BookClub logo

Midnight Sun - A review

I'm so sorry Stephanie Meyer.

By Ashley LimaPublished 8 months ago • Updated 8 months ago • 3 min read
10
Midnight Sun by Stephanie Meyer book cover.

Listen, I'm a Twihard, but the MID in Midnight is the best way to describe this book.

I had to DNF. It's something that I never do, but I have barely read since May because I refuse to read more than one book at a time (I know, it's a problem).

I made it to the 60% mark of Midnight Sun. I was so excited to start this, looking forward to reading Edward's perspective of Twilight, but holy shit.

First of all, hearing Edward's perspective is so much creepier than the moments he acts creepy in Twilight. He is actually deranged and a sicko and Bella should stay far away from him.

Secondly, why doesn't he know how to shut the fuck up? This book is, quite literally, double the length of Twilight. While I find the backstory pieces very interesting, Stephanie Meyer spends way too much time going through Edward's emotions during scenes we already know and love.

It took me nearly 2 hours to read the meadow scene. Literally, it was nearly 100 pages long. That's about half a book right there! Talk about unnecessary. There was no need for that. He's basically saying the same things over and over and over again. It's insufferable. This book could have been a fraction of the length. The focus should have been on the stuff we didn't get to see in Twilight, like his relationship with Carlisle, Esme, and the siblings.

Thirdly, did I mention Edward is creepy? Their love story is tumultuous, but understanding that this is a piece of Mormon American literature generally helps people get over the timeline. However, the way he professes his obsessions about this girl he doesn't know as love almost immediately is so offputting. Plus, the emphasis on how much he wants to kill Bella is wild. We get it, he's a vampire, we don't need to read this blood lust for murder being portrayed as borderline pseudo-sexual. It's bizarre.

Not only that, but the way he talks about other women is so gross. Like, he's constantly insulting people who aren't Bella. We get it, you love her, but why do you have to put other people down in the process? It's very weird and makes me dislike his character more than was necessary.

So much more could have been done with the mindreading thing. We could have seen more of their relationship outside of the plot already well-known from the original novel. There is nothing new or exciting to keep me reading. It's the same story, drawn out for no reason whatsoever, and it's boring. The prose isn't keeping me hooked. I have literally avoided this book like the black plague.

I don't like not finishing books, I really don't. Even if I don't like something, I try to read through it to the end. I can't with this one, no matter how hard I try. I've had this story sitting in the drafts since the inception of the Book Club community. I have read maybe 5 pages since drafting it. To not finish this book is a gift to myself, and I'm happy to accept it.

How this has 4.8 Stars on Amazon is beyond me. Like I said, I'm a Twihard. I rewatch the movies yearly, and I just reread the books a year ago. They're bad but they're great; I love them with every fiber of my being. I could not love this book, no matter how hard I tried. Don't read it. Just don't. It's literally not worth it. I'm off to get through my TBR now. What a waste of nearly 4 months of my life.

ReviewFictionDiscussion
10

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Interesting article. Don't think I'll read the book. Sounds boring

  • I'm not a Twihard but I did read and watch Twilight, New Moon and Eclipse. Not a big fan of the movies because I'm more of a book person and my favourite is New Moon. Edward leaving and getting ghosted by Jacob was very relatable. Oh and I'm Team Jacob. But I digress. I DNF Breaking Dawn. I only read up to Bella's labour scene. It was just too gross for me. I didn't even watch the movies for Breaking Dawn. I didn't even bother with Midnight Sun and looks like I did the right thing, lol. I guess Stephenie kinda overdid it, making it longer than it had to. Also, I don't like people who put others down. How the hell did this book get 4.8 stars? Lol.

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Dear Ms. Ashley - You 4.8 Twihard me - <4 Jay

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    I probably would have stopped at "Stephenie Meyer", but I should not be so cruel. I like your review, and I hope to share this with my niece one day...after she stops her infatuation with this world.

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Sounds painful. I probably would have stopped long before you but understand and appreciate your personal rule of not reading more than one book at a time. Well, you tried. And thank you for the warning. I hate if I get angry from reading and it’s not because of expected tragic moments due to the genre. But more of what you said, the unnecessary and repetitive content.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Thanks for the review. I know not to read it 😂

  • Alivia Varvel8 months ago

    The meadow scene is nearly 100 pages?!? As someone who was also very, very into Twilight, I was heavily debating reading this book. Now I know to stay far away 😆

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.