Chapters logo

Becoming A Business Analyst

One day or day one. You decide.

By Fiona Teddy-JimohPublished 3 years ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
6
Photo by Matei Pruteanu (Unsplash)

You may have heard of a Business Analyst in the past, or at the very least seen the concept of business analysis happen around you. Business Analysts are individuals who identify complex business problems, and use a range of innovative techniques in order to gather requirements, analyse, and create the blueprint for developers to build.

Ok, but who are YOU?

I’m Fiona Teddy-Jimoh and I’m a passionate Business Analyst.

It’s circa 2017 in the world of recruitment and I’m working through a list of potential software engineer candidates that could be potential matches for IT roles. Colleagues around me are smiling, busy on the phones winning clients and closing job offers.

Everyone except me.

They make it look so easy while I constantly have my manager put me down because I’ve yet to make a single close since starting five months ago.

However, I’ve made peace with my situation - I’m terrible at this job.

I’m not terrible because of my lack of technical knowledge. After all, I’m fascinated with how you can build a mechanical brain that translates a bunch of zeros and ones into the most magical hardware, software, websites, and more. I’m terrible because something about this role is lacking...

Passion.

That never-ending, hair-raising, heart-pounding, thrilling acceleration of passion that forces you into fifth gear every single day. That passion that makes you want to learn everything there is to know about the role you work in. That passion that greets you when you wake up and gets you excited to progress in your career.

As I sit and fail at my recruitment role, I realize that I don’t want to just offer IT jobs, I want to be at the forefront of the technological revolution - leading the cause to a brighter tomorrow, today.

Dejected, I finish for the day and weave my way through the busy streets of central London. I’m close to the underground station and pass a small postcard stall -- the same postcard stall I see day in and day out. However, something about this occasion is different. I notice a postcard that immediately resonates with the very depths of my soul.

One day or day one. You decide.

Something about the simple word play resonated so deeply and before I knew it I was the proud owner of this card. I feel happy and determined, even though I don’t know what goal this mantra is referring to - yet.

It’s the next day. With postcard in bag I commute to work.

Later, I overhear a colleague’s phone conversation with a candidate. He’s talking about some Business Analyst role. I’ve never heard of this type of role before. He finishes his conversation and I ask him about it.

He shrugs and says, “it’s an individual who bridges the gap between business and technology.”

Cheers for the vagueness.

I finish for the day (again) and weave my way through the busy streets of central London (again). Something about the role Business Analyst ignites my curiosity. Once home, I rush to my bedroom, pull out my postcard and stare at it.

I smile.

I place the postcard on the bed, go to my desk, reach for my laptop, and do some research:

A business analyst is an advisor. [Business Analysts] advises business decision makers about potential changes or improvements to business IT systems and processes which align with the needs of the business.

- What is a Business Analyst (BA)? Knowledge Train.

There are limitations when it comes to the English language attempts to express emotions.

Love is one of them.

The feeling of knowing that everything has suddenly fallen into place is another.

I research everything I can about Business Analysts. I research typical roles and responsibilities, level of education and qualifications required, how no two days are the same, and personal testimonies from businesses that benefited from having competent Business Analysts. I research until the early hours of the morning, sign myself up for online courses, and apply for Business Analyst apprenticeship roles.

Finally, I retire to my bed and spot my postcard.

You can probably guess that there's a pattern forming here.

One day or day one. You decide.

I know what I must do, as reckless at it sounds.

It’s the next day and it feels like the end of the repetition rut cycle. I walk past my desk and straight into my manager’s office. I’m too fired up to even take a seat. I look at my manager with such confidence and resolve and say,

“I quit.”

Business
6

About the Creator

Fiona Teddy-Jimoh

Finding innovative ways to connect creative writing with technology in order to deliver an immersive digital experience.

My name is Fiona Teddy-Jimoh and welcome to my world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.