Chapters logo

The Cheshire House Five

Things are getting very strange around the house. But she isn't sure what's going on. Or why it's happening to her at all.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 5 months ago 5 min read
1
The Cheshire House Five
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

Hello Journal,

Today was my first day on the job. And I think it went pretty darn well. I didn't make anyone upset and I only made two mistakes. But they were fixable. Sorta gave someone too much money but they told me. They were also very polite about the thing. The other person, I gave too little money, was a complete jerk. Luckily Raven was there to tell the guy off but it still was just kind of unnerving how rude he was.

Other than a complete jerk, I did well. And I'm currently making myself a huge sandwich to celebrate. Also going to watch some Beetlejuice, movie and cartoon. Because I deserve a little weirdness for putting up with rudeness. This wasn't all I wanted to talk about. I had the nightmare again. But the man got closer to me and I remember his face more clearly. He had very creepy pale skin that was rotting away. I could see his teeth on one of his cheeks. They were this gross color that showed they were rotten too. It was like he was a rotting doll or something. No eyebrows either and not a lot of hair. It was like being in one of my favorite horror movies but I was the stupid kid who wouldn't run from the creature.

Or just couldn't physically run from it.

I woke up after he got close enough to touch my face. The smell of rotting flesh was still hanging around. It only went away when I sprayed the air stuff that my Grams left for me. She always thinks ahead and I'm glad for that...anyway...I don't understand the dream. Or the reason why I had it again last night. But I'm afraid of the reason.

I wanted to call Stephanie. Ask her if she ever had these dreams when she had been here, but...I felt like I was being a crybaby. So I just ignored the disturbing dream and just go on with my day. It was a bit difficult but I still managed it. And so far,I've been relaxed. I got my giant sandwich made now. There's some chips in the pantry that I'll have with it. Good thing that they have a huge box of it. I can just eat, forget, and relax on the couch. Dwelling on a bad dream isn't going to make the stupid thing go away. It'll just make it a reoccurring one because my subconscious is evil and whatever. For now I need to just think of what to do when I'm home. What I need to get done around here other than laundry. Like I've already done the dishes that I've used. It wasn't much but I still needed to do it. Cuz if I let it go for longer, I'd probably wouldn't have cleaned them until they grew mold. Which Mom would frown on if she had ever found out I had let them get that bad.

I am rambling once again, so I wanna get on with this.

The dream and the room might be connected. And I'm not entirely sure how other than I had dreams since I opened it. But I'm smart enough to know that correlation isn't causation and I need to figure out a different reason. Like maybe I watch horror movies too much. Or that I need to stop dwelling on death. Maybe I'm just too obsessed with it and I need to find something healthier to obsess on. Either way, I just want to be sure. You can never be too careful with this sort of...thing...and I'm coming off as paranoid. Good job, Morticia. Good job.

Speaking of said room, I haven't tried to enter it since last time. Nor will I ever attempt to unless I absolutely need to. Like if I hear the footsteps again. Or if for whatever reason there is a burglar in the house and I need to hide. I mean it has a tiny door, it might be a good panic room if I need it to be. Otherwise I'm just going to stay out of the damn thing and call my Grandparents to see if they want something done. Like getting a board put over it. Or having the storage closet locked up at night. To make sure it stays safe ya know? I mean they got no use for either anymore and I doubt it would matter.

I know it sounds like I'm being a giant baby but this makes me worried. I've never seen this room when I was a child and the storage room was a playroom. My sister has never spoken of it when she house sat for my Grandparents. And my Grandparents never spoke of it when I arrived here. So why does this improbable door exist?

Is it the cause of my nightmares at all? If so,why are they about a rotting corpse of a man who's probably not much older than me? Also,why does he seem to want to touch me. If he needs my help, he won't speak or rather he can't speak. His noises suggest that he's got rotten vocal cords or if they're just non-existent. I'm afraid of the tiny room. It seems so innocent but lots of dangerous and sometimes killer things do. Like cute little dolls who are cursed or haunted. They look so sweet and cuddly. Safe as can be. But then night fall happens or when you don't look at them, they attack ya.

Or worse. They do horrible things to the people you love the most. And I'm afraid that this place is the same as those dolls. Looks so innocent and cozy. Safe as possible and not harmful in the least. But those noises,the dreams. They're obviously a sign. A dangerous sign has yet to be seen. I'm afraid of what'll happen once I let my guard down again, it'll do something worse.

The dreams are just mildly disturbing. Who knows what'll happen once it starts to pick up steam? What if it's like an uncontained SCP and it decides to just kill me? What the heck do I do about this? I wanna go home but I don't wanna tell my Mom why. Also I don't wanna leave the fish alone. So, I'll ask my sister why this is happening. If she's ever seen this door or not. And if she has, if it's safe or if she's been dreaming of scary stuff.

Wish me luck,

Morticia.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Lol, I love how she always calls herself out for rambling 🤣🤣 Heading to part 6 now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.