustworthy!

Family
Like

About the Creator

DelorisPowers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.