Chapters logo

What Can I Use To Remind Me?

A note on my refrigerator? An abecedarian? The Hubby?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
What Can I Use To Remind Me?
Photo by Joel Drzycimski on Unsplash

My morning rituals are attached to the refrigerator as a reminder note. Does it work? I never look at it. I go to the fridge to get something out of it. I will occasionally check to see when a graduation or baby shower is scheduled. Because it’s a morning ritual I shouldn’t be forgetting but I do!

My son and his partner have their menu spelled out for the week and where they will be during the week unless it’s at home, then there is nothing in that space. Their noteboard is hanging on the wall next to the refrigerator and they also have a short list of what they are out of.

My mother used to save decorative magnets on her refrigerator, so I often think of her when approaching my refrigerator.

~

I was talking to a woman who shared with me her new way to remember things in the morning. She teaches full-time and will often forget some of her most important things to do daily. I thought I would try this.

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, and speaking of a doctor, take your essiac for your immune system, you see.

Blood sugar is important to check, then boil water for coffee or tea.

Coffee, decaffeinated coffee, or tea for me.

Drink lots and lots of water and you will have to pee.

Essiac is essential to take every morning on an empty stomach with a heart pill that I take on an empty stomach also.

Fish, eat fish twice a week. Eat less fried foods and so.

Gratitude lists written or spoken daily. It helps with self-pity woe.

Heart medicine — the rest should be taken right after breakfast, you know.

Indigenous reminders daily. Bravery, honesty, humility, love, respect, truth, and wisdom.

Jewelry. Put your wedding ring on or you will get hit on by some.

Kindness. Be kind and loving each day.

Love everyone. Remember you don’t have to like everyone, just love them today.

Mind your own business. Monkey business is not mine on Sunday.

Now how will I remember this everyday?

Oh well, I can try and then let it fly on somedays.

Perfectionism. Let that go. No one is perfect and besides that, we have to make it imperfect in the culture on days it is just too close to call. Those darn days.

Questions? I have too many of those. Good thing there is Bing. Google and all the others I sing!

Recycle, reuse, and repurpose. Rings, remember those rings. I just love my ring.

Stay in the moment. How are you doing right now? Who are you with right now? Let’s whistle and sing a song.

Tough. It takes a lot of strength to live this long.

Understand that you may have to change your diet and get more exercise to stay strong.

Victory over health problems. We can beat this. It’s the We’s that help me and I’m not wrong.

Writing every day is important. The We’s fight addiction and everything else together! No matter the weather.

Xtra Large is the size for wearing the leather. I will use my phone to connect to my computer or tether.

You and me Hubby, today, tomorrow, and always! Never too busy for you or this long rhyme.

Zoo. I have been thinking about a time at the zoo, it will have to happen some other time.

~

The Hubby I ruled out before I started this as he only reminds me of something if it is important to him. He reminded me of the fuel bill yesterday as it is something he keeps track of for the household.

The abecedarian is too long, and I will never remember all of that, it is too tough to hold.

I already know the refrigerator note doesn’t work. It is tough to use any of these methods or to be sold.

Any other help out there or is it just that nothing will work as I am too old?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Published first by Mercury Press on medium.com

PoetryMemoirAutobiography

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Darkos9 months ago

    Fantastic It was great to read You I was just today thinking about the time in the zoo strangely as I havent been in one since two years or so many things to remember Some say when Your heart need it it will remember the most important one during a day :) Wishing You well !

  • That woman is a genius for coming up with that Abecedarian! But yes, it is way too long. But unfortunately, I have no suggestions, lol. My memory is very bad too 🤣🤣🤣

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.