Confessions logo

Aging Matrimony

Love Aging Out

By Cam RascoePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Happier Days

There was once a time that I always felt like the apple of your eye. I was the sun in your love’s universe. Beautiful poetry you wrote me celebrating our great love and how it came about. Books you crafted with your own hands, burning edges of pages and designing lovely boarders. Every word in each of these books I cherish. I read them again just the other day. I needed to remember. I know you love me, just as I love you. Our love is one for the ages; this is true. Then, life happens. Then a history of life happens. Six wonderful children we protect and parent occupying most of our time and consuming all of our disposable income. We both understand that the sacrifice is an investment in our family’s future. Many a football, basketball, baseball, softball, soccer, volleyball, cheer leading, band and dance events and games we have attended, coached, supported and of course funded over the years. Very time consuming and physically taxing all of the running around can be, leaving little “mommy and daddy time”. When we finally return from our children’s activities you are fatigued and drained and I am left to talk to myself as you nod off to our favorite program.

I kiss you gently on your forehead, you smile in your sleep whispering “I love you”. I tell you I love you in return and patiently wait for you to rise the next morning so that we may share some intimacy.

I am not quite as virile as I once was when I was younger. Our time is limited, forty-seven minutes from the time you wake until the time you need to get ready for work. The insomniac in me has me up two hours before you, laying in wait. You communicate on social media offering your words of inspiration and faith to the masses as I try to remain primed and ready for our physical expression of love. Sometimes time or nature doesn’t permit. Our passionate lovemaking can sometimes fall into a routine or even a rut. Same position, same time, same place, all we have time for. Yet we are still so very much in love. My every word you once hung on, now I often feel like my utterance and expressions fall on deaf ears. Repeat myself I do, sometimes more than once in an effort to be heard. My voice is often drowned out by one of our children’s for they seem to always have your ear.

Our telephone conversations are often cut short because you can’t bear to miss a single play or at bat of any of our children. Video must be taken. I often feel like to you it is more important to provide our growing babies with everything they want before I receive what I need. Understand I do that this is their childhoods, I have already had mine. I want them to have the opportunities and wonderful memories that are lacking from my youth but I don’t want to sacrifice my entire adult life for their happiness. I still have dreams to pursue too. You often vent to me about your fatigue from running behind them without realizing how neglected I sometimes feel. I find myself trying to comfort you in a situation which I also feel overwhelmed. I encourage us finding more balance in our lives and in return you go harder. It is odd how I can love and respect your dedication to our six children while sometimes resenting it at the same time.

Our children are certainly a gift from God but they can sometimes be a curse to our marriage. Unconditionally do I love each of them equally yet differently but of you they sometimes require far too much. You being the awesome and doting mother you are, sometimes you attempt to give them more than you have to give.

Witnessing you cutting the toe nails of our almost teen kids made me think back to the years when you would give me pedicures or rub my feet after a long days work. Before I could feel too sorry for myself I thought back to the last time I gave you a pedicure over a year ago. To both of our credit we do on occasion enjoy a day together when we get pedicures and enjoy lunch out. We do this about twice a year. I look forward to it. These are my list of grievances in our almost perfect marriage. No relationship is absolutely perfect but if these are my only complaints, ours is close to it. I love you with all my heart and just want to spend more time with you; that is why I have already done the math. I will be fifty-two years of age when our last baby bird leaves the nest. That empty nest is what I am working towards. So yes, we should invest fully in our children today so that they will be an asset rather than a hindrance in the future.

After church on Sunday I want to have dinner at their homes with their families. After eating my meal I will rise from my seat leaving my dirty plate where it lay. I will enjoy the company of my grandchildren and then make plans to have dinner at another of our children’s homes the following Sunday.

I want us to vacation, enjoy live shows and attend professional sporting events. Dining out more often, taking long walks and of course no longer missing church to attend youth sporting events. No matter how hectic our life may be now, I am extremely Blessed to share it with you.

When things slow down and we get more alone time I will be granted more opportunities to show you just how much I love you. This is the life I want for us in our aging matrimony for I will love you into eternity.

Family
Like

About the Creator

Cam Rascoe

Author Cam Rascoe born Cameron Marquee Rascoe on August 3rd 1973 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania is a multi talented artist utilizing his God given gifts to educate, entertain and inspire his fellow man.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.