Cleats logo

From the Terraces to the Press Box

My first season as a football reporter Part One

By Martin TownleyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
From the Terraces to the Press Box
Photo by Fancy Crave on Unsplash

I n June of 2020 after being back in work after weeks of furlough I finally found what I wanted to do when I grew up. I may having been pushing 40 but the penny finally dropped.

In the middle of a busy shift on the day I was due to fly to Baku for Euro 2020 a moment of clarity happened. I was not made to be a manager at a fast food place I wanted to write about football.

After getting home that night I signed up to a freelance journalism course and set off. Getting into my course I had a new sense of purpose and new motivation that I hadn't had in years. Within the few assignments I knew I had found a new passion.

One of my first assignments was to write a feature article based off some ideas that were sent before. I wrote a piece on Bury FC and how they follow the direction of my home town team Barry Town United.

So I was off and running. Having watched football for years as a fan I stared watching games differently. I had to start thinking like a journalist and no longer a supporter. I was watching any random game that was on TV to re-train my brain into a new way of thinking. Boring 0-0's now where made interesting as I looked to gain insight.

The next step was to find an outlet to showcase my work and gain experience. After many rejections I was given a chance by Y Clwb Pel-Droed.

After a bit of time learning the style and format of the site I had my first piece published. It was just a short news piece featuring Barry Town manager Gavin Chesterfield. The quotes were sourced but it still felt good to see I piece I wrote on a website.

So I was off and running but while still holding a full time job I didn't feel a journalist yet.

That soon changed when I went on my first presser (Press Conference). It was for a Wales Women's squad announcement with then Manager Jayne Ludlow.

After receiving the details I emailed the FAW press officer half expecting to not get a reply. I not only got a reply but I also had my first embargoed press release. Along the details of the remote conference I was given the squad in advance.

The next morning I was sat at my computer waiting to start, nervous, exited, and unsure of what I was about to do. The Zoom meeting started and I waited while various journalists joined realizing that I knew who almost all of they were. Acting like I'd done this 100's of times before as we went though a running order to ask our questions.

As a supporter for years I have seen 1000's of managers press conference's but nothing compares to seeing your national team manager appear in front of you. Even if it was via Zoom.

Trying to disguise my fanboy marking out, I made my notes, waiting for my turn and asked my questions. I had to focus hard on my words as I wanted to sound clear and professional.

Soon after this I had the confidence to do more. I was soon joining pressers with Cardiff City and the Wales men's teams. Sitting at your computer with Gareth Bale chatting in front of you will never get boring. One thing I learnt is the difference in press interest between men's and women's football.

The next step was to cover my first match, not so easy during a global pandemic. With a limited number of matches and no experience the opportunity to cover any games was hard to come by.

I did finally get the opportunity to cover a game. Abergavenny Ladies vs Port Talbot Town Ladies. But things are never straight forward.

football
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.