Confessions logo

‟And Mr. Jellyby, sir?” suggested Richard.

‟And Mr. Jellyby, sir?” suggested Richard.

By YouTHPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

‟ ‟

describe him to you better than by saying that he is the husband of Mrs.

Jellyby.”

‟A nonentity, sir?” said Richard with a droll look.

I don’t say that,” returned Mr. Kenge gravely. I can’t say that, indeed, ‟ ‟

for I know nothing whatever of Mr. Jellyby. I never, to my knowledge,

had the pleasure of seeing Mr. Jellyby. He may be a very superior man,

but he is, so to speak, merged—merged—in the more shining qualities

of his wife.” Mr. Kenge proceeded to tell us that as the road to Bleak

House would have been very long, dark, and tedious on such an evening,

and as we had been travelling already, Mr. Jarndyce had himself

proposed this arrangement. A carriage would be at Mrs. Jellyby’s to

convey us out of town early in the forenoon of to-morrow.

He then rang a little bell, and the young gentleman came in.

Addressing him by the name of Guppy, Mr. Kenge inquired whether

Miss Summerson’s boxes and the rest of the baggage had been sent ‟

round.” Mr. Guppy said yes, they had been sent round, and a coach was

waiting to take us round too as soon as we pleased.

Then it only remains,” said Mr. Kenge, shaking hands with us, for ‟ ‟

me to express my lively satisfaction in (good day, Miss Clare!) the

arrangement this day concluded and my (good-bye to you, Miss

Summerson!) lively hope that it will conduce to the happiness, the (glad

to have had the honour of making your acquaintance, Mr. Carstone!)

welfare, the advantage in all points of view, of all concerned! Guppy, see

the party safely there.”

‟Where is there,’ Mr. Guppy?” said Richard as we went downstairs. ‛

No distance,” said Mr. Guppy; round in Thavies Inn, you know.” ‟ ‟

‟I can’t say I know where it is, for I come from Winchester and am

strange in London.”

Only round the corner,” said Mr. Guppy. We just twist up Chancery‟ ‟

describe him to you better than by saying that he is the husband of Mrs.

Jellyby.”

‟A nonentity, sir?” said Richard with a droll look.

I don’t say that,” returned Mr. Kenge gravely. I can’t say that, indeed, ‟ ‟

for I know nothing whatever of Mr. Jellyby. I never, to my knowledge,

had the pleasure of seeing Mr. Jellyby. He may be a very superior man,

but he is, so to speak, merged—merged—in the more shining qualities

of his wife.” Mr. Kenge proceeded to tell us that as the road to Bleak

House would have been very long, dark, and tedious on such an evening,

and as we had been travelling already, Mr. Jarndyce had himself

proposed this arrangement. A carriage would be at Mrs. Jellyby’s to

convey us out of town early in the forenoon of to-morrow.

He then rang a little bell, and the young gentleman came in.

Addressing him by the name of Guppy, Mr. Kenge inquired whether

Miss Summerson’s boxes and the rest of the baggage had been sent ‟

round.” Mr. Guppy said yes, they had been sent round, and a coach was

waiting to take us round too as soon as we pleased.

Then it only remains,” said Mr. Kenge, shaking hands with us, for ‟ ‟

me to express my lively satisfaction in (good day, Miss Clare!) the

arrangement this day concluded and my (good-bye to you, Miss

Summerson!) lively hope that it will conduce to the happiness, the (glad

to have had the honour of making your acquaintance, Mr. Carstone!)

welfare, the advantage in all points of view, of all concerned! Guppy, see

the party safely there.”

‟Where is there,’ Mr. Guppy?” said Richard as we went downstairs. ‛

No distance,” said Mr. Guppy; round in Thavies Inn, you know.” ‟ ‟

‟I can’t say I know where it is, for I come from Winchester and am

strange in London.”

Only round the corner,” said Mr. Guppy. We just twist up Chancery

Family
Like

About the Creator

YouTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

YouTH is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.