Chapters logo

Something From the Roots Pt.2

Fantasy/Horror

By IamSORELLEPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Something From the Roots Pt.2
Photo by Felix Mittermeier on Unsplash

You know how when you get this sick feeling that you shouldn't go somewhere you shouldn't be going but you go anyway? Well, I didn't listen to this "feeling of regret". If I would have just listened, I wouldn't have been caught up. But that day going to the woods to see the Pinkerton's cabin, something was out there, creeping, stalking, and looking. I don't know who or what it was. I just knew I had to find something to make good sense out of.

Once I arrived at their family cabin, it wasn't what I used to see it as. The Pinkerton family was a family that had certain expectations for its children. They wanted each generation to become something in the environmental world. They wanted each generation that was born to learn the secrets of the forest. Understand the gifts that the trees were holding on to. I thought they was weird at first but now, I think they just wanted their family to learn more about the ecosystem of the soil and the roots. The family never stopped studying the roots for decades. It was almost like the roots were the Pinkertons' heirloom that was passed down. I remember a time when I was little, Lynne and I were playing hide and seek, and she was long gone into the hide and seek game. I stumbled upon Lynne's mother; Evie Pinkerton who was doing a test run on the roots from a tree that I didn't see before.

I thought it was kind of cool. Ms. Pinkerton caught me staring and asked if I wanted to see how she does her work. I said yes because Ms. Pinkerton was similar to my mother. Sweet and loving, my mom trusted her to watch over me. Almost like she was a second mother figure. "Do you like the progress", she said as she took her gloves off and placed them on a wooded table. "Ms. Pinkerton, what does this tree do that others don't do?" I said while standing next to her admiring the tree. "Well Jameela the tree produces some type of chemical that our family hasn't quite got to yet." The roots squeeze a substance out every October, but we don't know why it does this." "This tree trunk has many things in it that we as the Pinkertons still are unaware of."

That memory is still questionable because at that time the family was still researching the substance that kept being released out into the soil, but they never gotten to test what it was. Whatever it was could've been the reason why they aren't here maybe. Something is telling me that the atmosphere of this place has changed. Something doesn't feel right. As I make my way to the cabin's front door, I notice a dark but tall figure standing deep in the woods, lurking behind a tree. Not just any tree but the family's tree. And just when I was about to approach it, it disappeared. I didn't want to linger on the thought of it, so I went back up to the front door and ringed their bell. I rung the bell three times, but no one was home. I checked under their rug to see if there was still a spare key because they used to keep one when Lynne and I hung out during our teen years.

I found the key and tried opening the door. And right when I'm about to open it, the door opens slowly with a annoying but creepy squeaking sound. The inside of the cabin was dark, like it hasn't been fed light in decades. I tried the light switch but I was never returned any light in response. Hesitant, I made a few steps more inside. As I'm walking and looking around, I'm hit with a foul smell. It almost smells like something died here. "Oh God, I hope no one is dead here", I say as I head up stairs. Checking each room, the smell becomes more stronger as I make my way to Lynne's room. I opened the door slowly, and what I saw was beyond something that was not from earth.

FictionMysteryHorrorFantasy

About the Creator

IamSORELLE

Hi, my name is Sorelle and I'm studying to get my BA in English. I have always wanted to write because it makes me feel more confident in continuing my education as a future writer.

- Book & TV reviews, Historical Topics, and more...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    IamSORELLEWritten by IamSORELLE

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.