Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 13: So It Starts

By Michelle HillPublished 2 months ago 6 min read
1

Chapter 13: So It Starts

"I'm moving into your room?" I asked at my mom opened the door to the bedroom.

"No, your father's room. Well, our room. The bedsheets have been changed and when Haley is ready she will join you. I have set up in your old room. You're the King now. Tomorrow we will discuss the matters of the kingdom and start your training." She explained. I wanted to say I had a long journey and I need rest.

But instead I said, "Of course. I'll get settled and meet you for dinner." I give her a small bow and she does the same. She starts to turn but halts and tells me, "Dante and Savannah will be joining us for dinner."

I turn to her sharply, "Why would you invite them?!" I say raising my voice.

"He is your sire after all and I think he has a right to know you are back. Savannah is not his soulmate, but he is having fun with her. He's also been with me every day since your absence. I feel it only right to invite them. Once you're crowned you'll be able to invite whom ever you want. But as of now I still run things in this household." She stood straight up and took a step towards me.

I, of course cowered in her presence like I always do. I keep telling myself one day I'm going to stand up to her. Why am I still afraid of her? Ever since I was a child I've been afraid of her. I think I need thereapy. In her culture mental illness does not exist. I will one day stand up to her. This is my mother everyone.

"Savannah is not to say an ill word to Haley. Haley is to sit next to me. You and I at the heads, Dante and Savannah next to you. That is how I want the seating to be done." I tell her straightening up.

She nods, "I will arrange it. I do sometimes wish you and Savannah worked out. She was a good match." She tells me. I try not to roll my eyes and gave her another small bow. She does the same and finally leaves the room.

I take a look around. Of course this room is modernized for this age. TV, my gaming consoles ready to go. The room was gutted of anything of my father's expect for one thing. I walk over to one of the closets and open it.

Turning on light I smile. There it was. My dad's gun's safe. No one knew the combination, but me. Looking at it I can tell people have been have been trying to pry it open. But without success. This would have to wait. I have to get ready for dinner.

Doesn't take long for me to get ready for dinner. A quick shower and well I did my hair. Okay I need a hair cut. My last haircut was about four years ago. I make a note to myself to go into town tomorrow to get my haircut. Until think I pull it back into a small ponytail. Not too high, a little low. Of course I shave, been getting a little stubble the last couple of weeks.

I pick a nice white button shirt along with my black dress pants. Together with a brown belt and my black dress shoes. This was just a casual family dinner and honestly this is how I used to dress. I kind of miss it. Hopefully my sisters didn't over dress Haley. I just hope Savannah doesn't say anything about our past.

Cologne, and I hear a knock at my door. They come in and tell me that dinner is almost ready and everyone is make their way down. I smile knowing that voice.

"It's good to see too George." I turn around with a smile seeing my steward. He has gotten older since I've seen him last. He was mere thirty when I last saw him. Now, he is an older wiser man. But still had the kindest hazel eyes.

He smiles as I rush up to him giving my old friend a tight embrace. We let go and holds me at arm's length to get a good look at me.

He sighs, "Still the strong boy I remember. But in a few weeks time you will be a man. We have much to catch up on, but now we have to get you to dinner." He tells me and I nod. I let out a deep breath ready to face what's about to come.

I follow George out of my room, and we start to make small talk. Thirty years away from him was a long time. He was like a second father to me. Days when my parents wanted more from me and I couldn't do it. He was there. I ask about his family, and he asks about my adventures.

It wasn't too long until we reached the dining room. I thanked George and walked into the room. I smiled greeting my sisters. The two were all smiles asking me about Haley. I tell them I'm still getting to know her. We're going to take it slow. I'm warning her tonight about my mother's announcement on Halloween.

Oh yeah, I guess I should tell you what my sisters look like. They both have my mom's complex. Cora has same eyes as me, blue, Krystal has my mom's brown. Of course we all have black hair, but when the sun hits just right you can see some brown that comes out. It really does highlight our hair.

Both were wearing simple solid color dresses. Cora's red, and Krystal's a light shade of blue. It was good to see them after all this time. They both said their husbands were on their way back from Thailand with my nieces and nephews. Yes, we can have children too. I will explain another day.

The doors opened and came in Dante with Savannah. Of course the two had to show off. Dante in his three piece black suite, and Savannah wearing her 'little black dress.' My sisters just rolled their eyes and Krystal whispers to me, "Haley is much better looking." I smile and nod.

Give you an idea of what Dante looks like, let's see here; picture young James Dean but with tattoos and hair not really gelled. As for Savannah I would say a mix of Natalie Portman, and Emily Blunt. I mean I don't know how else to describe her.

The doors opened again and my mother comes waltzing in. Well not waltzing. You know what I mean. Has to take command of the room. We all bow as she walks to take her seat at the head of the table. She looks around and motions for us to take our seats.

"Where's Haley?" I ask Cora.

"She'll be here. I told George to bring her right when we're about to take a seat." She tells me. I can already tell my Mother was annoyed at her being late. The doors opened and we all turn to see Haley. Boy did I lose my breath.

Fiction
1

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.