Chapters logo

The Cheshire House Twelve

Staying a week in a haunted house wasn't wise. Especially when the spirit wants you to leave. But Morticia was stubborn. She wasn't going to let something bully her out of her Grandparents' home. Until they started harming the fish. Then she takes the spirit's wishes a bit more seriously.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 5 months ago 5 min read
1
The Cheshire House Twelve
Photo by pouria oskuie on Unsplash

Hello Journal,

It's been about a week and we've been trying everything we can do. Aside from calling a priest. Which would take considerable time to ask to come over. And obviously I'm not waiting for something like that. Especially when things have been getting more, well, annoying and inconvenient. Like things being thrown bad. Glasses being thrown, not broken thanks to them being plastic. Some papers being tossed around or shoved into the fish tank. The poor fish's food being hidden in the cupboard downstairs.

I guess stomping around upstairs wasn't enough for this ghost. Obviously being a pain in the ass is more fun. We're looking up other cleansing rituals. Like maybe something to do with incense or finding answers on Raven's laptop at her place.

She's insisting we take the fish along with us. Since it seems that Trevor has decided to annoy my Grandparents fish. It's definitely the best decision I've made in over a month. And we're looking for a good thing to use as a replacement tank. Along with a carrier that would be safe for them. A plastic bag would probably be a bad decision. After all, I might drop it on the ground and it could break...I'm just worrying too much.

So we got a nice tupperware container for them to be in and Raven filled it up. I had fished out the fish out with a net and set them in it carefully. Thank goodness there's only three of them in the tank. Otherwise this would be difficult to do.

There was also another fish tank in the basement. I think my Grandpa bought it for more fish but they decided against getting more. It was in pretty good shape too. We hurried into Raven's car then went to her place. It was good to get away from the place. The ghost was really starting to get on my nerves...but I guess that was the point.

Bug me until I left the place with the fish. At least they weren't being hurt by the ghost. Usually in horror movies pets were the ones to die or get bodily harm first. I guess Trevor, or Ambrose, decided animals weren't worthy of injury.

So anyway, we're looking up some stronger purification rituals. The ones we'd been using were from The Ghost Files. Well, a varied version of the rituals Amy talks about. I can't exactly get holy water to use. And I ain't like any of the guys on Supernatural. I can't make it from regular water and I doubt how they do it would work. It's just fictional TV after all. But so far, we're being told to use a stronger form of incense. Then if desperately needed, we should use salt. At least one thing from Supernatural wasn't stupid.

We had some salt to use but had to look up where some good incense was sold. It couldn't just be regular stuff ya buy at Wal-Mart for a present. This stuff had to be strong enough to chase a spirit away. Well at least one away. I don't think it'll make Trevor go, Ambrose might. If we're careful enough we can move him on. Maybe ask him again on how we can move him on to a better place. Though that means we'd have to use an ouija board again...oh joy. Using the dumb thing to talk to a guy who's been pissing me off all week. He's probably going to say something stupid or insist that I stay away.

Yeah. That'll solve everyone's issues and my Grandparent's will totally leave their only home. I mean the story is basically there's a ghost that they've never heard from haunting me. Messing with my dreams and just being a nuisance. Then there's the creepy room that seems to keep ya there. With the lovely music it has...they'd never believe me. My Grandparent's would think that I was making up stories. They won't move because a ghost said that they had to leave.

I wouldn't exactly either if I was them, it sounds ridiculous.

We're going to need to go to a certain shop for the incense. But it's closed until nine tomorrow morning. Which seems kinda stupid in my mind. The store is only open until five in the afternoon. Why just five'o'clock? You'd get more business if you'd...I'm rambling. And getting off track. It's kind of stupid to just dwell on this. I need to tell you about what we're thinking of doing. Basically try and contact the ghost that might be Trevor to move him on. If that's at all possible with Trevor. The poor dude deserves to move on to a much better place. Like Heaven or some place like lovely like that. Then make Ambrose move onto some other place that he deserves...the DMV. Okay so I'm kidding, that place doesn't deserve him. But we're definitely doing something to punish him. Which we'll pick up at that little shop tomorrow. It's this type of water that hurts bad spirits. Not holy water but something much, much stronger. It's called Tar Water. This stuff sounds gross but it'll definitely give Ambrose a run for his money. Well, hopefully it will. Or otherwise I'm going to be screwed...well, I could call a priest at that point. I know I said it'd take too long for them to come but I'm starting to think it'd be good as a back up plan.

If all our blessings and purification rituals don't work. Then we get a priest or a medium or maybe both to come over to the house. I'm really running out of time here. If these things are still around when my Grandparent's get back, they might hurt them. Or possibly kill them.

Raven thinks we can do this, but I'm doubtful. After all, we're just two teenagers with some stuff we found on the internet. And half an idea of what we're doing. Basically we'll be winging this experience. Like that hasn't ever bit someone in the ass before. Though if we're lucky, we might just end up with some bruises and a delightful story we can look back on. Maybe even sell to Hollywood to make a quick buck. So when we fail, I know it's pessimistic shut up, then I dunno. We'll burn the house down like another kid did in that Haunting in Connecticut movie did and hope for the best.

Laters,

Morticia.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Oh thank God the fishes are safe. I was so worried about that. Heading to part 13 now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.