Chapters logo

Day Two: Object Writing Challenge

Bathroom mirror, dentist, and screwdriver are the objects to write about

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a month ago 3 min read
6
Day Two: Object Writing Challenge
Photo by JIN on Unsplash

I began this challenge when I received the book in the mail. I was introduced by KJ Aartila, a writer on Vocal Media, to this challenge. Her inspiration is Pat Pattison’s book “SONG-WRITING WITHOUT BOUNDARIES”.

I am not sure the picture above has anything to do with this challenge, however, when I typed in mirror, dentist, and screwdriver this is one of the things that came up and I like both the picture and the poem.

This is day two:

Timed for 5 minutes: Bathroom Mirror.

I was looking at myself in the bathroom mirror when my husband walked in. He was smiling and I wasn’t sure if it was something he was going to say or something he thought funny. I wanted to reach out and touch him but decided against that.

I was noticing how many wrinkles I had. I should remember not to look at myself when I have my reading glasses on!

Do I have that many wrinkles, I said to my hubby. He looked at me, smiled, and said, “Yes, you do, and I love every one of them! You smell so good. I enjoy being here with you. You are simply the best!”

I then said, “Okay, what do you want?” He said, “Do I have to want something to be nice to you?” I then said, yes, you do! You may not ask right away but there is something attached to the niceness! How long have I known you now?

I still love you. But I know you aren’t so romantic unless you are looking for something in return. You are not the most romantic guy in the world.

Timed for 10 minutes: Dentist.

The hubby had a dentist appointment at 3:00 p.m. to get a tooth fixed. I pulled into the parking lot at about 2:50. Fifteen minutes later, I saw him walking to his motorcycle.

Could he possibly be done already? It was five minutes after his appointment was to start. I know the dentist is good but is he that good? I open my window and sure enough, his appointment is over. His tooth is fixed, and he was told he can eat popcorn and whatever he wants, even today.

I smile and say, not my experience. I was told not to eat popcorn or my filling would come out. No fair. He smiled and said, “Where shall we meet?” Then answered just as quickly, “How about Country Kitchen? I am going to try some of those nicotine pouches that Shawn is using.”

Yuck. I suppose it can’t be any worse than snuff. The Tabacco store is next door to Country Kitchen. Okay, I will meet you there. Does the dentist know you are still chewing snuff? He answered, “Yes, he thinks it is a good thing as it probably keeps me from getting COVID!”

Not true, you did get COVID. Does the dentist know that? “He didn’t say that silly.” Oh, okay. I never know what you guys are going to come up with! I know Dave said he thinks his smoking keeps him from getting covid! Whatever you have to tell yourselves.

My next dentist appointment is not for a couple of months. I have to order a premed. I should have gone in today and told the receptionist. I tell you the older you get the more there is to do!

I’m just glad I don’t have all of the extra dental appointments. Two visits a year is enough. The dentist and his wife are both so nice. I don’t have a preference. I get whoever is there on the day of my cleanings. They have both done well for me.

Would you say so? Or do you have a preference? “Yes, I prefer Jim. It’s a guy thing. I want a woman for a massage, a man for a haircut, shave, and dental.”

Timed for 90 seconds: Screwdriver.

I used to make a mean screwdriver! Fresh squeezed orange juice and vodka top shelf! I could sip on those all day long! That was my problem. I enjoyed drinking too much.

It didn’t serve me well. I had to quit eventually. Well at 26 years old I had enough!

~~~~~~~~

This is KJ Aartila's challenge for day two. She is currently on day 11.

~~~~~~~~

First published by Penny Press on medium.com

EssayNonfictionFictionAutobiography
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oh wow, I didn't know screwdriver was a drink hahahaha. Loved all 3 stories!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    This was a cute story. I love the romantic part 🙂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.