Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 12: Home Sweet Home

By Michelle HillPublished 4 months ago 6 min read
Like

Chapter 12: Home Sweet Home

It was close to dinner time when we finally arrived at, I guess you could say palace or big ass manison. Either way, it's old money that just kept growning and still grows to this day. My father was smart on investing with the right people. He was always careful. Growing up, yes we would all get money once a month. I was smart and listened to my father's advice and of course I've been doing well. My brother on the other hand would spend it as soon as he received it.

My sisters would put away some and spend some. They were smart too. From what Jade tells me they still live on the estate in our family homes. You ever seen those movies and TV shows that take place around the 1800s? You know the ones that show off these amazing homes, so big, with those big rooms for everything.

Let's just say we live in one of those types of homes. The same home we have been in for 300 years. Haley was already in awe as we were driving through the archway trees. The changing of the leaves haves started and of course that means we take down our wards soon.

I know I mentioned we do it every now and then. But Halloween has always been the night we let down the wards to celebrate. The one time we don't have to hide in the shadows and we host a party. I just hope my mother doesn't announce anything with Haley. I should warn her.

I really should.

"This is your home?!" Haley said with exciment. I smile seeing her eyes light up as we approached my home. I honestly can't not describe it to you. Like I said just picture those movies and TV shows that take place in the 1800s in England. Pretty much like what you see in the Jane Austen adaptations.

I look at Haley and took her hand in mine, "Meet me tonight around midnight. I need to tell you something more about my mother." I tell her softly and she gives me a confused look.

Before she could ask why someone opened the door. She looks at the person then back at me as my door opened too. I nod at her as if to tell her it's okay. We stepped out and I look at the steps and shake my head.

"Of course she did." I say under my breath as I look at the steps to the my home. The servants were lined up waiting for us. Mom always did this when important people were coming. She's a fan of Jane Austen, well the adaptations really. I just hope she hasn't changed my room.

I walk around the car to meet Haley and I take her hand. She tightens her grip and takes her other hand and covers both the of ours.

"You okay?" I whisper looking down at her.

"I'm not sure. I'm so underdress for this. I feel like I'm in one of those movies." She says looking at her outfit, jeans, Vans, and a beige sweater.

I kiss the top of her head and smile, "You look perfect. Remember to meet me tonight. I have to talk to you about something." She looks up at me and smiles. I give her a reassuring smile back and we start to make our way to the entrance.

We were greeted by the servants with small bows and Haley looked at me, "Just smile and nod, you don't need to curtsey." I softly tell her.

We make it pass the steps as the grand doors opened for us and there I see my mother and two sisters waiting for me. It didn't take long for my sisters to nearly knock me over and I had to let go of Haley's hands. I didn't want to. Once their assault was over, they both turned to Haley and attacked her with hugs as well.

They started all at once and whisked Haley off to show her around. She looks back at me with worried eyes but I just gave her a soft nod. I knew they were going to do this. That I didn't warn her about.

I turn my head and see my mother. Just as I pictured her. She hasn't changed. Black pant-suite with a white blouse underneath. Her black hair in a tight bun. Her brown eyes burning into my blue ones. Her brown skin still as fair as I remember.

Oh yeah forgot to mention I'm kind of half and half. I'll let you guess what I am mixed of.

I walk up to her and give her a bow. Not a hug but a bow. Remember she's not one for emotions.

"Mother, it has been too long." I say as I raise back up and put my hands behind my back.

"It has. You have much to do. Since you've been gone I have been ruling in your name of course." She states matter of factly.

"I thank you for that. I also thank you for letting me go to find her." I say keeping my voice steady.

"I will make an annoucement at our Halloween ball this year. Now come, I will show you the office and your new bedroom." She starts to lead me up the grand staircase.

Not much has changed since I left. Our portraits were still up. Yeah we still do paintings. Still old old school like that. I mean we do have pictures here and there, but my mom doesn't really like change.

"What is her name?" She asks breaking the silence.

"Haley. I found her about four years ago. We left in haste, Michael's men found me." I tell her and she stops and turns to look at me.

"How did he find you? I couldn't even find you." She asks and I saw a little bit of concern on her face.

"I don't know. But what matters is Haley is safe." I take a step closer to my mom. "Haley's mom is compromised. I already put men on her. Do not let this cloud you judgement of Haley. She doesn't know what her mom has done. Jade made sure we weren't followed." I explained.

She nodded. I knew she was thinking of the next move. That's what she does. Without another word she starts to walk again I follow her. I won't have time to rest. She would want me to start my training to be King as soon as I wake up tomorrow.

I'm have to be ready for this. I have no choice.

"

Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.