Chapters logo

Thunderbolt City: Part 1

You'll Never Know When The Lightning Strikes, Or Where The Horror Will Take You.

By Carol TownendPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like
Thunderbolt City: Part 1
Photo by Frankie Lopez on Unsplash

I woke up in my room, and it was lightening all around me, followed by the loud rumbles of thunder. It was continuous, there were no breaks. The sky was dark; it still looked like nighttime, yet it was still morning.

"You'll love it here," my mum tells me.

I nod in silence.

I get the eery feeling that something is strangely wrong with this place. It freaks me out. The trees that hang over the garden are wildly knotted, and all I can hear is the haunting screeches of bats calling wildly in the night. A loud rumble sounds directly above the roof of our house. I cover my ears tightly. I can't take any more of this noise. Mum hasn't even noticed that it is 9:30 in the morning, even though she can see that it is still dark.

"Don't you think that this place is freaky mum?" I ask her, while she fills the kettle.

She puts her hands on her hips.

"Freaky? What do you mean freaky? This place is amazing!" she replies.

I roll my eyes. I don't understand why my mum can't see that it is meant to be morning.

How come she can't tell that it's still dark?

A bright flash suddenly fills the room, and it is so bright that it almost blinds me. I hear several haunting wails screaming all around the room. I look directly at my mum, but I don't see her.

I don't see anything.

The wailing goes on for what feels like an eternity, then it suddenly stops. I let out a loud scream as three dead ravens appear at my feet, then disappear out of sight.

"Carly, what's wrong?" Mum asks as if nothing happened.

I'm out of breath, and my heart feels like it is exploding out of my chest.

"Didn't you see that?" I ask my mum, whilst still trying to control the palpitations in my heart.

"See what?" Mum asks.

"The horrible dead birds that laid by my feet and disappeared. Mum, we need to leave here. Something is wrong with this place." I tell her.

"Don't be stupid Carly! You're just scared because we are living in a new place. It's understandable, after living in Oak Town for nearly ten years. Don't worry, you'll soon make new friends," Mum tries to reassure me, but fails drastically.

I make a dash for the bathroom. I need to feel the coolness of fresh ice water on my face. I run the tap; but instead of water, a thick gloop of bright red blood flows out of it, and cockroaches fall out of the sink. I hold my back to the bathroom wall, I breathe like I'm a car stuck in rush-hour traffic, then I throw the door open, run downstairs, and head outside.

I forgot about the thunder, lightning, and screeching of bats in the midst of panic. Then the ground rumbles underneath my feet and the world spins faster than a hurricane.

I lose consciousness, and everything goes dark.

When I wake, I'm in bed but I'm not in my house. My ankles are chained to the bottom of the bed, and my hands are tied. The room is dark, and three candles burn on an old dark wooden shelf. Three women in black veils surround me chanting.

"Hear me, devil child, see me, feel me;

for you are the power thy lightning bolt beseeches.

Open your mind, thunder-girl, and let the lightning strike.

Raise hell on earth, every night."

I feel my blood boiling in my veins, and the muscles in my arms scorch and swell. I scream loudly as one of the women walks over to me and injects a liquid into my arm.

"The dark will enter your body,

It will take your soul,

You will join our dark world"

The women chant this three times.

My whole body starts to cackle with electricity, and the blood in my eyes boils sending them into the back of my head.

The women let out a dark, evil laugh and they left me there until the next day.

When the day begins I am surrounded by the women, but I am a different being from the night before, possessed by the dark power of the women.

"Acanthia come here!" I call the older woman to my side.

"Kneel before me," I command and she kneels.

I do not know the girl that I was before this day, or how I know Acanthia's name.

"Let the darkness fall around this world. I now dominate this city. Thunder will bellow, and lightning will burn anything that touches the ground. Welcome to Thunderbolt City; The city where all life burns." I cackle.

I am not human anymore, I am known as the thunder-queen, and I am about to raise hell, blood, and fire on Earth.

ThrillerHorrorFictionCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.