Chapters logo

The Cheshire House Thirteen

Things are growing more and more violent. The spirits in the house are breaking things. Destroying things that mean a lot to her family. Morticia is worried about what he'll do. And if he's even an innocent person at all.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 5 months ago 6 min read
1
The Cheshire House Thirteen
Photo by Max Nüstedt on Unsplash

Hello Journal,

Activity is starting to get violent in the house. We came back to the mirrors smashed and a window broken. Also the fish tank was shattered as well. At least the fish weren't in it when that happened. Otherwise Grams would've been devastated. She really loves her fishes. And obviously the ghost knew that, why else try to destroy their home? Anyway, we got the glass cleaned up. Been burning sage and other things. Saying the words we found but I don't know if that's enough to help the ghosts. Well at least help Trevor out. So we've decided to check the entire house for anything we've might've missed. Like maybe we'll find something of Trevor's to burn? That kind of shit works on Supernatural and I know fiction is different than reality but it could work. Lots of the other stuff on their show has proven to work. So why not this?

And so far, we haven't found anything useful. No antiques that could've been his family's. And no other hidden rooms. Which is realistic but still annoying. I mean I found the other one through pure ghost annoyance and luck. So why couldn't I find anything else through pure dumb luck? It would save us some time looking through the damn attic. Cuz all we found up here so far is literally stuff I didn't want Raven to find. Baby pictures and such stuff. My five year old self dressed up as Angelica was definitely not what I wanted her to find. It was so embarrassing.

Why is it our crushes find the humiliating stuff so easily?

Okay, so we're going to be checking some of the cardboard boxes. Also might be rereading the diary for any hints on how to help. This all seems like overkill but I want to get this on a roll already. One of them has broken stuff in the house and I'm sick of all of this. It's going on for far too long, I won't put up with this all summer. I got stuff I have to do. Aside from going to work, which we have been doing, and it shouldn't be ghost busting. I'm tired of doing something that I don't even know if it's even working at all.

Now I know how Sisyphus feels, sort of.

We're also running out of boxes that the stuff could be in. If I were feeling optimistic, I think we'd have at least a sixty percent chance of finding something. But since we haven't found anything other than cringe worthy stuff from thirteen years ago. Or musty old clothes that my Mom hasn't worn in longer. I have my doubts that we're going to be able to find anything useful here. At least we haven't found gross junk. Cuz there easily could've been a dead rat or shizz like that up here...yeah the search has been so abysmal that not finding dead vermin is the high point. Anyway. The boxes that are left are only three. And they're not like the other ones. They're much more old looking and I think they're trunks? With weak locks it looks like.

Upon further inspection, they are indeed poorly locked trunks. Could this be either a red herring or did we hit the jackpot? I'm hopeful that we've stumbled on something good for once today. So I'll have to pause my writing. But I promise to list what we find. If it's anything of importance obviously.

_____________________

List of Things from Trunk A:

1. Lots of lady's belongings. Most around my size and age. Some definitely for an older woman, like maybe in her forties. Along with young childrens clothing. My guess is that this is things that Trevor's Mom and siblings didn't take with.

2. Reading glasses...Trevor had written that his Mom needed to wear glasses. So. This is looking really sketchy as all out. And I'm already guessing they might not have left.

3. Letters. LOTS AND LOTS OF LETTERS. From Trevor. He was begging them to write him back and asking why they won't write him back. And I was right, they didn't leave.

4. Wooden boxes with names on them. Wooden boxes with names on them that definitely seem like human ashes in an urn. Ambrose killed all three of them when they tried to leave him. He killed his other children and wife. Why am I surprised?!!!

_____________________

Trunk B:

1. It has clothes that seem to be suitable for a young man. This is Trevor's trunk. I know he's dead but I hoped he wasn't murdered too. But I guess I should know better. Still, I was hoping he had managed to kill Ambrose...

2. Some of his books. Frankenstein is the only one with dents in its cover and spine. But other than that it looks to be in decent shape. I'm surprised it lasted this long.

3. Of course. Another wooden box with a name on it. Trevor's middle name is written as an initial, it's the letter L. Though I'm surprised that Ambrose would cremate Trevor instead of just disposing the body another way. I suppose he felt some love for his son...on closer inspection, it's empty. Why am I not surprised?

_____________________

Trunk C:

1. There's another diary in here. But it's heavier and has some pieces of stuff sticking out of it. I think this is Ambrose's trunk, this is weirdly convenient but I ain't complaining. At least we've got some insight into Ambrose.

2. Very gross jars with things in it. Thankfully none of it leaking so far.

3. Some jewelry from his wife and children. There's two necklaces, a ring, and this silver bracelet that has a flowery name engraved into it. With some very fluttery hand writing that makes it impossible to read. Why do Doctor's have to have such difficult hand writing?

_____________________

That's all we found but I got to wonder where Ambrose put Trevor's body. It isn't like he'd be able to hide it in the house itself. A body would have given off an obvious horrible smell by now...well it would've continued to give that smell. Right? I mean dead body isn't easy to hide. So I doubt that Ambrose could've hidden it easily. Since Trevor's body wasn't exactly small, in my dreams he's huge. Towering over me easily enough and I ain't a tiny girl. So, maybe Ambrose's book can give us some clues. And we'd be able to find out more on the experiments he had done. Hell we'd be able to find out what the pills were made of. And just what their intended use was for. It made Trevor sick along with countless others.

If we find out about the experiments, we might be able to find out how to get rid of Ambrose. And possibly help alleviate Trevor's pain...I'm really hoping that this will work. Or otherwise we're just wasting precious time.

Laters,

Morticia.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Whoaaaa so Ambrose actually killed his wife and kids!! Heading to part 14 now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.