Chapters logo

That will be the last meeting..

The more we try to expect something, the more it will try to get out of our reach...

By Dacius BùiPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
1
She counted and counted like that. Counting and counting, it can only reach 999, not 1000.

1.Hugo and I have been in love for 8 years, we should get married quickly.

Since graduating, the two of us have started building our careers, and the company's situation has also improved a lot since last year.

The car has been purchased, the new house has been paid for, and is being prepared for decoration.

If I didn't have this disease, maybe next year there would still be a soft and lovely baby sleeping in my chest.

Hugo didn't come home to eat, I stayed home alone to make some vegetables to eat, hesitating all evening about how to tell Hugo.

After all, last year it was decided that we would have to get a marriage certificate by the end of this year.

My doctor is a young woman. She advised me to give up this baby and actively coordinate treatment. She told me that at such a young age, the probability of being cured was very high, and told me not to be afraid of anything.

Actually, I don't feel that scared.

Because I already have Hugo, he will be by my side to accompany me.

The doorbell rang. I suddenly felt strange, why did Hugo have to press the doorbell?

Opening the door, a very drunk Hugo was picked up by an employee who had just graduated and had just been recruited to the company. Her name is Anna.

"Sister-in-law, Director Hugo had to have a social meeting so he drank too much, the car is stopped downstairs." Anna wore a beautiful two-strap floral dress, her face was red, she smoothed her slightly messy hair, and continued: "I'll take him up and call a car home."

Hugo was so drunk that he fell asleep on the sofa.

I took his jacket, it smelled faintly of Anna's orange blossom perfume.

“Thank you Anna!” I smiled, "It's too late, let me drive you home."

Hugo refused but could not change my decision.

"A girl like you calls a car outside, I don't feel secure."

“Sister-in-law, when are you two getting married?”

On the way, Anna asked such a question.

I was stunned, thinking about the words that Hugo said to me on the phone that afternoon, suddenly felt embarrassed and smiled and said:

“Wait for the company to stabilize for about 2 more years.”

… Wait until my condition becomes more stable.

"Is that so..." Anna looked out the glass window as if thinking about something, then suddenly bowed her head and smiled very sweetly, "I know."

Taking Anna to the destination, I stopped the car and suddenly remembered that there was a newly purchased pack of Vitamin E pills in the car's luggage compartment.

I reached out to open the luggage compartment, but saw a small square package torn open in the gap next to the seat belt.

The liquid from that square package stuck to my hand, making me stunned.

I suddenly thought of Anna wearing a two-piece dress, her face turning red.

Hugo's phone call that afternoon and the fact that he used the excuse of being drunk to avoid my sight...

I sat in the chair bewildered.

In just one day, so many things happened that I didn't know where to start.

2. Hugo and I have loved each other since our first year of college.

It's him pursuing me.

At that time, I worked part-time at the Piper beef soup shop near the school gate to pay for tuition. Hugo met me and fell in love with me at first sight.

Because of pursuing me, a rich guy like Hugo ate beef soup for nearly a year.

On the day I agreed to love him, he choked and vomited right in the restaurant, so to this day he still can't smell the smell of beef soup.

Knowing that I have high self-esteem, he went to the canteen to eat with me but stubbornly gave me fruit and milk:

“What if your future wife is malnourished?”

Knowing I couldn't stand the smell of cigarettes, he tried to quit smoking. One time, when the craving for a cigarette arose again, he stretched his scalp and took out a lollipop in his mouth right in front of his friends, blushing to save his own self-esteem:

“Look at what? What do you guys know? People with families must be like that.”

Actually, I still don't know why Hugo likes me.

He is 1m85 tall, and he is both rich and handsome.

But Hugo didn't care, he said he liked it, then he liked it.

He is also a very stubborn person. If he determines what he wants, he will persist until the end.

On New Year's Eve, when he took me home to meet my parents, I realized that.

I brought a fruit basket with me, and I was very nervous when I stood in front of his parents.

Hugo's parents were very polite in welcoming me.

When the maid cleared the table, his mother coughed lightly and signaled Hugo to go out and talk to her alone.

The villa's lights were so dazzling, like the hot August sun, that people didn't dare raise their heads. The light shone on me, who was wearing a not-so-new down jacket and slightly faded jeans.

Still, this is my best outfit.

I sat on a European-style sofa, trying to minimize my own sense of existence.

The maids' eyes seemed to rest on me, seeming to contain hidden laughter, like small blades cutting into my self-esteem.

I heard his mother's angry voice:

“She certainly knows that you are a rich person, right?”

My heart suddenly stopped

RomanceProloguePart 1fact or fictionlovedating
1

About the Creator

Dacius Bùi

The bottom of the sea is a place we can't reach, just like your heart, no matter how hard I try, I can't reach it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.