Confessions logo

6 Signs You're Partner is Your Soul Mate

And they aren't what you'd think.

By ConfessionsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have been with my partner for two years now, and it has been hard. We both had childhood trauma to work through, I have had a rough eighteen months with my health. Despite of all of this, I know without a doubt, that he is my soul mate. Here is how:

1. Peace:

When I met Steve, we didn't flirt. We didn't laugh or joke. We just looked at each other. From the moment we met we both had a strange sense of peace settle over us. Something we had never felt before.

We are both divorced, we have both been in love and we have both had our hearts broken. But when I met him, the world seemed to just stop. I didn't get butterflies or feel nervous. He wasn't my normal type and neither of us wanted a relationship, but we could not stay away from each other.

2. Understanding.

We have both experienced deep trauma in our lives, but I have never understood (or even attempted to understand) someone like I understand him. For the first twelve months we struggled, navigating our own and each other's issues and trying to unpick them. But we never stopped trying. Even on our darkest days, locked in a house together during lockdown and barely knowing each other. We fought to be together.

3. Attraction;

This is hard to explain, but I honestly love everything about him. He isn't ripped. He isn't muscley. He doesn't have a perfect body. But my God do I adore every inch of him. The set of his shoulders, the shape of his bum (which I am constantly slapping/squeezing).

He makes me laugh when I feel like crying, he gets up from the sofa and asks if there is anything I want/need. He does quirky little dances and most importantly, he is my safe place.

When I have had a hard day at work, or when I am in pain or feeling bad. He is the one I want to talk to. It's his arms I want to be wrapped up in.

4. Support.

Before meeting Steve, I hadn't realised how self-deprecating I was. I didn't apply for the high paying jobs. I didn't think I was good enough. I didn't think I could write (and succeed with) my novel. I had spent years being torn down and told I was unworthy. But he makes me feel important. He makes me feel capable.

I can only hope that I make him feel the same way he makes me feel.

5. It's the little things

Steve recently dug out all of my winter jumpers/clothes and washed them for me. Knowing I would start to feel the cold now and also knowing I work such long hours I wouldn't get chance.

He also makes a point of laying out my pillows and blankets on the bed for me, so that after a nightshift or on days where my pain/fatigue is bad, I can get straight in.

Steve leaves snacks next to the bed for me because when I come in from work, I am often too tired to find food.

All of these little things make a massive difference. I feel loved and valued. It is true what they say, if he wanted to, he would. Steve always does and those actions mean the world to me.

6. Knowing without a doubt.

Like I mentioned before, I don't need confirmation from anyone else because I just know. I don't think any argument could break us up. I can't imagine him ever deliberately hurting me and I would never hurt him. I feel safe and loved.

I hope you all feel this way at some point in your lives, if you don't already.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Confessions

Nothing but the truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Confessions is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.