Chapters logo

Something From the Roots Pt. 1

Fantasy/horror

By IamSORELLEPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Something From the Roots Pt. 1
Photo by Eilis Garvey on Unsplash

"It's a hollow place", the people of Shadowbrook called it. A place with such beautiful trees with root vines that spreads everywhere around the forest. Legends say the roots of the trees holds the secrets of the town. But I describe it as an urban legend that makes people gossip because it's a juicy tale. A tale that is a conspiracy theory everywhere else but in Shadowbrook, the citizens talk about it as if it was alive and well. They say the roots are from a bloodline that is unbreakable. A bloodline that keeps the roots of the trees alive. I was young when the story was developed. When I was a child, it didn't quite have an effect on me. Maybe because I didn't listen to the stories. Or maybe I just didn't buy into it like every other child that lived in that town. But, going back as a 20 something in college I was wrong. So wrong...

I was on my way back home during the beginning of summer. College exams were really putting me in a bind which was really stressing me out. So, since I didn't have the money like my rich friends, I decided to go back to Shadowbrook for the summer. Unlike my friends, I wasn't financially set to go on an actual vacation. One of my friends, Daria, invited me to come with her family on her father's yacht but I declined because being poor or just not financially stable makes me feel outcasted around people who do have money. Not to say I was jealous, but just felt outcasted. "Jameela, my parents love you and they really would like to have you here with us", Daria said as she desperately breathed a long sigh. "I'm just not the vacation type D." I lied about that part. I really needed a vacation but not in favor of my best friend. I was always independent. I didn't like leaning on people for anything. That was something Daria couldn't understand about me. I wasn't the needy type.

"Okay fine, I just hope you have some time to yourself for a change." "I will D if you stop pandering me on the phone," I say as I chuckle a little in the back of my mind. Daria said something before she got off the phone that I didn't understand at first, "there is something else I want to say before I go, if you're going to spend time in the Shadowbrook forest, make sure to not stay long out there."

After that, she hung up. I barely could get in a word before she hung up immediately after saying that. I didn't get what she was trying to tell me before, but after everything that happened that summer, I understood why.

I finally made my way back in town; the greetings were the same, but the vibe and the atmosphere changed overtime. According to my mother, Phaye, she said that the roots were dying somehow. I thought that the roots always stayed fresh and taken with good care by the Pinkerton family who had a long generation of family members who were scientists. You see the Pinkerton family had a huge family cabin on the outside of Shadowbrook. Being scientists who treated and studied plants and root vines, I thought they would continue to keep the roots planted.

But what my mom said gave me a chill up my spine, "the family hasn't been seen since you left for college." That was something I had to process because everyone knew that the family wouldn't leave their cabin just like that and then without any clothes. I just shook it off but was still concerned for them. I used to hang out with their daughter, Lynne, when I was 10. I don't know what it was but something made me go check out the family cabin one day. It's like I had this intuition that I had to go and see for myself. To see what the town was really talking about when they said that the family just disappeared without a trace. But I just had to go see, but after going, I regretted everything...

HorrorMysteryFantasy

About the Creator

IamSORELLE

Hi, my name is Sorelle and I'm studying to get my BA in English. I have always wanted to write because it makes me feel more confident in continuing my education as a future writer.

- Book & TV reviews, Historical Topics, and more...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Salman siddique7 months ago

    nicely written use some keywords in your article like i do to get more reach

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great story! Fantastic🤍🤍

IamSORELLEWritten by IamSORELLE

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.