Confessions logo

A Gift For Mother's Day

The Gift of Truth!

By Kirsten IvattsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
3

Hey Mum,

I never told you this, but…well, now I’ve started, and I don’t really know how to begin!

I’ll start by saying I wasn’t really in any danger, in the past anyway, although it may sound like it as you read. So perhaps, make yourself a cuppa and find yourself a comfortable seat. Then do me a favour and read this like a story about someone else. Remember, I didn’t ever need to tell you this. I could have taken it to my grave. But, well, it’s been bothering me that you don’t know. I tell you everything! Usually. And I’m not sure, but I might need your help. Hopefully not though.

You’re probably getting tense now, wondering where this is going. After all, having a baby at fifteen was probably the worst thing you thought I could ever do! And the happiest of course because you became a Granny before a single grey hair arrived! But I’m stalling. God, this…is…so…hard…

OK. Here goes. You know that MP, the one who got slung out of the Cabinet because he was having an affair with his secretary? His name is George Mould, and, well, it wasn’t his secretary, she was just a scapegoat. George was having an affair with me. I feel awful about it. His poor wife, not to mention the secretary, who seemed really nice actually. I can’t remember her name now. You can’t imagine the shame I feel though.

His wife hired a private detective to track us down. It got a bit hairy for a while. There were death threats…I don’t think she ever really meant them; she was just angry. Rightly so! Anyway, I got out of it unscathed. My name, the family name, never came out in public, George, bless him, made sure of that. And it’s two years ago now. I don’t see George anymore.

The trouble is, George has now been arrested. On espionage charges. He always talked about his love for Russia, but it seemed like just a scholar’s passion, nothing more. He did speak the language really well, but I just thought he’d majored in it at Oxford.

Then I received an anonymous letter three weeks ago that warned me MI5 were sure that George’s mistress was a Russian spy! I had to laugh! Me…a Russian spy! But since then, I have noticed a dark car following me, and it parks in the supermarket carpark across the street from my flat.

I know what you’re thinking. I need to just go and tell them I’m not a spy. I mean, they can’t find anything on me, I’ve never even left the country for heaven’s sake. Well, that would be fine, and I am definitely not a Russian spy! But I have been doing a bit of work for China, since Uni really. It paid off my student loan really quickly and enabled me to get this flat (I know you always wondered about that!).

I haven’t told them much. There were a few things that George divulged, but it was only about everyday Government stuff, nothing that the press didn’t know, other than that one white paper on the space programme. But that was all about bloody Cornwall! Who would launch a rocket from there?! It was probably a red herring. Governments do that you know, to throw off anyone who might be spying on them. George told me that.

I suppose I’m telling you all of this just in case really. Someone has to know, for Billy’s sake. You’d look after him, wouldn’t you? If anything did happen I mean? I love that kid so damn much. Yeah, I’ve made some mistakes, Mum. I openly admit it…to you, but I never meant anyone any harm. I just set out to have some fun, a bit of romance, someone to spoil me for a change. Being a single Mum is HARD.

I know that Mother’s Day is supposed to be full of flowers and chocolates and cards. But this Mother’s Day I wanted to give you the gift of TRUTH. Probably not something you will thank me for today. But forewarned is forearmed as they say.

I love you Mum. I hope you can forgive me. I never meant to do anything that might hurt anyone else.

I’m going to sign off now, and pop this note in your card. There’s two men coming towards the flat from the car across the street.

Hope to see you soon Mum.

Happy Mother’s Day.

Love Kara. xxx

Family
3

About the Creator

Kirsten Ivatts

Imagination is my pen, and I wield it in every area of my life!

From fantasy fiction to poetry. From writing courses to sharing my interdimensional travels, riding dragons through the cosmos, I live to write.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kim Wilson2 years ago

    A great plot you can enlarge on in a book if you choose too 😃

  • Amy Bush2 years ago

    I love this story Kirsten!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.