Chapters logo

Smartystan

True Self

By Skyler SaundersPublished 3 days ago 4 min read
Smartystan
Photo by Chintan Jani on Unsplash

Scenes from the interview splashed on the large visual screen. When he had the chance, Dr. Strong called his publicist.

“The whole part!” he exclaimed.

“I know, I know,” Santiaga Luiz responded. “It’s just one of those times where the other states don’t get it right.”

“I’m never doing an interview with a ‘journalist’ from outside of the country-state. I mean I answered the questions but they cut out the most important point.”

Santiaga sighed. “You know they can’t even discuss anything contrary. We went into this knowing that. Why are you so surprised?”

“I’m more shocked than surprised. They have their own way of issuing the news in various forms. Their interviews are heavily monitored by the government. I get that. But if I’m expressing my thoughts, and not the interviewer, shouldn’t I be able to say whatever the hell I want to say as long as it’s not fraud or other threats of force?”

“Sadly, we chose exposure. This interview will be seen by hundreds of millions of people all across this country and other parts of the globe. The fact they trimmed out the section in which you speak of a certain topic only shows that they won’t get the full you. This, however, means that close to a billion people will know who you are and what you are all about all over again. They knew you at the founding, now they know the man that has matured and grown the country-state to the excellence that it is.”

Dr. Strong scoffed. He then said, “That was the whole point. To get them to understand that you should have the freedom to think and say what you want as long as it’s not harmful to others. I wasn’t even saying anything along those lines. I simply professed my own rationale for approaching existence.”

“I know, Dr., but you’ve gotta look at it as a little win because more people are going to want to know more about Smartystan and everything that is within it.”

He switched the monitor off and headed to his study. The cherrywood shrunk and the leather seats all spoke of his distinguished manner. Photographs with dignitaries and heads of state and movie stars adorned his place of reflection.

“Look, if it makes you feel happy, I can always line up someone in the country-state who will be happy to broadcast your ideas and everything you say will be seen by every Smarty.”

“It doesn’t make me feel happy. What am I going to get? Five hundred thousand, maybe a million people. You said I’ll get much more than that outside of this realm. That’s what I want. I’ll be happy when a billion people know I’m an atheist.”

“Right there is what blocked us. Your lack of belief cannot be expressed in any press or functions of speech, drawings, movies, artwork, whatever in the surrounding states. I know that we can get there. The other states in the Union are trying to adopt measures like what we have here. It’s going to be slow going, but trust the process,” she reminded him.

“If I can’t say there’s no God, then what else can I stand on, now? What other way can I talk about my true self?”

“You did an excellent job in the first half. They edited the rest to cut out the atheism bit, but you’re going to be lauded and applauded for your efforts, nonetheless,” Santiaga affirmed.

“That’ll be the day. It’s like you said, it’s going to take some time, but we’re poised to spread the message of a completely free state where merit and morality reign supreme. I want to talk about the Prophet Mohammad.”

“You did, but you know that had to be cut.”

“Why?”

“You know why. Islamists take that seriously. Scores of people have died for drawing paintings and sculptures, writing poems and novels and producing plays, movies, and TV shows.”

“I want to know why though….”

“They lack a sense of humor, for one. They don’t have a clue as to properly maintain a proper civilization. Jews can talk about Moses and make fun. Christians can make light of Jesus. But Muslims, they are either intolerant or militant about discussing Mohammad.”

“I knew all that. I just wanted to hear you say it.”

Santiaga laughed with great pleasure. It was light and sincere all at the same time.

“I have in my education and travels known that Jews and Christians were just as vicious in the name of the unknown and unknowable. They’ve seemed to have subsided somewhat. But the way to get rid of all of the killings, and violence against life and limb is just over ideas. The best ideas will always win no matter the struggle.”

Santiaga shook her head in agreement on the other side of the call. “That’s why this interview is going to launch you. Sure, they cut out the part of you not believing in God, but what about all of the good questions that she asked you?”

“What good questions? They were obtuse at best. I just think people will take to my responses,” Dr. Strong replied.

“If we continue to put into effect the notion of who you really are with journalists in other states, you’ll be able to distinguish between the people who rally behind you and know your position. They’ll be the ones who will bring together the reality of your nonbelief.”

“I hear you talking,” Dr. Strong responded.

“I’m serious, sir! We’ll have a greater exchange with people within the country-state and they’ll appreciate it since close to one hundred percent of Smartystan is atheist.”

“That may be true, but I don’t think in those terms. I consider the fact that each individual has his or her own mind to state whether they believe in God or not. We just happen to live in a place where the freedom to choose your faith or lack thereof, is so pronounced.”

Santiaga shifted. “We’re going to get them, boss. No matter how long it may take, we're going to win.”

“We’ve won already,” he sent her a screenshot of a headline that read, “Smartystan Founder seen on TV interview where second half goes blank.”

It’s a start,” he said.

Young AdultScience FictionSaga

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have a wide audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Skyler SaundersWritten by Skyler Saunders

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.