Chapters logo

Unfinished Joe

What happens to forgotten characters?

By J. JayPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
26
Drawn by me :)

I always thought it would be fun to have conversations with the story characters I created. I like to think that all creative writers have some deeper layer of connection to their characters, one that teeters on the borderline of breaking their mind’s fourth wall. It was in this mysterious space of almost child-like imagination that the idea of Joe was born.

I think was inspired by the meme of writers unflinchingly putting their characters through hell for the sake of a gripping story. The characters never had any say whatsoever on the circumstances writers threw them into. All they could do was helplessly bear the weight of their creator’s assigned traumas.

With Joe, I decided against that. Rather than give him a stereotypical traumatic main character’s backstory, I thought it would be funny if he didn’t have a backstory at all.

And this would be rather aggravating to him.

I actually created Joe back in 2019. I was still new to digital drawing and most of the time I fumbled my way through it. In one particular comic, my main character (Jinx) was complaining about academic writing and how it wasn’t even comparable to creative writing. This was in response to an ignorant remark that all writing was the same, and that Jinx probably enjoyed her college writing assignments. Someone needed to be the ignorant fellow who made that remark.

I didn’t put much thought into this character. All I did was quickly draw up a human form wearing a sweater, plastered an unremarkable name across its blank face, and called it good enough. I hadn’t even bothered to give the character hair. Thus, Joe the afterthought was born.

It wasn’t until a couple years later I came across Joe again. At that point it was 2021, and I was armed with a sleek new iPad and determination to draw more of this comic. I knew I wanted to have Jinx interact with her fictional characters to some degree, but I was at a loss how to go about it.

I was refamiliarizing myself with Writing Whoas and going through the old comic when I came across the one Joe was in. I found myself staring at that character and wondering about him. Who was he? How did he even know Jinx? Were they friends? Colleagues? Distant acquaintances? I laughed at my past self for not even bothering to give him a face, much less a backstory. And that’s when it hit me. The absence of a backstory was Joe. His undefined personality and backstory all made up his role as an unfinished character.

And so, I decided to give him his own origin story. I wanted his creation to embody the other unfinished characters other writers are guilty of abandoning. However, this character will be able to voice his discontent to the writer who created him.

Joe will be making his appearance periodically throughout the life of this comic. Be ready to expect an irate character who can’t stand his writer.

While I’m not the fastest, nor the most talented artist, I really do enjoy bringing these ridiculous situations to life for other writers to relate to. I won’t always post my comic here in the Chapters Community, because sometimes I don’t have 600 words to say on every little installment. Instead, I’ll probably post them in the Poets Community, due to the smaller word count requirements. It’s also fun to write poetry. I’ll make sure to link each comic to the previous so they can be easily located.

If you want to see more of Writing Whoas, or read more of my content, please consider subscribing. I hope you have a wonderful rest of your day. :3

____________________________________________________

Next:

Previous:

EssaySequelFiction
26

About the Creator

J. Jay

I like to share my art and writings, whether it's silly or serious. I'll also feature a comic I work on called Writing Whoas, which is about the joys and hardships of being a writer. Stick around to laugh or cry.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Darkos8 months ago

    I love it Your drawings and writing Congratulations on Topstory ! and like the blank way of no backstory for Joe ! The Angry Joe haha!

  • Atomic Historian9 months ago

    This is my favorite thing I've seen in a long time. You made me laugh so hard. I can't wait to see more!

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    "I like to think that all creative writers have some deeper layer of connection to their characters, one that teeters on the borderline of breaking their mind’s fourth wall." – Haha, rule number one: don't get too attached. It might start as an innocent mind exercise, but then one ends up talking to their imaginary friends, being stalked by them, and eventually, possessed by them... Off the topic (:-D), lovely comics! This Joe-face guy looks like he needs to visit some therapy sessions. Stressing out too much!

  • LC Minniti9 months ago

    Fantastic. The idea of half-developed characters returning to haunt us is fantastic (and kind of terrifying?). I love your art as well!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Loved it! And happy to subscribe. I’m sure some of the characters I have in limbo feel the same. I actually wrote a horror story with a similar premise, lol. Thanks for sharing this. It was well worth the time.

  • Congrats on your Top Story! I am not a comics reader (Follower? Fan?), but this is one I would love to read since the ones I've seen hit so close to home. To the pissed off Joes: I'm sorry. Kind of.

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    Hahaha! Love it! Yes, I will subscribe! ❤️

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Lol I love your sense of humor. The snippets of this comic are hilarious and I adored reading about the inception of Joe. How I relate! Having old character ghosts haunt me every few weeks is so true. You’ve inspired me to revisit some of them, perhaps move them to different, new, stories, as it is the story that seems to have me stuck. Looking forward to more posts from you! Im excited to go read your old stuff too. 😆

  • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

    Hilarious 😂 and very cute I love the comics and your style

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This was a great read. Loved your drawings and the characters you have created, Well done and congrats on Top Story.

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    What a cool idea to make a comic from the point of view of an unfinished character. I like this a lot.

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    This was such a fun read! Personally, I hope we see more of your work on Chapters - I liked having your journey as a framework that guided me through the creation of this comic. Plus, you have a great writing style :) But also, it could be cool if Vocal were to create a comics section where there was a "picture count requirement" or something instead of a word count. I feel like that would be such a good fit for art work like yours, or for stories that want to do a photojournal type of thing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.