BookClub logo

Murder In The Family By Cara Hunter

A review on the TikTok sensation book

By Shauna MullenPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Murder In The Family: Cara Hunter

So, I have a confession to make. I had not read a book in close to 10 years because I didn’t ever feel the need too. As soon as I left school, I put reading behind me and never looked back, until recently. I had some extra money, a suggestion for a book that was right down my alley from my boyfriend and went for it. I lost myself in this book, something I am not used to doing but very much enjoyed. This book had such a unique concept to it that I had no chance in resisting as soon as I opened the front cover and turned that first page, I was hooked.

The book was called Murder in The Family by Cara Hunter. Written like a true crime book, this work of fiction has you fighting to figure out who the real killer is before the experts you follow in the book. The writing is beautifully done in a way that keeps suspense and tension at an all time high so you have to turn the page and keep reading to find out what happens.

The story starts with introducing the crime and finding out that we are going to be following the making of a documentary that is trying to find new evidence and possibly the killer. We are introduced to the director, the producer and a few experts that will be looking to solve the case. The director behind the documentary is the stepson of the victim and you find that the documentary does not go the way he had planned it too due to the producer keeping some twists and turns from him for shock value for this fictional audience. From the small things like asking certain questions to the victim’s family to surprising connections to the “randomly” chosen experts that all convince you of their innocence.

I had an idea to who did it when I started the book which I was slightly disappointed to find out I was right towards the end. At least, that is what I thought before reading the last few pages. The person you think it is, always has their reasonings for the evidence stacked up against them and you end up with a bitter taste in your mouth with how it ends due to wanting more and feeling the need for it to be nice and neatly completed but the book represents reality perfectly. When it comes to the human mind and true crime, not everything is how it might initially seem and the obvious, “best case” scenario only scratches the surface with what really happened.

As someone who has recently started to find passion in fiction writing, the way this author makes you believe you are following the case with them, the way she baits you into thinking you have it figured out before the so-called “experts” is so masterfully done. The only time I was able to pull myself away from reading was because I didn’t want to read it so quickly and be done with it. Even then, I found it very difficult to tear myself away from the pages of this crime story.

After this, I’d like to thank the author of this book for showing me something so truly unique that I have fallen in love with reading again. Not only am I inspired to continue levelling up my writing and completing my multiple book ideas, I’m excited to find my next read, my eyes will be peeled for the next story to invigorate my mind and new found need for reading.

GenreReviewRecommendationReading ListFictionDiscussionBook of the YearBook of the WeekBook of the MonthBook of the DayAuthorAnalysis

About the Creator

Shauna Mullen

I like to write about true crime and do small investigations. I also write fiction sometimes

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Ian Read10 months ago

    Great review!

Shauna MullenWritten by Shauna Mullen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.