BookClub logo

Lost My Way in the Darkness

A Novel

By Mack D. AmesPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
1

In 2019, my interest in reading was rekindled after a lengthy hiatus, but I discovered that my thirst for short stories was greater than for full-length books. As a result, I searched online for free websites to use to sate my appetite. I discovered several apps and sites that provided ample results, which I consumed with relish.

The more I read, however, the greater my satisfaction devolved into dissatisfaction due to an excess of grammatical errors, syntax sins, and plot gaps large enough to convey adult elephants. Loose ends, unfinished stories, and illogical actions stirred discontentment within my mind, and by the middle of 2020, I decided that I could write "at least as well as some of those amateurs, if not better."

I began a fanfic of the Hardy Boys(TM) that never saw the light of day; it remains unfinished, with loose ends and illogical actions yet to be explained. As I allowed that first attempt to sink into the mire of forgetfulness, a new plot took its place. It nagged at my brain for several months. Then, in September 2021, I sat down and began writing. Five weeks later, a story had emerged that changed my life.

Lost My Way in the Darkness is the tale of five boys growing up in the fictitious community of Newtowne, Maine, in the 1980s. Primary character Jack has recently moved there with his father and stepmother, Joe and Stephanie, just three years after his mom was killed by a drunk driver. Raised in a Christian home, Jack is 11 years old, and he blames God for the death of his mom. As Lost My Way unfolds, Jack confronts problems in his life and in others', and he's challenged over and over to trust in a God he doesn't believe can be trusted.

CONTENT WARNING

The problems that occur in Lost My Way include troubling issues in the lives of preteen and teenage kids, including child abuse and neglect, domestic abuse/violence, bullying, suicidal ideation/suicide, sexual assault, and so on. Jack learns who the trustworthy adults are and aren't and whether he's on the right path for his life. Some readers don't agree with the author's conclusions or resolutions, but everyone who has read the book has enjoyed the writing style. Many have said that "this is a book that needed to be written."

Regardless of others' perspectives, however, writing and reading this book have given me a newfound sense of compassion, authenticity, and sympathy for those who suffer unkindness at the hands of others. I have been abused by a trusted friend. I have betrayed loyalties. I know what it is to forgive unasked and what it means to beg forgiveness and not receive it.

Lost My Way in the Darkness, written by author Mack Ames, has allowed me to step outside my usual daily life and describe the temptations and trials, and the joys and the sorrows that have accompanied my childhood and work, providing acquaintances and friends the opportunity to see me in a new light, and telling an exciting tale for everyone else. I encourage you to pick up a copy of this book in any format and come along for the ride!

Note: The second edition will be released in late September.

Challenge
1

About the Creator

Mack D. Ames

Educator & writer in Maine, USA. Real name Bill MacD, partly. Mid50s. Dry humor. Emotional. Cynical. Sinful. Forgiven. Thankful. One wife, two teen sons, one male dog. Baritone. BoSox fan. LOVE baseball, Agatha Christie, history, & Family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C.S LEWIS9 months ago

    great job Join my friends and read what I have just prepared for you I am sure you will like it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.