Chapters logo

ENDURANCE BEYOUND APOCALYPSE

My 300-Days Journey Through Nuclear Turmoil

By Okafor EmmanuelPublished 4 months ago 14 min read
Like

Days 251-260

We were brought closer to the elusive group we were tracking. The trail was so fresh that we anticipated catching up with them every time we ascended the next ridge. Finally, we set up camp and noticed the telltale glow of a campfire a few miles away.

With swift movements, we could catch up by the following evening. Our group consisted of five individuals, and so did theirs – unless they had joined forces with another group during their journey, which we saw no signs of. As long as we moved quietly, we could maintain the element of surprise and avoid any harm to the teenagers.

Concerns arose about Robby and Annie. Robby, haunted by memories of captivity, insisted on joining the mission despite my initial reluctance. He needed to prove he wasn't just a victim. Annie, coping with her brother's death, displayed unsettling emotions that worried me.

On Day 253, we waited until nightfall, navigating through thick snow with deliberate steps to minimize noise. The rear members stepped into the footprints of those ahead, drawing on lessons from my military past that I had hoped to leave behind.

As we approached, we overheard the cannibals laughing and joking, oblivious to the fact that their intended victims were preparing to strike back. The tied-up teenagers, beaten but not gagged, were visible around a tree. However, something was amiss – one of the teens was missing.

Waiting until the cover of darkness, Gabriella and Marcus positioned themselves north, while Robby, Annie, and I took an eastern stance. Our plan was to fire into the camp without risking harm to the teenagers. Shots rang out, taking down the cannibal on watch, and chaos ensued as the others emerged from their tents.

Robby's rage overcame him, leading to a risky move that resulted in him getting shot. Ignoring the immediate danger, I focused on neutralizing the remaining threats. One casualty occurred, but we successfully rescued the teenagers. Despite Robby's injury, he was lucky, and with makeshift first aid, we ensured his survival.

The mission had its challenges, but the team persevered. The hike back would be painful for Robby, but the rescue was a success.

Days 254-256 brought unsettling revelations as the rescued teenagers shared harrowing news with us. The missing hunter, it appeared, had fallen victim to one of the cannibals. They had absconded during the group's camp setup, uttering ominous phrases about a 'worthy offering.' A disquieting sensation settled in the pit of my stomach.

In response, Annie and I resolved to pursue the elusive cannibal, leaving Gabriella and Marcus to guide the exhausted teenagers and the injured Robby back home. Despite the teens' insistence that they were up for the chase, their weariness from a forced march and meager sustenance was evident.

Gabriella and Marcus ingeniously fashioned a sled to transport Robby, and after a brief respite, Annie and I set out on the trail of the missing cannibal. Fortunately, his path wasn't difficult to discern, as they had only a six-hour head start. My hope was to catch up and stage an ambush when he halted for the night, but it became apparent he was in as much of a rush as we were.

The realization struck that he likely heard the gunfire, setting the stage for a challenging pursuit. For nearly a week, we doggedly tracked him, sacrificing precious sleep. However, our fatigue forced us to pause. The cannibal exhibited an almost superhuman endurance, and the mystery of how he sustained his captive remained.

Realizing our vulnerability, Annie and I granted ourselves an eight-hour respite. Upon waking, we confronted the renewed fallout, an acrid snowfall staining the landscape. Swathed in protective gear, we resumed our pursuit, guided by Annie's superior tracking abilities. Surprisingly, the trail, though less fresh, revealed that he had miraculously gained ground.

After following the path over a ridge, we descended into a valley, finding ourselves over twenty miles from Big Bear. To our astonishment, a sprawling campsite lay below us, boasting twenty sizable tents capable of accommodating multiple occupants. Estimating a population of forty to fifty people, we acknowledged the need for utmost caution moving forward.

Days 261-267

Descending into the valley took a day, bringing us closer to the camp where our prey had the upper hand, having already familiarized themselves with the route. The knowledge of our planned ambush now presented two possible outcomes. Either they would heed the caution and abandon Big Bear, moving on to avoid conflict, or the nomadic cannibal group might choose revenge and launch an attack.

Uncertain of their decision, I devised a plan to gather intelligence. As we descended from the ridge, we circled south to gain a better vantage point of the camp. What we discovered chilled us to the core. The cannibals had constructed makeshift pens using logs and stakes, designed for easy assembly and disassembly. These enclosures housed not only livestock like cows, pigs, and chickens but also human captives—clearly intended for consumption.

Confronted with the grim reality, Annie and I deliberated our options. The idea of a rescue mission was quickly dismissed due to the well-guarded nature of the area. Facing forty or fifty well-armed cannibals left us with little chance of success. I shared my plan with Annie, and she concurred. All that was left was to wait for the cover of night.

Drawing on my wartime experience, patience became a valuable asset. Eventually, an opportunity presented itself when a lone cannibal ventured out in search of firewood. Anticipating this need, I set up an ambush near a depleted patch of deadfall outside the perimeter. As he approached, I executed a rear naked choke hold, rendering him unconscious. After quickly securing and gagging him, Annie and I dragged him up the ridge, covering our tracks as best as possible.

Two days of cautious travel followed, with our captive bound and gagged. We fed him snow to quench his thirst, and once confident that no pursuers were on our trail, I decided to make camp. The time had come to extract information.

Before initiating the interrogation, I offered Annie the option to step aside, given the brutality that was about to unfold. Though torn, she ultimately chose to leave, her hand briefly resting on my shoulder before disappearing into the darkness.

Alone with the captive, I removed his gag, prompting a barrage of insults that I ignored. His dehydration was intentional—a tactic to weaken him, making resistance more challenging. Unsheathing a utility knife with various attachments, I engaged in a chilling conversation.

"I'm sure you've become adept at cutting people apart by now. Want to know a secret? I'm pretty good at it too," I declared, emphasizing the gravity of our conversation. I laid out the terms: cooperative answers would spare him, while defiance would result in the loss of fingers. In the end, he relinquished information, sparing himself from the more gruesome fate that awaited him.

Days 268-277

A looming threat hung over Big Bear as the cannibals meticulously planned a raid, seeking revenge for their comrade we had lost—consumed by them before we could mount a rescue. Our only recourse was swift action, a desperate attempt to warn our community.

The quandary remained regarding our captured friend. Annie swiftly settled the debate by drawing her sidearm, putting an end to his existence with a single, resolute shot to the head. Turning to me, she expressed a solemn sentiment.

“I love you like a brother, truly. But understand, there's a profound distinction between what I just did and what you did. A significant difference.”

I acknowledged her words, sensing the weight in my heart. Despite the moral disparity, we were left with no alternative means of obtaining crucial information.

“I won't disclose this to the group. Just... Please don't repeat it,” Annie implored.

I nodded, grappling with the sincerity of my commitment. The turbulent journey we had endured pushed me to prioritize the safety of my family above all else.

Moving with urgency, we braced ourselves for the imminent retaliation from the cannibals. The treacherous weather conditions complicated our journey, but it also impeded the progress of our adversaries.

As we navigated through the worsening snow, we considered the likelihood of the cannibals reorganizing their camp closer to Big Bear before launching an assault. The command structure and organization of such a large-scale operation were unknown to us, but the evident coordination hinted at a well-organized force.

The deteriorating weather worked in our favor, making travel challenging for both parties. The cannibals, burdened with their entire camp, faced difficulties that played to our advantage. Anticipating their strategy, we expected them to leave a minimal force behind to safeguard their belongings while dispatching a formidable attack party.

Disturbing news awaited us. The cannibal informant revealed a camp strength of over fifty individuals, all prepared to engage in combat. With only a handful of experienced firearm users and fighters among the 90-something residents of Big Bear, the odds were not in our favor.

Spotting distant smoke, we understood the cannibals were en route. Considering the magnitude of their camp and supplies, we estimated it would take them a week and a half to reach Big Bear, leaving us with limited time to prepare for the impending threat.

Days 278-289

As Annie and I returned, Alexis welcomed me with a warm embrace, but a sense of guilt lingered within me. I was determined to shield her from the darkness of this new world, yet I feared how much of it I had unknowingly brought back with me.

Concerns weighed on me – would my presence infect those close to me, including Lilith, Robby, and Meg? Pushing these thoughts aside, I briefed Gabrielle and Stenson about the imminent war party, sharing every detail I had extracted from the prisoner, omitting only the unconventional means by which I obtained the intelligence. Stenson, however, gave me a knowing look, sensing there was more to the story.

The news was grim; the cannibals possessed heavy weapons, mainly M240s and M249s looted from national guard bases. This posed a significant threat, as our community lacked such firepower. Grateful for the town's hunting skills, I acknowledged Annie's foresight in insisting everyone become fighters. With only a few days to train, the urgency became apparent.

A town council meeting convened, and surprising alignment occurred as Stenson, a Vietnam vet, and I shared perspectives based on our diverse experiences. Drawing on my insurgency combat knowledge from Iraq and Afghanistan, we devised a strategy. Faced with superior technology, our plan was to engage the enemy in urban combat, taking advantage of the built-up areas around the lake.

Evacuating families from the outer perimeter, we established a mobile defense comprised of small squads. Experienced fighters would confront the war party, leading them into a fighting retreat towards the lake. Utilizing urban terrain, we aimed to secure buildings and harass the enemy, reminiscent of the Soviets in Stalingrad.

Robby and Tomlin, the non-combatants, would be relocated. Tomlin remained comatose, and I dreaded the day he would wake. Alexis insisted on staying, but I insisted she join the camp down the highway with Lucky and Meg, prioritizing their safety. Lilith, however, adamantly rejected being sent away with the "women and children."

Training commenced while scouts monitored the likely avenue of attack.

Resuming my role as a scout, I discovered the enemy camp four days away from Big Bear. With their raid imminent, I decided to inflict some damage in advance. On the first night, I set one of their tents ablaze and took down three adversaries before slipping away. The second night saw me harassing them from a distance, eliminating four more, but their accurate return fire, likely aided by thermals, forced me to reevaluate the situation.

While each kill leveled the playing field, the use of thermals raised concerns about their technological capabilities. Aware of their heightened alertness, I retreated and prepared for the impending battle

The calm before the storm enveloped the surroundings, a quiet tension hanging in the air. Anticipation gripped everyone as they braced for what was inevitably coming. My reconnaissance efforts provided a rough estimate of the enemy's numbers - after neutralizing seven threats, I gauged around 42 adversaries approaching. With myself, Annie, and Lilith, we formed a defensive force of 39.

Despite having the strategic advantage, the enemy possessed superior firepower and technology. The eve of the impending battle saw Annie, Lilith, and me sharing a meal, cherishing moments of camaraderie. The uncertainty of survival loomed over us as we faced an imminent clash.

Leading the forward squad, comprised of five volunteers and myself, Lilith and Annie followed about two hundred yards behind with their own unit. Stenson, drawing from his experiences in Vietnam, assumed overall command. Gabrielle oversaw a squad in a nearby building, Marcus commanded sharpshooters targeting key enemy figures, and the plan focused on eliminating M240 and M249 gunners.

The approaching threat wielded military-grade equipment scavenged or stolen, putting us at a distinct disadvantage. The crisp morning hinted at their lack of strategic finesse. The enemy, armed with M4s and body armor, appeared uncoordinated, behaving more like a mob than a disciplined force.

As the first wave emerged over a small hill, my initial shot missed, setting an inauspicious tone for the Battle for Big Bear. The enemy dispersed, acting cautiously, moving from house to house. Our defensive strategy mirrored the Russian tactics at Stalingrad, forcing retreats to successive lines of defense.

Casualties mounted as heavy gunners unleashed their firepower. By noon, we retreated to the fourth defensive line, with no reserves left, fully engaged, and casualties rising. A distraction became imperative to alter the course of the battle.

Ordering survivors to retreat to the final line, I hid in an empty house, eliminating enemy forces as they advanced. Behind enemy lines, I seized an M4, abandoning my trusty rifle. From an advantageous position, I disrupted the enemy's advance, exploiting their confusion to thin their ranks considerably.

As chaos spread among the enemy, our forces seized the initiative. With Stenson's leadership, the defenders launched a counteroffensive, and the cannibals retreated in a panicked dash. With the enemy rushing past my position, I couldn't let them escape to potentially harm others.

Engaging in a relentless pursuit, I targeted the fleeing cannibals, taking advantage of their blind panic. Stenson, a seasoned commander, discovered my actions. Observing the aftermath of the ambush, he nodded in acknowledgment. Exhausted and bloodied, I joined him, realizing victory had come at a cost.

Days 290-300

Days 290-291 brought grim tidings as half of the 39 defenders lay dead, and another quarter were seriously wounded. The town barely escaped a catastrophe, with heavy machine guns tearing through our ranks. Miraculously, the town stood its ground, and the refugee population returned, albeit with heavy hearts.

Amidst the mourning, my relief was immense as Lilith and Annie emerged physically unscathed. However, the toll of the fierce and close-quarters combat left scars on the inside, particularly concerning Lilith. Despite the town's salvation, the fear lingered that she might be lost to the trauma.

Scavenging equipment from the fallen, we prepared for potential future attacks, ensuring the town was adequately armed. However, with half our fighting force lost, even Stenson had to consider Gabrielle's ambitious plan to rebuild our numbers and recivilize the world.

Yet, the prospect of inviting outsiders carried risks, a realization that gained traction after the recent tumultuous events. A conversation with Alexis revealed my detachment from the present, haunted by the abduction of the children.

The return of Tomlin and Robby brought news of Tomlin's awakening. Surprisingly, I felt neither shock nor fear, only an inevitable acceptance of the situation. The question now was what lay ahead. Gabrielle expressed disappointment, and Stenson, though grateful for our past contributions, decreed that we were no longer welcome in the town due to our deception.

Relief washed over me at the assurance of my family's safety, but it was accompanied by the pain of separation. Deciding to leave immediately and keep my departure a secret, I faced the internal struggle of sacrificing personal bonds for the greater good.

With supplies provided by Gabrielle and Stenson, I left the town without informing the girls, determined to protect them from the dangers that lay ahead. Gabrielle's words of disappointment lingered as I ventured into the unknown.

Tracking the fleeing cannibals, I discovered their camp had vanished, likely due to a warning or attack. Following a wounded straggler, I gathered crucial information, leaving him lifeless in the snow to conceal my actions.

Embarking on a journey south, away from Big Bear, I couldn't shake the haunting words of the cannibal about an army amassing, scavenging cities for supplies and survivors. Driven by a newfound purpose, I vowed to keep my family safe, regardless of the sacrifices required.

FictionDystopian
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.