Chapters logo

Women Who Stay, 24

The Reading

By Suze KayPublished 24 days ago Updated 23 days ago 3 min read
7

Chapter 1 ... Chapter 23

______________

"Janie has left an extensive list of items for each of you." Ms. Clark flipped through the pages in the folder, flashing us a peek of an itemized list spanning many pages. "Usually, we prefer to collect the most valuable items and distribute them here, during the reading. Unfortunately, when my team attempted to access the condo, we found quite a predicament."

"I thought she went peacefully!" Gordon blurted. "Was it bloody? Oh, please, say it wasn't bloody."

"Shut up," Jacob drawled, like he couldn't care either way.

"No, no, nothing like that, Gordon," Ms. Clark smiled. "But, tell me, have any of you seen the condo?" We all shook our heads.

"I haven't seen my mother in years," Annabelle said slowly. Jacob agreed.

"She wouldn't let me in," Gordon said. "We always met at my house."

"Well, they could hardly get through the front door. There's just too much stuff in there. It seems your mother was quite... a collector," she finished, her intimation clear.

"Oh, honestly," Annabelle sighed. "I thought she was done with that nonsense after she finally sold the stores."

"Of course she wasn't," Jacob said. "She's never done with anything."

"Hey," Gordon whined. "You know what it was like for her. Losing Hollow Hill."

"Yeah, better than you," Annabelle snapped. "I actually remember living there, in that disgusting mess."

"I only say this," Ms. Clark said loudly, cutting through their bickering, "to make it clear why we'll have to do things a little differently. Unless any of you have a better idea, I will arrange for a clean-up crew to join you at the condo on a day of your choosing. The funds for that crew will be taken from the estate. I will distribute full, itemized lists of everyone's inheritance, and you will endeavor to divide between yourselves as directed. An assistant of mine will be present to supervise the proceedings and ensure as little... tension as possible."

"Excuse me," I asked. "But could you summarize what each of us can expect to receive?"

"Of course, she wants to know what profit she's made," Annabelle snarked.

Ms. Clark looked severely at her. "Certainly, Ms. Ken. To Annabelle, it seems to be mostly jewelry, furs, and china sets. To Jacob, some art pieces, antique appliances, and rare coins. To Gordon, books, more art, and some pieces of furniture. And to you, 'The Journalist,' -- a vintage typewriter, any pictures you might find useful, and all documentation pertaining to family history and financial records."

My jaw dropped. So did that of the children, as one.

"Not the pictures," Gordon whined.

But Jacob turned to Annabelle and smiled. "See," he said, "I told you she was legit. I told you mom had a final punishment in mind for us."

___

Back in the waiting room, I turned to the kids. "I know we didn't start off on the right foot," I began, "but I want you to know I'm not looking to disrupt your lives. Once my book is done, I plan to return all the pictures and documents to you."

"We don't care about those," Annabelle said with a tired air.

"I do," said Gordon. Jacob scoffed.

"We just don't want it all dragged up again," Annabelle continued. "We've all, well, Jacob and I, have left it behind. Changed our last names and everything."

"I get that," I said, putting on a sympathetic face. "I really do. But if you want it that way, you need to play ball. Talk to me. Tell me what I need to know, and I'll let you keep your anonymity."

______________

Read on to Chapter 25

True CrimeFiction
7

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • John Cox6 days ago

    Oooh. Miranda has teeth after all.

  • Rachel Deeming16 days ago

    And so, Miranda finds an "in". What will she find out?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.