Confessions logo

5 more minutes

My dream of taking a nap

By Ashleigh RileyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
5 more minutes
Photo by Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells on Unsplash

Last year, I vowed that my next New Year's Resolution would be to stop making New Year's Resolutions because they never made it past the January 5th mark. See, I've always chosen resolutions in the realm of extreme weight loss, extreme self-control, extreme this or that, and they never panned out because they weren't realistic. But this year...this is the year I think I might actually obtain my goal and fulfill my resolution. This year's resolution is going to be to just...sleep.

I'm going to nap so soundly the mummies in the Egyptian tombs will look like amatuers. I'm going to nap so hard that Sleeping Beauty herself will be jealous. I'm going to nap so long that Rip Van Winkle will be flush with rage at how I've overthrown his title.

By Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

I'm going to rest these tired bags under my eyes until the cows come home, then leave, then come home five more times. Then I'm going to rest my bones like a chicken marinating in the fridge overnight.

I am a full-time-working mother of two under the age of four, so as you can imagine, my normal night's sleep doesn't always have much 'sleep' happening at all. There's a lot of getting out of bed to see why the youngest is randomly yelling in the middle of the night, getting out of bed to get 'night night' drinks, and getting out of bed to put others back in their beds. There's a whole lot of roaming, and a whole lack of snoring.

I've never been able to take advantage of the 'advice' people would give me of 'sleep when they sleep!' Well, that'd be great if I could! But when they nap...I have everything else to manage...the household chores, our dogs, bills, groceries, etc., the list goes on and on. Then throughout the night when they wake up every hour- all I can do is sleep for a few minutes here and there and hope I can make it into work the next day. Well, no more of that! I'm calling it, 2022- the year of snoozin'! The year of napping so hard you forget your name! The year of napping so long you wake up and legitimately don't know where the heck you are!

By Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I'm going to nap on the bed. Nap on the floor. Nap, nap, nap 'til I can't no more.

I'm going to nap on my left. Nap on my right. Nap, nap, nap in the day and the night.

I'm going to nap when I'm tired. Nap when I'm not. Nap anywhere, even in a parking lot.

Nap on Jan 1, Nap on Jan 2, Nap on Jan 3 even if I got work to do.

Nap the next month and the month after that, nap so hard I get a crick in my back.

Nap away the crick, nap a little more, nap all day as I snore, snore, snore.

I'll nap in the morning, and in the afternoon. I'll nap from 10 P.M. 'til noon.

Then I'll nap a little longer, nap a little more, Nap at the neighbor's house next door.

I'll nap while I work, nap while I clean, Nap while the kids and I are eating ice cream.

Nap in the shower, nap in the rain, Nap on a truck, a bus, or a plane.

Nap standing up, nap sitting down, Nap while I ride on the merry-go-round.

I'm gonna nap all year, nap like a fool. Nap through all of 2022.

So bring on the new year and my vow to nap more...maybe I'll just go ahead and start n- ::snoooooreee:::

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Ashleigh Riley

Mother of 2-Writer-Crafter-Dreamer-TV binger-Movie lover-Space nerd-dinosaur connoisseur

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.