Chapters logo

FORGIVE YOURSELF

WRITER: THANK-GOD TOLUWALASE

By InitiativeforselfesteemPublished 12 days ago 3 min read

Korede walked with hesitation, undetermined to catch the next bus. "Ugh, Korede, this school life isn't for you at all," he muttered under his breath, angrily digging into his school bag for his phone. He had stolen it weeks ago from Mama Tee's shop, and had denied outrightly when she confronted him, even swearing to God to support his lie.

As he entered the bus, an elderly woman bumped into him, trying to navigate her way out.

"Sorry, my son," she apologized.

"Mama, I'm not your son, watch where you are going!" Korede snapped, then took a seat by the window.

On the ride to school, he had flashbacks of last night. He had invited Aminat, his high school sweetheart over, only for his mother to show up unexpectedly. "We were just having fun, Mum. Besides, you were supposed to be on night shift today," he had retorted, storming out with Jane in a fit of anger.

★★★

An HP laptop, a tray of files, and a small-sized family picture sat on the table. The atmosphere was tensed as Mr. Ajala, the Principal of Anderson International Schools wore a serious look.

"I hate to break it to you, Madam, but your son was arrested this morning for being among the students who stole exam papers and committed examination malpractice. The school board couldn't overlook his offence this time; hence, Korede has been expelled from school."

"What? Ahh! Expelled ke… exam malpractice? This boy has finally killed me," Mrs. Olosunde drew her chair forward.

"Please, Mr. Ajala, you have to help me. You know, since his father left us I have tried my best to raise him. I have no one to turn to," Mrs. Olosunde pleaded, tears welling up in her eyes.

"I'm sorry, there's absolutely nothing I can do about it," Mr. Ajala offered his handkerchief, sighed and continued, "however, I'll give you the address of the police station so you can bail him out."

"Thank you… thank you so much, sir!" Mrs. Olosunde expressed her gratitude and immediately dashed out in search for her son.

She cried bitterly the moment she saw Korede's battered face, but was too angry to express her sympathy. Neither spoke to the other throughout the journey home.

★★★

Korede dropped his bag briskly and was about to step out when his mother grabbed his collar.

"You are going nowhere, Korede, after what you did! I tried to be patient with you because you grew up without your father, but you have chosen to be a thorn in my flesh," Mrs. Olosunde said, her voice heavy with pain.

"Mummy, it's my life and I'll choose how to live it," Korede fired back.

"My son… Akanji mi, do you want to kill me?"

"Mummy die if you want to die abeg, I need to go out now!"

"Over my dead body will you step out to the house today," Mrs Olosunde panted, her energy slowly seeping out of her body, but she wasn't going to let go without a fight.

"Mummy, I'm warning you o, leave me alone."

"You bastard! Do you know what I had to go through after your father left us? How can you be so ungrateful?"

In a bid to free himself, Korede pushed his mother away. "You can't keep me locked in this house forever, Mum."

He noticed she was not moving. "If this is your tactic to keep me from going out, then sorry, it's not working." At this point, Korede leaned in, straining to hear her breathe, but there was only silence. He placed his head on her chest and his eyes widened in disbelief.

"No no no, Mummy, stand up. Ok I'm sorry, I was wrong. I… I promise to do better. Mummy…" he screamed, holding her in his arms and crying bitterly. He couldn't think of anything else but to call his aunt.

Mrs. Olosunde was rushed to the hospital. Korede watched as the doctor spoke to his aunt, his head pounding and his hands shaking.

"Korede, you killed your own mother." He stood up, haunted by the moment he pushed his mother, her cold body, her frozen hands.

To be continued…

Self-helpPlot TwistNonfiction

About the Creator

Initiativeforselfesteem

ISEEA is a charity organization advocating for SDG 3, Good Health and Well Being. By promoting awareness on the importance of self esteem and how to overcome low self esteem.

The aim is to help you grow above the struggle of low self-esteem

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    InitiativeforselfesteemWritten by Initiativeforselfesteem

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.