Cleats logo

outside an inch thick,

outside an inch thick,

By YouTHPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

like fat on mutton chops. Here’s a little pie (a gem

this is, both for size and quality), made in France. And what do you

suppose it’s made of? Livers of fat geese. There’s a pie! Now let’s see you

eat em.” ‛

Thank you, sir,” I replied; thank you very much indeed, but I hope ‟ ‟

you won’t be offended—they are too rich for me.”

‟Floored again!” said the gentleman, which I didn’t at all understand,

and threw them both out of window.

He did not speak to me any more until he got out of the coach a little

way short of Reading, when he advised me to be a good girl and to be

studious, and shook hands with me. I must say I was relieved by his

departure. We left him at a milestone. I often walked past it afterwards,

and never for a long time without thinking of him and half expecting to

meet him. But I never did; and so, as time went on, he passed out of my

mind.

When the coach stopped, a very neat lady looked up at the window

and said, Miss Donny.” ‟ ‟No, ma’am, Esther Summerson.”

That is quite right,” said the lady, Miss Donny.” ‟ ‟

I now understood that she introduced herself by that name, and

begged Miss Donny’s pardon for my mistake, and pointed out my boxes

at her request. Under the direction of a very neat maid, they were put

outside a very small green carriage; and then Miss Donny, the maid, and

I got inside and were driven away.

Everything is ready for you, Esther,” said Miss Donny, and the ‟ ‟

scheme of your pursuits has been arranged in exact accordance with the

wishes of your guardian, Mr. Jarndyce.”

‟Of—did you say, ma’am?”

‟Of your guardian, Mr. Jarndyce,” said Miss Donny.

I was so bewildered that Miss Donny thought the cold had been too

severe for me and lent me her smelling-bottlelike fat on mutton chops. Here’s a little pie (a gem

this is, both for size and quality), made in France. And what do you

suppose it’s made of? Livers of fat geese. There’s a pie! Now let’s see you

eat em.” ‛

Thank you, sir,” I replied; thank you very much indeed, but I hope ‟ ‟

you won’t be offended—they are too rich for me.”

‟Floored again!” said the gentleman, which I didn’t at all understand,

and threw them both out of window.

He did not speak to me any more until he got out of the coach a little

way short of Reading, when he advised me to be a good girl and to be

studious, and shook hands with me. I must say I was relieved by his

departure. We left him at a milestone. I often walked past it afterwards,

and never for a long time without thinking of him and half expecting to

meet him. But I never did; and so, as time went on, he passed out of my

mind.

When the coach stopped, a very neat lady looked up at the window

and said, Miss Donny.” ‟ ‟No, ma’am, Esther Summerson.”

That is quite right,” said the lady, Miss Donny.” ‟ ‟

I now understood that she introduced herself by that name, and

begged Miss Donny’s pardon for my mistake, and pointed out my boxes

at her request. Under the direction of a very neat maid, they were put

outside a very small green carriage; and then Miss Donny, the maid, and

I got inside and were driven away.

Everything is ready for you, Esther,” said Miss Donny, and the ‟ ‟

scheme of your pursuits has been arranged in exact accordance with the

wishes of your guardian, Mr. Jarndyce.”

‟Of—did you say, ma’am?”

‟Of your guardian, Mr. Jarndyce,” said Miss Donny.

I was so bewildered that Miss Donny thought the cold had been too

severe for me and lent me her smelling-bottle

mls
Like

About the Creator

YouTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

YouTH is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.