Chapters logo

The Cheshire House Fourteen

They read the journals to understand what was going on. And what they find out is horrific.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 5 months ago 5 min read
1
The Cheshire House Fourteen
Photo by Parsa Mir on Unsplash

Hello Journal,

We read the journal. And the pills were poison, obviously. But the kind Trevor had were used to prepare his body. His Dad wanted him to die for him so he could use his body for...well. His hand writing is a little hard to read but I think he wanted to transfer himself to his son's body. Using his son to stay young for as long as he wanted. Though I don't understand how he could've done that. I mean, need to do a brain transplant and that won't work. Not even modern scientists can get that done. How could...I don't wanna know. Also from what the writing suggests, killed Trevor. His means were different than I anticipated.

Ambrose strangled Trevor to death. His writings suggest that he was going to do the procedure in two hours. I doubt he did it. There's no more words after this so either it was a failure or it was successful and he packed everything. Which would make sense. If someone had caught on to what he was doing, none of this would be here. I said this to Raven and she agrees. Though she doubts that Ambrose managed to do it. He was an old man and she figured he would need help on the experiment. He was killing his Igor. So maybe he just died...but that...nevermind. I just want all of this to end and have everything put back in place. Right now I just wanna go back to being an eighteen year old kid who can't flirt to save her life. Date Raven and spend all of summer goofing off like I had planned to. Along with working my summer job that is. All I wanna be is normal right now. Just one chance to not have to deal with a ghost and some asshat Frankenstein wannabe.

...so to find out what really happened, we're checking out the basement. Cuz everywhere else has weird secret bull. Why wouldn't the secret to all of my otherworldly problems be anywhere than the place your not supposed to go in horror movies? And we're probably going to get antiques thrown at us or worse. I mean the basement itself looks normal. So how is the universe going to make up for this giant plot hole?

I know I shouldn't be doubting things. We did find so many stuff by coincidence but I feel like we're probably due for some disappointment. And I'm hoping we just find nothing like I had last...well I wasn't looking for this. So. I'm just going to stop writing. If I keep thinking about how stupid this is, I'll just end up yelling at nothing. Now I'm just going to take a flashlight, this journal, and my phone. Just in case we find a well hidden dead body. Doubt we're going to but it's good to call the police just in case. We definitely would need help with this horror movie plot.

...there's a weird patch in the wall. When I was younger, I wasn't allowed to play in the basement. No one mentioned a weird smell or a reason why. Just, I wasn't allowed to play down here. So you can understand why I'm starting to feel suspicious of this. It could be absolutely nothing. Like the wall was just poorly patched up from some sorta damage or worse. Like maybe someone just punched a hole in it. Or something...it can't possibly hold a body. It's much too small. There's no chance.

There's no chance, that wouldn't make sense. That wouldn't make any form of logical sense. Why...please don't let anything be there. Please don't let anything be there. I don't wanna find a rotten corpse covered in dust or worms or whatever. Just let there be nothing when we break it down with my Grandfather's hammer. It wouldn't make sense if we found something like that. This isn't some cheesy horror movie with a poorly written out plot.

Okay. So Raven's going to be holding my journal while I bust down the patch in the wall. And we know this is a bad move. There's increased noises upstairs that's telling us that we need to stop. Chairs banging, plates breaking, and I think I heard another window break. But there's no going back on this. We gotta find out what Ambrose did. I wish I wasn't about to do the stupid Supernatural thing right now. It's bad. It's really bad. There's a horrible freakin' smell coming out of the hole I just made. It's definitely dead body. Or rotting something. I can't tell what it might be but I know it's not supposed to be in there. Also the banging up there has decreased, so I'm guessing that means we found the right spot. Though I'm not sure what we have found in the little space in the wall just yet. I mean it's obviously a dead body. Just who's body did we find and why?

I let Raven break down more of the wall, the smell is horrible. We're both choking on the smell. It's..it's a rotten body that looks mummified. It isn't Trevor. The body in the wall looks like an old man with no teeth. His body is chained up like something out of an Edgar Allen Poe story. It doesn't make sense. Where's Trevor's body then? He couldn't have done it...the banging has stopped. I don't know if that's really a good sign or not. Usually in horror movies quiet equals death. Painful, painful, horribly painful death. And we're not going upstairs to check. Instead I'm calling the police to report Ambrose's body. We can make up some story about looking for something to board up the broken windows. That we smelled the body when we were going down and investigated the wall.

I'm also going tell them that we thought a dead squirrel or something was in there. So we decided to open it and found Ambrose. It'll be easier than just saying that some dead man's journal lead us here. Sounds more plausible in my book. I really hope that this works.

Laters,

Morticia.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Huh, so the dead body is Ambrose. Heading to part 15 now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.