Cleats logo

10 Best Soccer Blogs Every Fan Should Follow

The best soccer blogs are worth following for their interesting perspective on games, news posts, and meet up arrangements.

By Ringo MendozaPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Top Story - May 2018
Like

I haven't always been into soccer. I grew up watching baseball with my dad, and was a die-hard Yankees fan for a long time. He was never really into soccer, so I didn't care about it much. Once I got into high school though, I had a lot of friends who were really into the game and so, like any impressionable teenager, I got into it too. I'm glad I did though, because now I'm a huge fan of the sport.

As an adult and blogger myself, I've gotten into following some of the best soccer blogs. My life is pretty busy, so I can't keep up with all the latest soccer news all by myself. It's nice to have a few sites to go to that wrap up the most important news for me in easy-to-read headlines and articles. Plus there are a few specialty sites for my favorite teams, so I can hear more about the teams I care about, and less about the teams I don't. These are my favorites that I follow, and you should consider following as well if you consider yourself a real fan.

Chelsea is my favorite team, so I have to start off with a site dedicated to just them. With almost three million Facebook followers, this site is nothing to roll your eyes at, even if you aren't a Chelsea fan (why aren't you again?). It covers everything from discussing Premier League stars that have played for both Manchester United and Chelsea to news about transfers and salaries. The site is also known to plan big meetups before games, where you can make new friends to celebrate with whenever Chelsea gets another well-deserved win.

Looking for a little bit of everything? 101 Great Goals is your place. It has a lot of content to read through, like best transfers in world football. I love the way the site is organized, personally. Everything is placed in easy to read categories—News, Transfers, Match Previews, and of course, the World Cup. Whatever I'm in the mood for, it's easy to find. It also has a sidebar for trending stories so you won't miss out on what everyone else is talking about. They also post about 168 posts per weeks, which is staggering! You won't miss a thing when following one of the best soccer blogs around.

Listed around many places as the #1 soccer blog to follow right now, I can't leave off Goal.com. I mean, nearly 17 MILLION Facebook followers say it all. You've got player profiles, World Cup news, game results, transfer gossip, and rumors. A little something for everyone, no? Plus, there's a nifty little indication on each article with about how long it will take you to read, so you know ahead of time if it's a long, in-depth piece, or just some quick news tidbit you can glance at when you need a mental break at work.

Okay, Brits, stop laughing at the name for just a minute to actually check this blog out. Chelsea might be my favorite team, but that doesn't mean I don't care about the others. I care quite a deal about Arsenal! To quote their own slogan, "It's fuckin' excellent." This site has lots of cool podcasts, articles, and other fun stuff. Plus, if you're a Patron, you get even more! And the comments on the site are literally called arses. They know what they've done with the name, and they embrace it, making them one of the best soccer blogs on the pitch.

I think they used to be called SoocerLens, but now they're SportsLens. I just found this blog recently, so I'm not sure, but I am sure that I love following it. This site is far more than "just the news," so if that's all you're looking for, search elsewhere. Of course, you'll get World Cup news and live score updates, but you'll also find careful game analyses, solid predictions, and important player information like the richest soccer players of 2017. Everything is also well tagged, so the site is easy to navigate.

The name says it all; this site is literally football (soccer, for us 'Mericans) paradise. This is another place you want to avoid if you want strictly news, but if you're more open-minded than that, this is a place where sports and creativity clash in a beautiful way. There's creative literature, genuinely intriguing opinion pieces, and exclusive interviews. There's some seriously beautiful art on this site as well, so the creative in me can truly appreciate what this site is trying to do. That alone makes it one of the best soccer blogs for those who like a little more flair along with their regular soccer stats.

With a name like that, it's hard not to love this blog. There's a lot going on here, but in a good way. You can easily find top ten lists, transfer rumors, fail videos, and even awesome kits to buy. At 42 posts per week, you'll get a steady stream of content, without feeling like you have to check it every five minutes lest you risk missing something. Plus, the Highlights section puts the most important stuff in a nice little space, so even if you just want to see the best of the best, it's easy.

Yes, yes, I can include a Manchester United blog in this, it's fine. No matter how you feel about them, it's hard to deny the star power that is Manchester United. Plus, the site is really high quality. Everything from news, to player profiles, to results can be found here. They've also got just over two million Facebook followers, so you can attest that number to their high-quality stories and news reporting. Man United fans definitely consider this one of the best soccer blogs to follow for news and information.

We're back at it again with another Arsenal blog! Am I sure Chelsea's my favorite team? Yeah, I am, but I also just really like the community on this site. The goal of this site is to "talk about whatever they liked football-wise without the fear of aggressive recriminations." The community is a bit friendlier and has more in-depth discussions than some of the others, and the podcasts are perfect for listening to while I drive to work. I also can't help but love the more casual voice in some of the articles, as it makes the author feel more like a person, and not so much like a reporter.

And finally, if you like to keep up to date with college soccer and club soccer, The 91st minute should be your first choice. The site is very organized, so you know exactly where to go depending on your interests. Even high school soccer is here if you're into that. Who knew one of the best soccer blogs would be covering high school games?! They even have a great rankings sections, where you can see the top players in each section to keep your eyes on. Maybe your favorite player will make it into the big leagues someday!

football
Like

About the Creator

Ringo Mendoza

Wants to be a DJ but too anxious. Spends too much time on social media and can name most cheese by smell alone, for some reason.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.