Cleats logo

Benchside Epiphanies: A Soccer Story

How an Injury Turned from a Red Card into the Goal of a Lifetime

By Evan BrownPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
1
Benchside Epiphanies: A Soccer Story
Photo by Travel Nomades on Unsplash

The twang of a strained hamstring sounds louder in your head when it's your leg. One day I was juggling soccer balls with the finesse of an Italian maestro; the next, I was splayed on the couch, my right leg resembling an overstuffed kielbasa. I was destined to be the next big thing in soccer—or so I thought until I was felled by an injury that had more twists than a telenovela plot.

I won't lie. I wallowed in self-pity, bemoaning the unfairness of life, the uncaring gods of soccer, and the horror of daytime television. I'm not a fan of soaps, but I was beginning to empathize with the long-suffering heroines in them.

On day twelve of my hamstrung hell, as I valiantly fought off an advancing horde of marauding dust bunnies, I stumbled upon my old diaries hidden behind the towering fortress of unread sports magazines. These little scribbles had chronicled my journey as a rookie who couldn't even kick a ball straight to a semi-pro destined for great things—or so I believed.

One entry from the summer of 2018 made me chuckle. I had written about my first encounter with Coach Pickett's infamous 'death drill,' a ball handling nightmare designed by a man who thought cardio and exorcism were synonyms. I ended the entry with, "If I can survive Coach Pickett's 'death drill,' I can survive anything."

That led me to contemplate the absurdity of my situation. It was as if I had my own controversial VAR (Video Assistant Referee) decision to make. I was sidelined, yes. But I was far from being out of the game. I could choose to succumb to my situation, let it define me. Or, I could choose to fight, to make it a stepping stone towards something greater.

So, I decided to use my downtime as an opportunity to develop my mental strength and understanding of the game. I spent hours analyzing past matches, dissecting player strategies, and understanding the hidden dynamics of the beautiful game. I developed an appreciation for different viewpoints, even arguing against my previously held opinions about the dominance of physicality over technique in soccer.

Now, if there's one thing that can ruffle feathers in sports, it's discussing the physical vs. technical debate. Some people believe soccer is all about physical prowess: strength, speed, stamina. Others argue that technique, strategy, and understanding of the game are equally important, if not more so. I had always been in the former camp, but my injured state forced me to explore the latter, and I was surprised at what I found.

I started applying this knowledge, this new understanding, to my situation. I couldn't run or kick a ball, but I could visualize it. I practiced mental exercises, running plays in my head, adjusting strategies, rehearsing ball control, and visualizing scoring goals. Every action, every pass, every run, was played out in the football field of my mind.

As I continued to exercise my mental strength, I realized that my understanding of the game had deepened. I saw moves before they were made, strategies before they were played out. I was not just a player; I had become a student of the game.

The day I returned to the pitch, my leg no longer a sausage but a lean, mean, soccer machine, I was nervous. But as soon as I felt the familiar grip of the cleats on the turf, the jitters disappeared. When the ball came my way, I didn't think; I acted. I dribbled past defenders not with speed, but with skill. I scored not with brute strength, but with technique. I played not just with my body, but with my mind. I had become a better player, not despite my injury, but because of it.

And the best part? Coach Pickett's 'death drill' felt like a stroll in the park. It turns out that mental preparation makes even the harshest of physical trials seem easier. It's funny how facing adversity had transformed me. I was still the same person, but I was different too. Better.

So, here's my message to you, dear reader: Don't be afraid of struggles. Embrace them. They might just be the kick in the cleats you need to propel you forward. And remember, being physically sidelined doesn't mean you're out of the game. Sometimes, the greatest battles are fought, and won, in the mind.

world cuppremier leaguefootballfifa
1

About the Creator

Evan Brown

Adventurer at heart, writer by trade. Exploring life's complexities through humor, controversy, and raw honesty. Join me on my journey to unlock the extraordinary in the everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.