Chapters logo

Frances and the Showdown

Episode 6 (This series is intended only for a mature audience. Viewer discretion is advised.)

By Mother CombsPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Image by Simon from Pixabay

I was on the subway, traveling to the meeting spot and hoping to rescue Debbie from my maniacal Uncle. I’d already picked up the bullets I needed from a shady little gun shop close to my rundown apartment. They didn’t even bat an eye when I handed them a note for ten boxes of ammo. They just sold me what I asked for. I’d had to return to the apartment to load all my clips and pack my ammo bag.

As I sat on the subway, I thought back on Nedna, wondering what she would say if she could see me now. Probably something like, “Sometimes, we got to get our hands dirty when doing the right thing,” or “Just because you can’t speak, Frannie, doesn’t mean you can let others walk all over you. Stand up for yourself because no one else will.” Nedna was the last person I’d ever loved besides Debbie. And I’d lost her to a Demarco, too. I couldn’t bear to lose Debbie forever like I’ve lost dear Nedna.

Debbie, with the luscious red lips and the delectable brown eyes. Debbie, who didn’t know exactly how much I loved her. Debbie tied my tongue, even though I couldn’t speak.

As I neared my destination, I thought about the text I had sent out before I left my apartment. I wanted to know if Ms. Goldina had received it yet. I, of course, could not check because I tossed my phone into the drainage ditch the first chance I got. If I survived today, I’d have to replace my phone. At least Greco wouldn’t be able to read my text and see who my contacts were if I did not survive. Of course, whether or not Goldie received that text in time would depend on whether or not I lived or died.

Getting off at her stop, Frannie made her way to the restrooms. She needed to empty her bladder before she got there. She didn’t want to pee her pants while enacting her plan.

She stood staring in the mirror for several moments while she washed her hands. Seeing the solid gold chain around her neck that Nedna had given her, Frances pulled out the Crucifix it was holding from under her hoodie. Her mother had given her the Crucifix the day she left and never returned. She returned it underneath her hoodie and cut her finger on a sharp edge.

Sucking on her finger, she returned to the street above and headed to the rendezvous spot. She hoped Greco hadn’t hurt Debbie. That Debbie was okay. But she wouldn’t be sure if she was even there until she arrived at the warehouse where Debbie was held.

Walking, Frannie arrived at the warehouse within twenty minutes. Standing outside, she looked around for a while, trying to see a trap before entering. Not seeing anything noticeable, she proceeded to the side door to enter the warehouse.

Heading towards the back of the warehouse, where she heard voices, Frannie pulled both guns out and checked to make sure the safety was off before putting them back in a more accessible place.

Walking around a stack of boxes, she appeared in a large opening where several people stood. On the far side stood Greco, holding Debbie by her upper arm.

“Well, well, look who finally decided to show up, Debbie. It’s my niece, Little Frances Delgado.” Greco said as soon as she entered the opening.

Frannie stomped at him and signed to him that he had her now to let Debbie go.

Laughing loudly, Greco said, “I don’t think so, Frannie. You see, she’s seen my face. She knows too much about me now.

“You know, I’ve tried to kill you before, Frannie. Back when you were one or two. Back when you could hear. Your Grandmother Nedna stopped me back then. She told your dad, which kept me from trying again. Well, neither is here now. to stop me.”

Standing in shock, Frannie almost didn’t move fast enough when the shooting started. As she jumped behind the boxes, she saw that Debbie was smart enough to do the same on her side.

She hit two guys when suddenly, more men entered the fray. Instead of shooting at her, they shot at Greco and his men. Bullets were flying everywhere. Greco’s men were laying dead like logs. When the gunfight was over, Frannie ran out to look at the bodies and to see if Greco was one of them, but his body was nowhere to be found in the warehouse.

Seeing Debbie, Frannie walked over to her. The group leader of hired guns walked over to them, saluted Frannie, and told her that Mrs. Mathias sent her regards and handed her a note as he turned and hollered at his men to start cleaning up.

Debbie looked at Frannie and said, “I think you have much explaining to do.”

>>>>> To be continued >>>>>>

Episode 1

Episode 2

Episode 3

Episode 4

Episode 5

ThrillerFictionCliffhanger

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.