BookClub logo

Review on a Tale of Intrigue & Obsession

Book Review

By StaringalePublished 17 days ago 2 min read
2
Review on a Tale of Intrigue & Obsession
Photo by Tomas Anton Escobar on Unsplash

Book Stats: The Girl on the Train, written by Paula Hawkins, was published in 2015.

Early one morning, with birds chirping and the streets quiet, I jogged my way to the library in the mood for some reading. I wondered what the librarian would suggest for me that day. Opening the door, I stepped into book heaven.

The librarian smiled knowingly and handed me a book. Taking the book, I found a seat by the window, feeling the light breeze of the crisp morning air adding to the reading experience.

Looking at the title, I speculated about the genre and concept of the book. The speculation that seemed most likely was that it was a whimsical story with a brief moment that had a powerful impact.

As I opened the book and began reading, time flew by, and here is my opinion on it.

This story is a psychological thriller with an alcoholic woman named Rachel as the protagonist. She becomes obsessed with a couple she sees every day from the train. Rachel is portrayed as an unsympathetic, obsessive character with erratic behavior.

The author expertly weaves together multiple narrators and perspectives, creating a suspenseful and gripping narrative that keeps the reader on the edge of their seat.

The story is full of mystery, tension, and suspense, keeping the reader guessing on how it all unfolds and ends.

In terms of themes, the book touches on topics that the current youth is facing, such as addiction, societal expectations, betrayal, manipulation, consequences of our actions, motivations, and complexities of human relationships.

One of the profound points discussed in the story is the impact of trauma and the ways in which people cope with it.

While there are positives, such as the atmosphere, tension, and psychological depth, there are also negatives. Some of the negatives include unlikable characters that are hard to empathize with, a somewhat formulaic plot line that follows the conventions of the psychological thriller genre, and potentially confusing transitions between multiple narrators.

Overall, the book is compelling and thought-provoking, offering a nuanced portrayal of complex characters and a riveting plot. It may not be everyone's cup of tea due to its unlikable characters, predictable plot, and potentially confusing narrative, but it is definitely worth a read.

After discussing and analyzing the story with the librarian, I headed back home. The sun was high in the sky, and the day was picking up its pace as I skipped my way back.

Back at home, I closed the door, removed my outerwear, and headed to the kitchen for brunch. I gave my mom a tight hug and sat down with my half-awake siblings. Enjoying a banana shake, I noticed my sister nodding off and my brother already dozing off in his bowl of cereal.

If you've read the book, let me know your first opinion on the genre. Have a good day!

ReviewDiscussionBook of the DayAnalysis
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran17 days ago

    Omgggg, I loved this book so much! I felt so sorry for Rachel! The book was kinda slow for me but soon picked up the pace. If you liked this, you should read "The Wife Between Us" by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen. You'll enjoy it!

  • I am happy to add the first like and comment on this story. The review is almost done well and good luck on your next reviews!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.