Chapters logo

A Widow's Walk

Broken Parts and Ghost Hearts

By Lynn JordanPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - September 2023
28
A Widow's Walk
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

When I was 42, my first husband died. At that point, I had been with him for half my life. I met him at 18 when I was still living with my family; we married. So, I had never lived alone.

His passing was emotionally and financially devastating, and I decided to move to Georgia for the affordability. Leaving my family and friends was hard, but I felt I needed that time and space to do some much-needed self-work. While part of me enjoyed my new life of freedom and autonomy, I missed being married.

Three years after my first hubby’s passing, I met Ox. He was born on March 17th, St. Patrick’s Day. He loved that such a festive day was his birthday and would dye his gray beard green and wear a big, goofy green felt hat. He convinced me to marry him and move to South Carolina within a year. I was happy and in love, so I did.

I am a steady person who dislikes inconsistencies and surprises, and he was full of those. I was never spontaneous and had specific standards regarding where I went and where I ate. He would think nothing of coaxing me onto his motorcycle at any given moment to drive to some dive restaurant he knew I would never consider entering otherwise. I was self-conscious, wound tight, and would speak cautiously in public. He would walk around the house nude, was up for anything, and would make political remarks to strangers. A cheerful conversation over an Ohio State jacket or hat would devolve into him poking fun at the person if they weren’t from the same town in Ohio (and good Lord, don’t be from Cleveland). It was like living with Sophia from The Golden Girls - you never knew what would fly out of his mouth. He would say that he admired my ability to remain calm, get along, and my intellect, but I was envious of his confidence and ease.

The “opposites attract” thing did work for us most of the time, and we both grew as people from being in love. He got better at “reining it in,” and I got better at going with the flow and not overthinking everything. We shared experiences that the other would never have had. But he wasn’t used to being challenged and didn’t always handle it well, and I grew weary of the “teachable moments” because he was a White guy from Ohio and I was a Black woman from New York. There were things we agreed on politically and discussed many issues at length, making each other think, calling each other out on our BS, and not letting dumb or mean comments slide. We respected each other for that. But there were other times when he would point out my bougie-ness, and I would stare at him in disbelief for some comment devoid of experience or truth.

In early 2021, we separated. We eventually worked through our issues, and each did the self-work because we loved each other. In October, his relentless efforts to get us back together under the same roof paid off when we found a house to rent back in Georgia. We moved in at the end of October 2021. We planned to lease a little bit and then buy a home.

Things were great! We were happy, getting into a groove with our new jobs and a nice house in a lovely neighborhood. He had made friends with the neighbors without effort. At the same time, I enjoyed making the house our home, fussing over him and our two dogs, and planning out our finances to start looking for that perfect home where we would live out the rest of our lives together, start that business, build that homestead.

But his heart was giving out, and there were three trips to the hospital. He would not call 911; he always insisted I drive him. The third drive to the hospital was quiet. After he was admitted and I could see him, he said, “So. You have to go through this all over again.” I was dumbfounded. My self-control crumbled, and I burst into tears. All I was thinking about was him. And all he was thinking about was me.

It got to the point where the machines were only keeping him alive for that last heart attack. That was not how his daughter and I wanted him to go out, so we watched them disconnect him from machine after machine until he was gone.

It was on his birthday, March 17th.

I had to move again, downsizing to a house in a transitional neighborhood that needs work and farther than I’d like from my family and friends, even farther from our friends in South Carolina, and farther still from New York. I have our two dogs and my sanity, but there are days when the struggle is definitely real. However, I have been blessed with a fantastic support system that I am thankful for daily. They helped me through the passing of my first husband and are here for me again.

Many widows have been through a helluva lot more than I have, maybe with kids and not the same resources. I made out okay. It isn’t easy or pretty, but I’ll be okay. I don’t wear my widowhood as a badge or use it for sympathy. I wear my widowhood with gratitude. Gratitude that I found love twice. Of the amazing people and experiences I have had, the rollercoaster of emotions that taught me so much about life. It all made me realize I still have self-work to do, but I’m pretty goddamn awesome and a better person for having been a wife to two amazing, unique men.

Marriage is not for the weak. I will never marry again, mainly because I’m over it, but also because if I lose another…that may end me…if I don’t get investigated first.

I now face October - the month I first got married and when I reunited with my second husband. Not sure how that will go. It was my favorite month; I hope it will remain so. I will take time to write, plan, figure it out all over again, and create a life for myself full of happiness and peace.

They both would want that for me.

By Elias Maurer on Unsplash

RomanceNonfictionMemoirAutobiography
28

About the Creator

Lynn Jordan

Gen X writer of published music reviews now putting my fiction, non-fiction & the occasional poem out there. Every piece I write, regardless of genre, is a challenge accepted, and crafted with care and love. Sit a spell & enjoy!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Scott Christenson7 months ago

    What a tough journey, thanks for being so open and trying to keep up your spirits through it all. This really well written and felt so vivid. I'm on my second marriage and relate to a lot of the opposites attracts excitement and challenges.

  • Terri Lynn7 months ago

    More like this please!

  • Lost in Writing7 months ago

    Thanks for sharing this moving story, sorry for your loses. But as you put it, marriage requires working on it so it isn't for everybody. Personally, I got married for the first and only time when I was 50 years old 😮.

  • Catherine Nyomenda8 months ago

    This story evoked sad emotions in me. I'm sorry for what you've had to go through. It's a well-written story.

  • Nora Ariana8 months ago

    So sorry for your loss hope you are doing better

  • Javel samuels8 months ago

    Sorry for your losses but does go on despite all that.

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Inspiring story! Congratulations for TS!

  • Test8 months ago

    Excellent!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!♥️♥️💕

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Never give up on hope, you seem to a strong person. Go and enjoy your life as best you can. congratulations on top story

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    I admire the spirit that shines through in this! Congratulations on that and your Top Story!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Congratulations onTop Story!!! Your Chapters Story is heartbreaking and inspirational!! ♥️♥️💕

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    Resilience through telling your story, despite unfathomable pain, is deserving of honor. My heart breaks for you and your life experiences yet I am encouraged by your strength of purpose. 🥰

  • Susanna Kiernan8 months ago

    I am so sorry for both of your losses. Can only imagine how painful that must be to experience. So very glad that you have a good support system. Wishing you all the best.

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    I'm really sorry you went through all of that. Painful doesn't even describe the emotional roller coaster you had to ride. My 1st left me with two young sons (for a 19-year old). I eventually remarried and now, after 30 years, he's been diagnosed with severe COPD and a thoracic aorta aneurysm. We'll know this week if it's big enough for surgery. Your story reminds me that life does go on and we should all live every second of it. Thank you for sharing.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Sad. Sorry that happened. Least you reunited with someone. Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.