Chapters logo

The Cheshire House Seven

Two weeks later and the dream stopped. Things seem to be calming down. And she feels better about being in the room.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 7 months ago 5 min read
The Cheshire House Seven
Photo by Guglielmo Basile on Unsplash

Hello Journal,

So the dream hasn't come back in a long while. But I've taken to hanging out in the little room and it's been nice. I started going in there about a day after I wrote about the nightmare. It sadly doesn't have an electrical outlet for me to use my laptop in there. It does have good lighting. And the music player is kind of good to listen to after a long boring day at work. I have been making it my routine for the past few days. Since I've been in the tiny room,I have had no nightmares. Sure it's only been about two weeks since my last entry but I've found this nice.

Strangely I haven't even heard any noises from this room when I go to bed.

No footsteps walking along the room or anything like that at all. And the music player only does something when I make it do something. It's been so blissfully silent that I've been sleeping much better than normal. The nightmares of the decomposing man didn't come after two days of going in there. It's been lovely. So very lovely that I got to hang out with Raven and some of her friends. Before I was just too tired. Now I've been spending time with them around town. Her friends are pretty cool,they're sorta goth like I am. I don't think they'd be comfortable with me writing their names. I mean, Raven is different, I didn't write her full name...that sounds so weak. Anyways. I'm going to be using code names for Raven's friends. They're names are going to be Thorne, Don, Samantha, and Dana. Dana was the only one without black hair. She was wearing this very long wig that was bright pink. She told me it was made of real human hair too. Which was weird but it was totally awesome. And I didn't tell her how weird it was.

Her friends told me about this one place they all frequented. It was this huge coffee house that she said sold some wicked brownies. They were also vegan brownies. I was a little reluctant to try them, I have had vegan stuff. Vegan isn't bad but some of it doesn't taste all that great. However these were good brownies and I ended up buying a ton of them. Along with this brownie mix. I'm gonna be making them tomorrow on my day off. The mix doesn't need a whole lot to make it. Anyway, we all spent time watching movies there.

Some were just old movies that the owner had. And the last one we saw before we left the place was one the staff made. It was pretty awesome for a movie made on a small budget like that. It was better than the Blair Witch thing. Had a better twist ending too. And Raven's friends were in it too. Samantha and Don were the only survivors of the horrific monster. Samantha had beheaded the thing, I think it was a mannequin. But I can't be entirely sure if it was one. If it was one then it was a very lovely one.

After that place, we went to Wal-Mart and I bought some stuff. Just for funsies kind of stuff, hair dye. Bright purple hair dye along with bleach. I wanted to change up my hair and Dana had told me the best way to do so. Basically telling me to bleach my hair first, she said she'd help me when she has time. Raven was going to dye her hair too but Thorne told her it might end up frying her hair. Xe told her that it was probably better to get it professionally done. And that xe would pay for her hair dye. I kind of thought I should do the same thing. But Dana assured me that we would do just fine. And that I wouldn't damage my hair.

Thorne was just overly cautious since Xe had accidentally fried xer hair a while back. It was completely unlikely that I would too.

I believe her, but ya know how it is. Worry wart. Anyway, we went back to my place with some of the stuff. And we spent time watching my favorite TV shows. The Munsters and other great old shows. Including the show where I got my name from, The Addams Family. It was nice but they told me that they had to go home. Their parents would probably be worried that they were out so late and so far from town. It was a nice visit either way. Made some friends, got some hair dye and I'm going to make my hair purple. Which I wonder how it'll look on me. My skin is very dark and I have black eyes like my Mom does.

It'd be a very striking look for me, I hope.

And I hope it's going to be a good look too. That the color won't wash me out completely too. It's pretty warm and looks so wonderful. I just wanna look as pretty as the model on the cover of it. But ya know how advertising works. I just hope it doesn't become some other color instead. Or I'll be pissed at the dye. It says it's supposed to be a certain color. Then it should be that color. I've had this problem with a dress I bought once. The color was supposed to be black and made out of silk.

It was dark purple and made out of this itchy cheap fabric.

Thankfully I got my money back and the dress sent back. But I was so pissed. I can't believe someone would scam their customers like that. Oh and speaking of customers. I saw that one guy who hits on girls who work at the gas station. He was creepier than I pictured he was going to be. Much taller than Raven described him as too. And here's something freaky about this guy too. Remember the neighbor that wouldn't stop staring at me from a while ago? That was the creep who was hitting on girls around here. Instead of being creepy or even hitting on me, he awkwardly bought cigarettes and ran off. I think him knowing I knew who he was scared the crap outta him.

I told Raven about it and we both couldn't stop laughing. It was kind of nice knowing he wasn't interested in creeping on me. But watching him run off was even more funny. I kinda wonder why he was so afraid. I hadn't been mean to him or anything. Either way, I don't think he's going to be flirting with me.

Well, hopefully he'll never try to hit on me in the future.

Laters,

Morticia.

Horror

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    So weird the dreams stopped after she's been in that little room. And who the hell even cleaned it? Looking forward to reading more of this story!

Raphael FontenelleWritten by Raphael Fontenelle

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.