Confessions logo

A Date to Say Bye-Bye To My Love

My best-kept secret, now revealed

By Kavi KamatPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
11
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

11th July 2007; it was a special day for me. I left the office early to go home and dress up in my best formals. I was going to start my MBA journey.

I always wanted to do an MBA but refused to use my dad's money for it. I got the opportunity after getting promoted to a manager; seven years into my job.

Entering the class, I was feeling excited on my first day. The professor had not yet arrived, and so we started introducing ourselves to each other. I realized that most of us were lower and mid-level professionals from various fields.

The class started with an ice-breaking session. Each one of us had to come on stage and uniquely introduce ourselves. I did mine after a few guys.

During my ice-breaking speech, my eyes often made contact with a female face who was attentively listening to me. There was something in that face which kept attracting my eyes every few seconds.

Days passed by, and life was routine. I worked from 9 am to 7 pm and then rushed to college to attend lectures till 9.30 pm. Life was hectic. We had classes all seven days a week, and there was no time for anything else. My social life had become zero.

Three months into college, life was becoming difficult. It was the same boring routine every day. But things were about to change.

Life took a sudden turn.

It was the start of the 2nd trimester. I left office at 6.30 pm. On my way to college in a tuk-tuk, I saw someone desperately waving for a lift. As the tuk-tuk got closer, I realized it was the same girl from the ice-breaking session.

I told the tuk-tuk driver to stop and pick her up. I was able to see her so close for the first time. She looked gorgeous.

"Hi, I am Tanya," she said, looking at me; while extending her hand to greet.

"Hi, I am Kavi; nice meeting you," I said, shaking her hand.

I continued, "Not sure if you know, but we are from the same MBA class."

Tanya turned her face towards me, "Of course I know. How can I forget your ice-breaker speech! You seem to be a pro in public speaking. I need to learn that skill from you. I am terrible. I get so nervous."

In the 15 minutes ride, I got to know Tanya a bit more. She was an open and light-hearted, happy-go-lucky type of character who wore her attitude on her sleeve—a total opposite of me, who never chose to display my emotions in public.

Over the next few months, we became good friends. Picking up Tanya became an everyday affair. On the way, we used to gossip about our bosses, our lecturers, our colleagues, and everything under the sun. I started enjoying Tanya's company.

I was starting to like her, and it suddenly seemed essential for me to know her relationship status. While I was scared to ask her, I slipped the question to her once in a casual chat.

"Nope," came the answer, to my utmost relief. She was single, and I was ready to mingle. That seemed to be the happiest day of my life.

Nine months passed by, and Tanya and I became best of friends. We spent most of the time together in college and studying in the same group during exams.

The twist

It was the day of our last examination. I had taken a leave and picked up Tanya on my way. Since it was an executive course, the exams were in the evening, and we used to study in the library from early morning.

As we got down from the tuk-tuk and headed towards the library, Tanya stopped me from behind. "Can we sit in the lawn area? Let's not go to the library today."

I was confused but agreed.

As we sat on the lawn, I could feel Tanya's nervousness on her face. She was quiet, and her eyes were watery.

I asked, "What happened? Exam tension?"

She nodded in disagreement. "I need to tell you something. But promise that you will not tell anyone."

I agreed.

"I lied to you. I have a boyfriend, and we are in a long-distance relationship for the past three years."

Her words poked like bullets in my heart. "Why, Tanya, why didn't you wait for the exams to get over. At least I could have written the papers peacefully," my inner voice shouted. But I didn't react.

"He was my colleague but moved to Australia for studies. Now he is working, and we want to get married, but my parents are against it. I tried speaking to my him, but he is not ready to go against my parents' wishes. I don't know what to do." Tanya's eyes fill with tears.

I couldn't see her crying. I think I felt love for the first time in life.

I consoled her that day. After the exam, we spoke at length, and I assured her of my unconditional support.

I became a shoulder for Tanya. She used to call me up whenever she felt lonely or dull. We used to speak for hours. She felt better talking to me, and my heart always enjoyed listening to her voice.

A year passed by, and we entered our third and last year in college. My late-night chats with Tanya were routine. I started feeling; I knew her better than herself by now.

It was a day in July 2009; I left class after lectures. As I was about to take the stairs, someone pulled my hand from behind. I turned around, and it was Tanya. She dragged to a quiet corner.

In a thrilling voice, she said, "Dad had agreed." Before I could realize what she was saying, she hugged me tightly and said again, "Dad has agreed to my marriage. It's in December."

I smiled. "That's such great news. Congratulations."

I felt like my heart stopped. I knew I had lost my love!

A few days later, I received a call from Tanya, "Need help. My family wants me to make all the arrangements by myself. Will you help me with the arrangements?" I agreed.

What followed were days full of wedding planning. For me, The entire episode was like a slow poison. It was killing me from inside to make wedding arrangements for my own love.

Two days before the big day, Tanya and I went to pick her future husband from the airport. As soon as he came, Tanya ran and hugged him. After a few kisses, she introduced me to him.

He had a far better personality than me. No doubt, Tanya had fought so hard for him. After a brief introduction, we headed to a restaurant to have food. It was hard for me not to look at Tanya during the dinner, but I never wanted to give her boyfriend a bad vibe.

The wedding day arrived, and it all went well. I was managing all the arrangements and had to take my dinner after everyone had left. Sitting alone in a corner with a food plate, I could feel tears rolling down my cheek.

Instead of being on stage with my love, I had ended up being an event manager at her wedding. I didn't feel like eating and left.

Bye-Bye Love

Photo by Polina Zimmerman from Pexels

10th April 2010; it was our convocation day for our master's degree. But for me, it was the day when Tanya was leaving for Australia to be with her husband forever.

Over the four months after the wedding, Tanya and I hardly spoke. She was busy with studies for an Australian PR, and I kept myself occupied at work and avoided thinking about her.

I was already there in the theater when Tanya arrived. She was looking drop-dead gorgeous in a tight one piece. She came and sat next to me.

We were awarded our degrees, had some photographs, and then bid farewell to our gangs for one last time.

Now I was left alone with Tanya. She stopped a cab, and we got in. I thought we were heading to the airport, but instead, the taxi took us to a sea-front lounge. I looked at Tanya, "I thought you are going straight to the airport?"

"Sorry, I didn't tell you of my plans, it's a surprise. Now come on, get out." Tanya pushed me out of the cab. We ended up on the restaurant's terrace, which had nicely arranged tables facing the sea and candles on each table.

We took a seat at a corner table. "What's all this?" I asked Tanya.

"Can't you understand, dumbo? It's a date!"

I was confused. "But why?"

"Well, I want to have a sweet memory with you before I enter a new chapter in my life."

The waiter came and gave us the bar menu. Tanya took it while I told the waiter, "beer for me."

Tanya looked up, "Idiot, it's a special day, no usual beer; I will decide what we drink today."

She looked at the waiter and said, "Get us a Merlot."

As the waiter left, I turned to Tanya, "Wine? When did you get into wine drinking?"

"There are many things you don't know about me. Today is a special day, and I wanted to have a special drink. Any problem?" Tanya said in an arrogant voice.

The waiter poured the Merlot into the glass. Tanya raised a toast, "Cheers to my new life with my love." I acknowledge.

As we sat there sipping the Merlot, the calm wind from the sea passing through my hair, Tanya looked at me.

"Kavi, do you love me?" she asked in a soft voice.

I felt shocked. "What, how stupid a question is that."

"Tell me. Do you love me?" she asked again.

"No. I am your best friend, and let's just keep it at that," I said.

"Don't fool me. I could see it in your eyes. At least tell me today. I don't know when we will meet again."

"Tanya, what I feel doesn't matter anymore. What matters is that you are married, and you would be walking in a new chapter of your happy life ahead."

We both had finished our first glass. The taste of the Merlot was tingling in my mouth. I was enjoying the experience when Tanya suddenly pulled me by my collar.

Both of us were face to face. With closed eyes, Tanya moved forward to kiss me on my lips. Her tender red lips looked saw beautiful. I closed my eyes and could smell the Merlot from her breath as her face moved closer.

I was just about to have my first kiss with Tanya.

"Have you gone out of your mind?" I pulled myself back at the last moment.

Tanya went back to her seat, laughing. "What happened? I was testing you. Checking out, if you love me."

"Can we stop these games and leave. Your parent must be waiting at the airport," I said as I asked the waiter to hurry up with the cheque.

Both of us were silent on our way to the airport. Tanya looked outside the cab as she soaked in every bit of the city, which was once her home.

We reached the airport. Tanya's parents were waiting at the entrance. Tanya hugged both of them, waved me the last goodbye, and entered the airport.

That night I couldn't sleep. I cried my heart out. Because that night I truly experienced was true love was. I couldn't get her in my life as a partner, but I always wanted her to be happy.

Merlot has been the drink of my choice in any celebration. Most of my friends and family think that I love the taste.

But I guess you now know the real reason for the Merlot to be my special drink, which unfortunately they will never know.

Dating
11

About the Creator

Kavi Kamat

A banker by profession and a writer by passion. My life has always been full of ups & down, a treasure which helps me to pen down my memories. Technology and self-help are my drivers and reading is my hobby.

Thanks for your time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.