BookClub logo

Help a book-lover out

The unanswerable dilemma

By Hannah MoorePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
24
Help a book-lover out
Photo by Einar Storsul on Unsplash

Gentle reader, I am stuck. Quagmired. Bogged down and sluggishly gurgling. And I require help. Guidance from those most qualified to guide.

It all began when I was gifted, by my partner of 23 years, a book token. Now, my partner of 23 years is, well, not a reliable gift giver. One Christmas, I recall skipping through Facebook feeds full of the glittering gifts my peers had unwrapped beneath the Christmas tree that morning, and wondering whether I should post the photograph of the whoopee cushion and stapler I had been given. Another year, he made me a table from a cross section of tree. I have received a broken puzzle from a charity shop one year, and the next, a framed section of map, at its centre, the village where, as a frequently relocated child, my soul had felt most content. But a book token was a good bet. We share a bank account, and here, in my hands, was £20 I was now obligated to spend in the book shop. I would like to say on books, but half went on a local Ordinance Survey map, which has fed my legs and my lungs well. The remainder did indeed, go on a book. A book I have just now offered a very brief review of over on the Critique community and, to be frank, have not much more to say about.

You will know, I imagine, the delight of entering a book shop not to browse, but with the intention to actually exit again a whole world heavier. You will understand, too, the anguish of such a bounty of choice! Like bitter sweet chocolate, pleasure and pain. I had a day off work. The children were in school. The day was ripe for the taking, and with sandwiches and book token in my back pack I took the train into London. First, the British Museum, where I marvelled at the Elgin Marbles, and felt the weight of their contention. Next, I wandered the National Gallery, dwarfed by several centuries of meaning making. Finally, I entered a book shop, the thrum of cultural connectedness alive in my veins. And in this state of heightened humanity, I chose my book. Poorly.

100 Years of Solitude is not doing it for me. It is neither moving me, nor shaking me. It is losing me. This is largely an issue of characterisation. I hesitate to say poor characterisation, we each have our proclivities, but certainly characterisation which, for me, is leaving me about as invested as I would be (forgive me) watching Grimsby Town football club playing Accrington Stanley. In the rain. The tale rattles on, with generation after generation named nearly identically, as some die young and some fail to die at all it seems, casually trotting though monumental personality changes with barely a comma, as characters come and go and come again, for, I suppose, 100 years. I do not feel it a personal failing the I am unable to offer a plot summary.

Except this is not the entirety of the matter. Because interspersed within the Dickenseque paragraphs of seeming endlessness, there are passages of Columbian gold, convincing me that Eldorado may be near. After all, Salman Rushdie is quoted on the rear cover as considering this “The greatest novel in any language of the last fifty years”. I mean, he may since have changed his mind, I suppose, but the quote remains in print.

So let me now come to my dilemma. The copy I purchased with my precious book token is 422 pages in length. I am on page 247. Do I finish it?

Discussion
24

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶5 months ago

    Hoping you gave up on that book months ago! I used to feel duty bound to finish every book I started, especially if it was a gift. Now, if I find it particularly despicable, I tear the cover off and feed the recycle bin with the rest of the book... empowering!

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I can't help you, but I give you permission to stop reading if you haven't already. There is a book out there worthier of your eyeballs!

  • Teresa Renton10 months ago

    Nooooo! Life’s too short. Find a decent summary online so you get the gist of the rest. You can always flick through one day and read an odd paragraph but I say find something you prefer 😊

  • Andrew C McDonald10 months ago

    Many book lovers insist they must finish a book once started. I disagree. There are way too many books out there to waste time on something you are not enjoying. I am 60 years old and a lifelong bibliophile, but if I am not enjoying a novel after 75 or 100 pages, it gets put down and something else picked up. Read what you like. Don’t read what you don’t.

  • KJ Aartila10 months ago

    Oh! I don't know!? Fun read! Abigail Penhallegon suggested my reading of your piece after she read my Fairytale critique - she was correct!I have. not read the book you speak of here, but it is so disappointing to spend a bit of money like that to have your desires poorly met. 😢

  • Abigail Penhallegon10 months ago

    I loved this. I was kinda skimming through the top story list and almost went past yours, not having read any of the others yet either, but I had to do a quick scroll double take. Your first few sentences just grabbed my attention! If I were to go through now and list all the sentences and turns of phrase that I loved, this comment would be far, far too long. Instead, I’ll just subscribe so I can keep reading your voice, which I can’t quite describe- something that, if it were coming from someone else, might be almost too crafted, but which you own beautifully. Sorry, now I’m going overboard, but I hope you enjoy it 😂 basically, good job. Yay. 😂 now, put that book down and read something you enjoy. If you’re a fan of crafting, I suggest cutting up 100 years and making a cool cut-book artwork out of it.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    That's a good question!!! I personally would exchange it for another. That might not be doable. If that's the case, sell it! You could buy another with the funds from the sale.❤️❤️💕

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💯👌✨🎉💖🦋📝😊

  • Dan West10 months ago

    I'm an avid reader. I've taken a shot at this one 3 times. Each time I've gotten about 100 pages in before giving up. I felt like I was carrying an anchor through a bog. I know people who love this book, but I know people who love opera or golf too. I'm sure there's a reason but I just don't get it. My vote: just set it down on the table made of the tree and walk away.

  • Madoka Mori10 months ago

    I personally like (not love, though) 100 Years of Solitude, but if it's not doing it for you then put it aside. Read a book that resonates with you instead. Maybe you'll circle back around to 100 Years in the future and it will work then — I've had that happen a few times. Maybe you'll hate it forever! Who knows. Life's too short.

  • finish it

  • Rachael MacDonald10 months ago

    It took me 34 years to not finish a book. 100% zero regret. There is just simply too many books and not enough life.

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    This reminds me of people who stay in dysfunctional relationships, knowing damn well that they’re miserable, because they’ve already invested so much time into it. Instead of learning from that, they keep wasting their time until the relationship inevitably ends. And then they’re mad they stuck it out. Why would you do this to yourself? Congrats on Top Story! 🥂 Ditch that book!

  • Ditch it. Lol! I'm sorry if that was bad advise 😅

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I never have any qualms about leaving a book unfinished. You're over halfway through and it hasn't got your attention yet. I'd say that's a pretty good reason.

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    I cannot tell you to finish a book that you do not like. But I could not leave a book unfinished. You will have to solve this one on your own.

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Lol, since you are asking, it seems you don't want to finish it, so I'm permitting you not to!!! (though you don't need it) I have read a couple of books I couldn't get into and was halfway through; it's okay!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.