Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 11: Peace Before The Storm

By Michelle HillPublished 4 months ago 6 min read
Like

Chapter 11: Peace Before The Storm

I was shaken awake by Jade. I jumped with a start and he told me to calm down. I straighten up in my seat and look out the window. It was just before sunrise.

"We have to go." Jade says in his straight forward voice. I nodded and undid my seatbelt. I look to my left and didn't see Haley. I stretched, not realizing I needed it, you ever just have that good stretch? Man! Let me tell you how good it feels to stretch after seating for so long. Especially after seating for so long. I honestly can't remember when I fell asleep.

Last thing I remember was making sure Haley was comfortable, and then I looked out the window. I saw nothing but a few stars, and the dark ocean below. I was always curious about the ocean below especially at night. It was just so mysterious.

Okay, wait, getting off track. Sorry, I tend to do that a lot. I don't have a one track mind. Back to it.

I exit the plane and I see Haley at the bottom of the steps. I smile and slighty shiver at the morining cool air. I rub my hands together in front of me as I take the steps down to her.

"Good morning," I tell her softly and she smiles at me. I swear, that smile gets me every time. Just her. I mean, I honestly, I wouldn't mind waking up to her every day for an eternity.

"Good morning," she responds back. I pause for a moment to put my arm around her shoulders and she nods. I pull her close to give her some of my warmth. Yes we vampires are warm okay? Leave it alone this is my telling of a vamipre.

We make our way to the car. I can't believe I'm back home. It's been too long. I hope my mother doesn't make a spectial of things today. I could use like actual rest. I am pretty sure they kept my room up. Or maybe they might have moved me to another room, since I am to claim the crown.

Haley went into the car first and I followed. Of course Jade was driving. I was actually surprised he had the stamina for it. It was about a four hour drive to our home. It was deep in the country. Like I said we like to stay hidden in plain sight. The human eye can't see our palace, of course. Unless we want you to see.

Every now and then we do take down our wards just for fun, but we don't make a habit of it. We have to keep to the shadows as they say. I mean, the world kind of already thinks we exist, and there are a few hundred or so humans that think they are vampires.

To each their own though, everyone has a right to be who they want to be. Over the years the lore just keeps changing and we do try to keep up.

I had to warn Haley about my family. But how do I start this conversation? I don't know if they've changed, or if they stayed the same. We all know my brother wants me dead. My two sisters always competed with each other. They're married now, but not sure who their husbands are. My mother. Good lord my mother; overbearing and overprotective. She was one of the reasons I left.

She never showed any emotions at all. Not even when I was a child. I mean, I kind of get it. Her marriage was arranged by my grandparents. Quick note my grandparents died before I turned. I think I was about maybe ten when they passed within months of each other.

Okay getting off track again. My family history is another story so is my sire. Yes, I was turned first, but I was only fourteen when it happened. Damn it. Okay back to the present.

I watched as Jade turned on to the freeway and then I looked at Haley. I cleared my throat and she looked at me.

"So, I know we didn't have the chance to go through my family history. Nor did we talk about how my family is. But I am willing to answer any questions you have about them." I told her in all honesty. I vowed to her back in the hotel that I would never lie to her.

She took my hand in hers and intertwined our fingers. "What's your mom like?" She asked point blank. She would start with a question I did not want to answer.

I adjusted myself in my seat and fully turned to look at her. I thought for a moment trying to find the words to say. "I'll just give you the short version. She's hard but fair. Never really showed emotion to her children. She's always been about the kingdom and what was best. She never liked any girl I brought to seek approval. But with you it's a different story. We learned about soul mates ten years after we all turned. Father found out his wasn't my mother and my mother the same, but they stayed together.

I guess the rings around their fingers actually did mean something." I took a breath. Sometimes I wish my father was still around. He would know what to do in this situation. I looked down at our hands and smile. I placed my other hand on top of hers and I could feel her give me a small squeeze in the other.

"You must know for the first couple of weeks my mother is going to have me do a lot of things to prepare to take the throne. She's also going to want to arrange the wedding as well." I should not have said that last part.

"Wait, wait, wait, wedding? Hold up!" Haley said letting go of my hands.

I sighed, "It's not going to be right away I promise. We go at your pace. When you're ready. Do not let my mother bully you into a hasty wedding. You're what? Twenty six? If you want we can date, get to know each other more, move in together, then, get engaged. We don't have to rush this."

She looked at me and nodded. I could tell she was scared. I mean I just did take her away from her everything she knew.

"Let's just take it slow. I don't mind sleeping in my own room or however you have it set up. We need to date-"

"Court." I said not meaning to stop her sentence.

"I'm sorry?"

I sigh, "We court, it's like dating, but I'll show you a few shows and movies about it. The century I grew up in we did that. It's like dating but different." I say with a small cringe.

She smiled and shook her head, "Whatever you call it, I'm just glad it's you."

I take her hand in mine and kiss the back of it. "I can't wait to see where this goes."

She moves closer to me and I put my arm around. For the rest of the car ride we just sat in silence. No need to talk. It was comfortable and refreshing.

In a few hours this silence will be gone.

RomanceFiction
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.