Chapters logo

Smartystan

Great

By Skyler SaundersPublished 3 days ago 4 min read
Smartystan
Photo by Chintan Jani on Unsplash

With all of the invitations and meetings and engagements that Dr. Frampton encountered, and allowed her synths to go in her stead to places outside of Smartystan. She knew that there would be occasions where her human, present self had to attend, but she paid this little mind. Her main focus remained on keeping the republic and admitting as many people as possible who could be honorable and capable at once.

She walked down the stairs in a way of luxuriance and might. She wore a salmon evening gown with diamonds adorned on the neckline. Every step seemed graceful and assured. She found her husband at the bottom, Varney Frampton who sported a midnight blue tuxedo. He had made a fortune in the fashion and cosmetics business. Their combined wealth embarrassed some and impressed even more.

“What shall we do, darling?” she asked.

“I think we should be heading out soon,” Varney said. He was tallish, had deep black skin and a strong jawline. He looked at his wife. The look held admiration and glee.

“Yes, we must.” The synth driver took them from their home to the gala. It wasn’t for her, finally. They had gone over half the globe for her to receive honorary doctorates, prizes and awards, and other recognition. Now, it was time for her to not be pressed for a thank-you speech. They always went to Varney anyway. She took it upon herself to be proud of her accolades, but she didn’t mind acknowledging other people who had deserved their achievements as well.

At the gala, platinum horns and champagne added to the ambience of the high profile night. Military members in the officer ranks wore their mess dress uniforms and smiled thoughtfully. Women wore bodacious dresses that cost tens of thousands of dollars. Dr. Frampton took in all of this. She had time to schmooze and make friends and encounter old ones.

“Why, Keija,” an older man wheezed. “It’s a pleasant surprise to see you and Varney here.”

“The pleasure’s all mine, Norman.”

Norman was in his early fifties but looked at least seventy-five. He hobbled a bit and walked without a cane, but may have needed one.

“Good seeing you,” he smiled and then scooted away from them.

“Absolutely,” Dr. Frampton said.

Varney leaned into his wife and intoned, “He’s on his last leg.”

“He should be glad he has any legs,” she answered.

The couple moved on to their seats and listened to the music playing lightly in the background. A jazz tune, it rose above the room and kept the patrons all abuzz. Dr. Frampton and Varney looked on to the stage. The awards for the most selfish dominated the awards. Causes that the individuals actually cared about, the academy actually conferred upon the recipients. When the night had concluded, the couple found themselves in the car again.

“You’ve received every award excluding that one. Why is that Keij’?”

“Everyone sees me as the physics guru who always helps out others. But I’m doing it for myself. Your guess is as sharp as mine.”

“I’m going to have to petition.”

“Stop it.”

“I’m serious. You’re the most selfish person I know and you need to be applauded and lauded for it. You don’t come to the aid of monsters and brutes. You help out people that are in your own self interest. That calls for the admittance to the party.”

“I hear you talking,” she replied.

“Whatever I have to do I–”

“Don’t, hon. Just don’t. I will be honored to accept the award, but I’m not chasing it. Whatever may come to me may do so, but I’m not pushing for it.”

“But you deserve it.”

“You say that, but if you were to ever do anything to sway the judges or influence them in any way, I’d never forgive you.”

Varney sat back and breathed in the luxury seat. He looked out at the starry night.

Dr. Frampton turned to her husband.

“I know you want what’s best for me. I appreciate it. But I’m not about to be showered with prizes just to be liked. Just to think of myself as better. I’m not great because I’m an award-winner, I’m an award-winner because I am great. Do you see?”

Varney sighed. “Yes, I get it. I just want you to earn every piece of accomplishment that there is out there for you to receive.”

“I get that, but you can’t just run up and say, ‘My wife’s better than all of your nominees,’” Dr. Frampton replied.

Varney looked at his wife with conviction and understanding. He knew that what she was saying rang true. Every bit of her verbiage spilled forth like a fount of clarity and reality. He held onto the basic idea of wanting to promote his wife as she was the breadwinner. In his own mind, he still could keep her in check, and not just financially. Through communicating his thoughts, he knew that there had been some placement of reasoning going on and that they would be better off speaking with each other more than anything.

“I just want you to know…whatever may come our way, we will be the team we’ve always been.”

“I agree with you. We can always belong together. I don’t see those binds ever shredding. If you see it how I do, your awards should be for rational self-interest as well. The purely business realm is too concerned with altruism and saying that they’re not really all about themselves. This is disgusting. It has to be for the ego for any business that wants to thrive.”

Varney grinned and shook his head in agreement. “Yes, I suppose you’re right. The sciences finally came around and the fact that you’re a businesswoman, well they overlooked that and made most of these awards about the individual.”

“I think we’re going to have to establish our own foundation or institute to confer awards only for the most selfish people possible,” Dr. Frampton said.

“I agree,” Varney replied.

SagaYoung Adult

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have a wide audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Skyler SaundersWritten by Skyler Saunders

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.