BookClub logo

Chris Carter - Robert Hunter 1-3 Review

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

By SzivárványfelettPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
1

I read the second volume in the Robert Hunter series by Chris Carter.

1. Chris Carter - The ​Crucifix Killer - At first I thought it would be the best crime series of my life... Naive me - 5/4

For Garcia, however, it has only just begun. It was even worse for Hunter because he was back

Brutal book, full of suspense... Just when you think you know the answer, there is another question to answer. The description of the victims was very sick, I loved it! :D But for some reason I didn't like the ending so much, it was kind of depressing, I wanted a bit bigger, punchy part, not this one. Detective Garcia was a very likable character for me, but towards the end I liked Hunter less, I like detectives, but don't make them think all the time!

Highly recommended for fans of the genre! :)

2. Chris Carter - The ​Executioner - This was much worse than the first part, but not worse than next - 5/4

I love that the entire volume is in medias res, as we get right into the meat of the story. Hunter and Garcia are still my favorite couple, I like them as much as the couple of Poirot and Hastings, although they are better because Mama Christie did not create them as perfect as Carter did the two gentlemen, especially Hunter, whose eyes never flicker and he always knows everything better.

Chris Carter is a brilliant writer. He writes so excitingly and captivatingly that it's something amazing, I love his writing style and his way of thinking, he can think so well, he touches the threads, it's something brilliant! The detailed descriptions he gives of the corpses... Oh my god, this makes me nauseous, but you can still imagine what's so weird and bizarre :'3. And the fact that he uses the phobia of the victims to murder... Who has such a sick idea??? -> This idea is unique and stomach-churning to Annira. However, let's forget the dangling ends. We have to close the chapter somehow, okay, but we're already pushing Alekos down as harshly as TV2's Alekos (Hungarian reality show) Enough "Jesus!" for a lifetime. "Are you kidding me???" I saw text.

Basically, I liked it, but unfortunately, I'll be honest, it's not my number. I thought it was much more striking, the killer's identity was also not what it seems, but he couldn't hit you in the face as much as, say, the Crusader Killer. I expected more. Well, maybe you'll like the next parts, at least I really hope so, because it's basically a super, exciting thriller series.

3. Chris Carter - The ​Night Stalker - I lost interest in the book. Does it make sense to continue? - 5/3,5

No matter how strong or tough we think we are, we all need help sometimes.

The thing is, I'm so disappointed. I started reading about five times, but I always stopped, but now I felt the strength to continue. It was a bit of a shame.

Chris Carter would be such a good writer if he didn't have the constant "are you kidding me?" "Damn life" ending. And as I read his third book, Detective Hunter's perfection and Garcia's imperfection annoy me more and more.

It was boring. It was so boring! Maybe I'll continue, maybe I don't have a clue because I've lost my interest in this series so much. Whitney's death didn't scare me either. The girl was honestly not likeable.

Is it worth continuing? I have no idea.

FictionReviewQuoteCONTENT WARNINGBook of the Year
1

About the Creator

Szivárványfelett

"I think that sexuality is only attractive when it's natural and spontaneous." ~ Marylin Monroe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.