BookClub logo

To Be Read List

Novels

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished 10 months ago 3 min read

So as a former book kid I have lost that attention span as an adult. The ability to devour a book in a single season is beyond gone, but I have been trying to build it back up this year. And I am nearly back to normal, having read about 15 books this year already. And now we are entering prime reading season with the fall and winter coming. I have a lot of books that are already started so really this fall is just going to be about how many books can I finish in two months. So here we go with my current fall to be read list. Most of these are fantasy books but I tried to include some scary and cozy vibes on here as well. I like a well rounded to be read list.

Starting with the Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin. For serious this will probably be the first book I finish if for no other reason than I actually started it earlier in the year and I am already a third of the way through it. That said it is part of a trilogy and I am in danger of having to buy more books if I do finish it. That said I do really like the story so far I just have the attention span of a gnat.

Next up we have Plain Bad Heroines by Emily M. Danforth. I intended for this to be a beach read this summer but it most definitely was not that vibe so I am exactly 3 chapters into it and needed to wait for the temperature to drop outside before I could dive back in. So now that it's fall I will be getting back into this book that appears to be a very sad story about lesbians (I can’t wait).

Okay guys booktok got to me and I have started A Court of Thorns and Roses…see if I get too deep into this I am going to have to buy yet another whole series. I am only a few chapters into this one as well but I do already love it which is a little exasperating but here we go. Diving headfirst into another fantasy world that will become my whole personality.

The Lady and Her Monsters by Roseanne Montillo. This is a nonfiction book that breaks down the reality behind Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. I love this book for the spooky season because seriously, what is more Halloween spooky than a book about real life dissections and a discussion about the goth queen herself?

On the cozier side of things we have The Unfortunate Side Effects of Heartbreak and Magic by Breanne Randall. Now I follow the author on TikTok and I have been waiting for this book to be released for MONTHS now and I truly have never been so excited to read something. I am ready to get all curled up with some fuzzy blankets and let myself get lost in this cozy fantasy novel that will make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside instead of the books that destroy my soul. It will be a good reprieve from the rest of this list.

The Fellowship of Bakers and Magic by J. Penner. Now this book doesn’t even get released until November but I am so excited for it. This is going to be the most relaxing, cozy, sweet book to read this fall season and I can not wait for it to be released.

I’ve got a lot of reads to get through in just the next couple of months because we know December is going to bring an entirely new reading list. So let's see how much of this list I can get done in just the month of October and if any of you would like to join me on this reading journey you now have all the things I will be reading.

ClubRecommendationReading ListBook of the Month

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    I'll read them! Good luck!

Alexandrea CallaghanWritten by Alexandrea Callaghan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.