BookClub logo

Slay: The Ancestors Blessed Me With This Read

Slay is the inventive, colorful novel from Brittney Morris, and here's why you need to pick it up for yourself or your own little Kings and Queens in your life.

By Delise FantomePublished 10 months ago 10 min read
1

I started Slay at 9:00 in the evening. I read the last page at 11:45.

When I tell you . . . it has been years since I've read through a book that quickly, been so consumed by a story until I devoured it? I haven't read through a book in one complete sitting since Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I can count on one hand the number of books, as well, that have evoked such a visceral and real reaction from me as this book had, the kind that makes my chest tighten and heart flare with something sharp and a little painful for the characters. Included in that list of books to spark such a rare reaction is the aforementioned Harry Potter book, The Red Tent by Anita Diamant, and a book called The Sight by David Clement-Davies. A motley assembly, each with their own power to grab something within me in a strangling grip that compels me to push through the books just so I can know relief from the feeling.

Slay is about Kiera Johnson, a quiet, thoughtful senior who lives a sort of double life. By day she's a hard-working and intelligent student of Jefferson Academy, one of (eventually) four Black students in the campus alongside her younger sister Steph and boyfriend Malcolm. By night she's the developer, moderator, and overall High Queen of the underground MMORPG called Slay. She's worked hard for three years to keep these two parts of her life separate, mostly to keep the peace in her own life and yet have a space separate from the usually aggravating reality to be completely and utterly herself- an unapologetically Black Woman. However, surprising and upsetting events conspire to merge her real life and her virtual life, forcing her to take stock of her life and decide what she truly wants for herself.

It's a wonderful book, and I can't even tell you why exactly the tweet announcing its release date came across my timeline considering the book released nearly a year before, but I was very excited when it did. All I needed to hear was "Wakanda-based VR game" and all I needed to see was a Black girl on the cover. I don't often see books about gamer girls (that could just be me and my ineptitude in finding content, not a comment about the actual amount of books starring gamer girls), and less about Black gamers, so I was very excited to try and find out about this book. It took me a little while, what with COVID and not being able to justify frivolous spending, but I finally got my book about three weeks ago.

The most interesting surprise for me was how every so often a chapter would veer away from Kiera and focus on another character entirely, either one that had been previously hinted at in Kiera's life or just someone who truly enjoyed Slay and offered a fresh new view on what it meant to them. I won't go on and gab about all the characters you'll read about, but one constant character whose story we follow along with is the other moderator of the game, Claire from Paris. Claire's story is heartbreaking even as it is powerful, with reminders of how tough it can be, to be overlooked or seen as an "other" in your own home. Still, I loved reading about her due to how different her life was from Kiera, and yet how similar her desire to protect Slay was. Kiera was a joy to read and cheer for- though I'm going to admit that I think I more personally related to her sister Steph, ha- and I appreciated her quiet passion for creating safe spaces for Black people in a world that can be especially hard on us.

The game itself is something that I fervently wish I had in the real world, not only because it sounds like a great thing to be a part of but also because I wouldn't mind at all learning more about Black cultures and history. Seriously, those cards in the game encompass so many different aspects of Black culture; popular dances like the Nene and Thriller, to incredibly important Black figures like Satchmo and Gabby Douglas, and even Black Jesus and Anansi cards. I was a little confused at the explanations of each pop culture card but did figure out eventually that not everyone who reads this book would know every little nod to pop culture because . . . a good number of the cards are of things that might only make sense to African-Americans, and not all Black people (like That One Auntie's Potato Salad). Kiera's struggles throughout the book are universal, I think, to a lot of people and not even just young people. There's no age limit for feeling lost in this world, or like you're besieged at all sides by aggression. Nor is there one solid, correct answer to the problems we face- which is what I really liked about Morris' narration, as she offers some of the nuances of the problems Kiera faces as a Black woman and as a person trying to figure out their life when they had previously believed it was already figured out.

Slay had a lot of twists and gave me no shortage of moments where my chest would tighten or a lump would settle low in my throat. From Kiera questioning her previously solid path in life after graduation, to dealing with her once safe and beautiful virtual world being trampled on by a black-hearted gamer, and then even to It was so . . . so, utterly familiar and yet fresh! It was what I was needing right about now when I've found myself sort of listlessly perusing the shelves with what seems like hundreds of copies of the same old story every time I take a trip to the bookstore. I don't want to spoil the story for you, though! All in all I give this book a 4.5 out of 5, and also would like to put out to Ms. Morris that she please create a laminated set of those playing cards please. A fantastic debut novel, and I'm certainly eager to see if more will be coming from Ms. Morris, especially if it's more Black gaming goodness. For those who might be interested, if you go to the website (link embedded for your convenience) for the book you can also check out the adorable illustrations for the Slay playing cards, and even get to play a simpler version of the game yourself!

Spoiler Alert Ahead!

Okay now this section of the article is only for those who have read the book and want all my little observations that I just can't keep to myself! If you haven't read the book I strongly encourage you to stop! Buy the book! Support the author and read that wonderful story for yourself! LAST WARNING.

....

Y'all still here?

Alright let's get started.

First of all? It was awful of me, I freely admit it, but I developed a dislike for Malcolm very early on. Not, like, an intense dislike but I had this distinct feeling that he was modeled after some stereotypes of a "hotep." This isn't to say that all pro-Black people are hoteps, just that it was the vibe I was getting from the character. Which I have to wonder if that was intentional on Morris' part in order to have the reader take stock of their reaction to Malcolm and question why that reaction was so sudden. I mean for at least half the book Kiera's viewpoint on Malcolm was affectionate and patient even in his moments of, ah, impolite wording. I don't have the patience Kiera does nor the character purposed affection so Malcolm was straight up foolish (tomfoolin', if I can be so cheesy) in my eyes. When bro said, "You bed' not be pregnant,"

Sir.

The feeling was definitely vindicated later on in the book, but I did have to take a step back and acknowledge my unfair assessment of him, when for all I knew based on Kiera's narrative he was a good boyfriend.

It also felt like the relationship between him and Kiera wasn't very equal, with her having to hide her involvement and love for Slay. As soon as she decided she wouldn't be telling Malcolm about Spellman I just knew there was going to be something off about the relationship, but hell even I was surprised by just how sour things got. To have him be the troll, saying the things he did, be named after the slave Dred Scott, and eventually dox his own girlfriend?! Whoo . . . I felt like Morris had given me a solid jab to the solar plexus with that one. Despite my growing dislike for Malcolm through the course of the book I still felt sad at the end of it all, with him ending up betraying Kiera and getting arrested. I don't fault Morris for the route she decided to take, it is her story after all. Guess I'm just sad that the one Black boy in the story ended up like that- maybe other readers found themselves understanding Malcolm's viewpoints and therefore could be more sympathetic; his vehement denial of things created in a capitalist society ruled by white people is a viewpoint I've seen before on my forays through Twitter . . . even things created by Black people he wouldn't accept if they created them in the system ruled by white people . . . I didn't really understand that part but it isn't mad ramblings. He ended up being this elitist gatekeeper of Black people and their journeys to excellence and it was just sad to read. I don't care for romance aspects in books (you know, aro) but I'll freely admit to an ache in my own heart for Kiera's lost dream of living in a loving family with Malcolm.

Second, Claire! My super cool whiz-kid undergrad from the City of Love itself, Paris. She seemed immediately to me this sensitive, quiet genius and I always felt for her when someone in the story would question her and just automatically assume she wasn't French because she was Black. It was so natural for me to see her in my mind, this dark-skinned girl with a shaved head, perhaps plum colored lips (one of my favorite colors in purple and I kinda like the thought of her serving bold lip statements) and sensible sneakers with a cozy sweater . . . then to find out she's half white, half black! Her mother an Italian and slipping away while she is so far in France- ugh, my poor Claire . . . So then I had to rework my image of her because perhaps she inherited some features from her mother, yet her white Parisian counterparts always clocked her as "not white" and therefore "not French." Claire had her own problems in her family yet still tried to be there for Kiera, or as she knew her for the majority of the book, Emerald. I was so happy when she, Kiera, and Steph got to meet in person for the first time after all the mess with Dred was over.

Along that same line, I liked the of the alternating chapters that showed brief snippets into the lives of other Slay players. Jaylen's chapter was so brief but it was clear how much solace she found in the game, away from an intolerant world where she still had to kowtow to the gender norms perpetuated by her body. Add in that snippet of a bad home situation and I wish I had gotten one more chapter of Jaylen's, even though I knew one extra chapter was not going to make that story magically end well. Learning about Spade's real life was so cool as well! A CEO for VR tech who loved the game too, who felt peace and used it as a break from tough hours, and who would eventually lend a helping hand to our ladies. The way every character sort of connects to Kiera and Slay is remarkable, and definitely adds new dimensions to the book.

Kiera's childhood friends Harper and Wyatt are also interesting in how they present this mix of opposition and yet comfort . . . I wouldn't say they show solidarity to Kiera in her struggles because they don't know/care about the struggles she faces as being a minority in her school, her state, and her country. Harper is, as Kiera explains it, her best friend and someone she care about and yet she hardly ever really seems to talk with her? You do get a couple of heartfelt moments mainly which are Harper realizing she's being insensitive about some subject or berating her younger brother for being insensitive about a subject. However, I suppose she does solidly show that she tries her best to support Kiera and not end up being willfully ignorant to things that might hurt her best friend. Her brother Wyatt though, is truly a real pain. Which is very age typical for his character so, there's honestly not much to say about him considering he was talked about only a little and given a sort of teasing storyline that ended up being a smokescreen. I really, truly thought he was Dred! I did! Which was, again, my own biases working to make assumptions that went against reality, so egg on my face right. Still, I did not miss Wyatt's use of "I wouldn't have said some of the stuff I said" upon the reveal of Kiera as the creator of Slay. I took it as, he still meant it but he wouldn't have outright said it to Kiera. Maybe he even would have been a little softer on his stance considering he knew Kiera and knows she isn't what he had originally thought the previously mysterious Emerald was. What that truly means for their characters? I can only speculate. They were not the focus of the book and I am glad for that because I NEEDED every piece of info about Slay that I could get. I'm pretty sure that I'm going to need a sequel where they actually make a real live virtual reality game people can log on to as well. Blow Ready Player One out of the water.

Whew! Thanks for letting me get that off my chest. Man I really liked this book. I hope you did too, and you have some similar thoughts to what I had just written too. If you did, great! Let me know! If you didn't, even better! Tell me what else you noticed that I might have missed or glossed over, because I love to gab about a good book with people.

ReviewFictionDiscussionAnalysisliterature
1

About the Creator

Delise Fantome

I write about Halloween, music, movies, and more! Boba tea and cheesecake are my fuel. Let's talk about our favorite haunts and movies on Twitter @ThrillandFear

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.