Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 14: Dinner Talk?

By Michelle HillPublished 12 days ago 6 min read
Like

Chapter 14: Dinner Talk?

There she was just looking absolutely breathtaking. She wore a simple dark blue dress, with a small slight for her slightly tan legs to walk through. It was strapless and did have a small sparkle about it. Her auburn hair was slightly curled and she wore very light makeup. She definitely stood out and I was just blown away.

Out of the corner or my eye I saw Dante trying to make a move towards her but I was faster. I smiled at her but she wouldn't meet my eyes. I put my finger under her chin and gently raised her head up to look at me.

"Hey, you look beautiful." I whisper to her.

She gives me a soft smile and says, "You think so? It's not too much is it? Cora said you all dress up for dinner and also I needed to make a good impression on your mom."

I nod, "I understand, I have you sitting next to me. So I'll be with you the entire time. I should also mention my ex-girlfriend is here. My mother invited her. She was the last girl I was with before I met you." I wanted to be completely honest with her.

"Just be honest with her. She's going to be ask you hard questions no doubt. She'll know when you're lying. I should have told you this but your mom was paid off my brother and she's a spy." I told her.

"What?!"

"Shhh. Shhh. She'll ask you about that. Just wanted to give you heads up." I tell her quickly.

"Alexander! Dinner is ready to be served!" I hear my mother say. I give Haley a brief kiss and take her hand.

"I got you." I whisper and I lead her to her seat. I look at everyone and my mother nods. Not gonna lie I thought my mom was gonna switch Haley and Savannah. Trust me if my heart was still beating it would have stopped in that moment when I pulled the chair our for Haley.

I waited until everyone was seated and I sat myself. I let out a small breath hoping tonight's dinner will be fine. But I know that it wouldn't. I brefiely told Haley how dinner goes. It was, if I remember a five course meal. Two small courses, palate cleanse, main meal, then dessert.

The first course barley hit the table when my mother spoke up, "Haley, before my son took you away, what did you do for a living?"

I almost choked on my drink but I kept it subtle. She came straightout of the gate. Haley looks at me and I give her a small smile and a wink.

She looked down at her lap looking for the right words to say. She took a breath and raised her head up and looked at my mother, "I was a junior editor at a publishing company."

"Oh? Which company? We do own a few publishing houses."

Haley wiped her mouth, "Hollow's. Actually Alex worked in the mail room there for a couple of years." She said looking at me and I tried to hide my panic look.

I could see her disappointment, "Alexander, does always seem to want to work a commoner's job. Ever since he was a child."

There it is. Gunshot number one.

"Even when we were dating Alexander needed some mundane job to escape his royal duties." Savannah pitched in.

Gunshot number two.

"Haley, tell me, what college did you go to?" My mother still on her interrogation of her.

"I started at a community college back home, then I transferred to the University of Michigan. It took a while but I finally graduate. I had to take a year off since I couldn't afford it on my own." She explained as our first dishes were taken away.

We paused as the second course was put in front of us. My drink gets refilled, because I'm trying to hide my little smiles when Haley starts to talk.

"What was your job during that year?" My mother asked.

"I was a server and a bartender at the time. Working in a college town, especially during game day made a lot of good money." Haley said honestly.

My mom just nodded. Finally a small break from the questions.

"Alexander."

I spoke too soon, when I looked up and saw Dante looking up at me.

"So how did you take Haley and what was her reaction?" He asked smirking and gave a wink to Haley.

I clenched my jaw and looked at Haley. I reached over and took her hand, "I didn't take her right away. I waited. I mean in this day and age you can't just take a girl without it being all over the news within hours." I gave Haley's a small squeeze and I looked at her.

"I wanted to wait until she was ready. I just couldn't take her away from her life overnight. So I waited. Then, Jade came to me one night." I turned to look at my mother.

"You sent for him. Told me that I was gone for too long. But I wanted to wait. It just so happened my brother's men found us. So I had to speed up the process. We got her out. The next day I told her everything. I also told her when she was ready I would take her away." I turn back at Haley and I could feel her squeeze my hand.

I could feel everyone's eyes on me. I shut out all their thoughts but Haley's. I don't invade her mind. She needs her privacy. Only when she wants to open up to me, but I will also ask her permission first.

"You've always been the sensitive one. Always let your emotions lead instead of using your head." My mother said

Gunshot number three.

"I actually liked what he did. Sure I woke up somewhere else, but he explained everything to me and was open, honest, and really cared about my well-being. He never once pressured me to come here. He told me once I was ready to let him know. I know I still have a lot to learn about your culture and your traditions, but Alex has been nothing but a gentleman." Haley said with such passion. I looked at her and kissed her hand, then I looked up at my mother and she had a look I never seen before.

I can't describe it. It's like she's never had anyone talk back to her like that before.

The dishes from our second course was taken away and our palate cleanser came next. I explained to Haley to take small bites, and just let it sit on her tongue for a bit.

"It's quite ironic that you both worked at Hollow's. We do own that company." My mother said breaking the silence.

"Since when?" I asked looking at her with a confused look.

"About ten years ago. Krystal is in charge of the all the Hollow's in America. She visits the New York location from time to time." Mother explained.

Krystal nodded, "I did see you a few times Alexander. But I knew you were on a mission."

I lean back in my chair still trying to figure out what just happened.

RomanceFiction
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.