BookClub logo

Book Outlet Unboxing

My latest finds from BookOutlet.ca

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 9 months ago • 15 min read
Top Story - August 2023
15
Book Outlet Unboxing
Photo by Kimberly Farmer on Unsplash

I had to add to my ever growing pile of TBR books.

I absolutely love this website called BookOutlet.ca

They are cheaper books that were slightly damaged or left over stock from big brand name companies. Over the years, I have made quite a few purchases from them. You can't always find what you're looking for but its a great place to get a few books at a discounted rate. Even rare finds show up on this site. I found quite a few childrens books for my kiddos on here before. But this time, my purchase was all for me.

Below is the list of my latest purchases from BookOutlet.

Frostfire by Amanda Hocking

Bryn Aven is an outcast among the Kanin, the most powerful of the troll tribes.

Set apart by her heritage and her past, Bryn is a tracker who's determined to become a respected part of her world. She has just one goal: become a member of the elite King’s Guard to protect the royal family. She's not going to let anything stand in her way, not even a forbidden romance with her boss Ridley Dresden.

But all her plans for the future are put on hold when Konstantin– a fallen hero she once loved – begins kidnapping changelings. Bryn is sent in to help stop him, but will she lose her heart in the process?

Taken from Goodreads

I love this author. I had to grab this novel as I have not read this series yet. They didn't have the whole series listed for sale but I thought I would scoop this find up for $6.49 CAD.

I have written before about how much I love this author. The link to that post is below.

The Devil's Arithmetic by Jane Yolen

Hannah thinks tonight Passover Seder will be the same as always. But this year she will be mysteriously transported into the past. Only she knows the horrors that await.

Taken from Goodreads

This book caught my eye. I had to scoop it up for $4.99 CAD. It was too good of a deal not to. It is a historical fiction novel about time-traveling. I thought it would be an interesting read.

Bridge To Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

Jess Aarons has been practicing all summer so he can be the fastest runner in the fifth grade. And he almost is, until the new girl in school, Leslie Burke, outpaces him. The two become fast friends and spend most days in the woods behind Leslie's house, where they invent an enchanted land called Terabithia. One morning, Leslie goes to Terabithia without Jess and a tragedy occurs. It will take the love of his family and the strength that Leslie has given him for Jess to be able to deal with his grief.

Taken from Goodreads

I loved this novel as a child. I had to scoop up another copy of it after losing my original. Especially for $4.99 CAD.

Bones to Ashes by Kathy Reichs

As a child, she was told to forget about the missing girl. But some memories don’t die….

The discovery of a skeleton in Acadia, Canada, reawakens a traumatic episode for forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan: Could the young girl’s remains be those of Évangéline Landry, Tempe’s friend who disappeared when Tempe was twelve? Exotic, free-spirited, and slightly older, Évangéline enlivened Tempe’s summer beach visits…then vanished amid whispers that she was “dangerous.” Now, faced with bones scarred with inexplicable lesions, Tempe is consumed with solving a decades-old mystery — while her lover, detective Andrew Ryan, urgently needs her attention on a wave of teenage abductions and murders. With both Ryan and her ex-husband making surprising future plans, Tempe may soon find that her world has painfully and irrevocably changed once again.

Taken from Goodreads

If you know me, you know that I love the television series Bones. I had to get my hands on a another copy of Kathy Reichs' books. I have one of the Temperance Brennan novels and I loved it. And again for only $4.99 CAD how could you go wrong?

18 Best Stories by Edgar Allan Poe

A chilling compilation of some of Edgar Allen Poe's best-loved stories, edited by Vincent Price and Chandler Brossard and with an introduction by Vincent Price, including:

The Black Cat - The Fall of the House of Usher - The Masque of the Red Death - The Facts in the Case of M. Valdemar - The Premature Burial - Ms. Found in a Bottle - A Tale of the Ragged Mountains - The Sphinx - The Murders in the Rue Morgue - The Tell-Tale Heart - The Gold-Bug - The System of Dr. Tarr and Prof. Fether - The Man That Was Used Up - The Balloon Hoax - A Descent Into the Maelstrom - The Purloined Letter - The Pit and The Pendulum - The Cask of Amontillado

Taken from Amazon.ca

I had to snag a copy of this. I love his work. The Cask of Amontillado was by far one of the best short stories I have ever read and I had to take an opportunity to dive into some more of his work. I got this book for only $4.99 CAD.

Heart & Shadow (The Valkyrie Duology: Between the Blade and the Heart/From the Earth to the Shadows) by Amanda Hocking

Between the Blade and the Heart

WHEN THE FATE OF THE WORLD IS AT STAKE, LOYALTIES WILL BE TESTED. As one of Odin's Valkyries, Malin's greatest responsibility is to slay immortals and return them to the underworld. But when she unearths a secret that could unravel the balance of all she knows, Malin along with her best friend and her ex-girlfriend must decide where their loyalties lie. And if helping the blue-eyed boy Asher enact his revenge is worth the risk―to the world and her heart.

From the Earth to the Shadows

SHE WILL SAVE THE WORLD OR DIE TRYING. While dealing with dark revelations about her life and her world, Malin Krigarie finds herself with new allies--and new enemies. Her quest for the truth leads her to places she never thought possible, and she's never been one to shy away from a fight. But for all her strength and determination, will it be enough to rescue the people she cares about and save the world before it's too late?

Taken from Amazon.ca

Two books in one! Score! Again, I love Amanda Hocking and I had never read this series of hers. Apparently, it is Game of Thrones meets Blade Runner based on Norse mythology. And honestly, she never disappoints. I snagged this book for $10.99 CAD.

A Conspiracy of Bones by Kathy Reichs

It’s sweltering in Charlotte, North Carolina, and Temperance Brennan, still recovering from neurosurgery following an aneurysm, is battling nightmares, migraines, and what she thinks might be hallucinations when she receives a series of mysterious text messages, each containing a new picture of a corpse that is missing its face and hands. Immediately, she’s anxious to know who the dead man is, and why the images were sent to her.

An identified corpse soon turns up, only partly answering her questions.

To win answers to the others, including the man’s identity, she must go rogue, working mostly outside the system. That’s because Tempe’s new boss holds a fierce grudge against her and is determined to keep her out of the case. Tempe bulls forward anyway, even as she begins questioning her instincts. But the clues she discovers are disturbing and confusing. Was the faceless man a spy? A trafficker? A target for assassination by the government? And why was he carrying the name of a child missing for almost a decade?

With help from a number of law enforcement associates including her Montreal beau Andrew Ryan and the always-ready-with-a-smart-quip, ex-homicide investigator Skinny Slidell, and utilizing new cutting-edge forensic methods, Tempe draws closer to the astonishing truth.

Taken from GoodReads

I had to get another book by Kathy Reichs in the Temperance Brennan series. I only paid $6.49 CAD for it.

Fear Less, Pray More: A Woman's Devotional Guide to Courageous Living by Janet Ramsdell Rocky

This brand-new devotional guide features180 readings and prayers designed to help alleviate your fears as you learn to place your trust in the Almighty God, who gives you courage. Inspired by this promise from God's Word: "Be strong. Take courage. . .because God, your God, is striding ahead of you. He’s right there with you. He won’t let you down; he won’t leave you” (Deuteronomy 31:6 MSG), Fear Less, Pray More reinforces the truth that with God, you can live courageously every single day—whether you fear the unknown, aging, rejection, losing a loved one, being alone, or something more.

Taken from Amazon

I love spirituality. I am trying to get back into praying so I thought that this book was worth the buy. It was only $3.49 CAD anyways so what was the harm in purchasing it?

The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins

A preeminent scientist - and the world's most prominent atheist - asserts the irrationality of belief in God, and the grievous harm religion has inflicted on society, from the Crusades to 9/11.

With rigor and wit, Dawkins examines God in all his forms, from the sex-obsessed tyrant of the Old Testament, to the more benign (but still illogical) Celestial Watchmaker favored by some Enlightenment thinkers. He eviscerates the major arguments for religion, and demonstrates the supreme improbability of a supreme being. He shows how religion fuels war, foments bigotry, and abuses children, buttressing his points with historical and contemporary evidence.

The God Delusion makes a compelling case that belief in God is not just wrong, but potentially deadly. It also offers exhilarating insight into the advantages of atheism to the individual and society, not the least of which is a clearer, truer appreciation of the universe's wonders than any faith could ever muster.

Taken from Goodreads

This really caught my eye. It is about the belief that God is not just wrong, but potentially deadly. It also offers insight into the advantages of atheism to the individual and society. I also just hate the word delusion but that is another story. I thought it would be worth the read at least. I paid $9.99 for this book. I’m not an atheist, I just liked the description of this novel.

Killer Cults: Stories of Charisma, Deceit, and Death by Stephen Singular

What’s scarier than a murderer? Someone with the charisma to compel others to kill for them . . . or to kill themselves. Meet these cult leaders—and get an inside look at their beliefs and how they controlled others.

Some cults, led by leaders like Charlie Manson, Jim Jones, and David Koresh, are notorious. But others are less well known, such as Shoko Asahara and his doomsday cult, Aum Shinrikyo, who orchestrated the sarin gas attack on the Tokyo subway. Or Joseph Di Mambro and Luc Jouret, who founded the Order of the Solar Temple, a doomsday cult that led to the death of 51 members by murder or suicide. Then there is Marshall Applewhite, leader of Heaven’s Gate, who, along with 38 followers, killed themselves in the belief that the Hale-Bopp comet signaled the arrival of a spaceship that would transport them to a higher plane of existence. What makes cult leaders so compelling is their often-unfathomable power over their adherents. Why do people kill others or themselves for a questionable set of beliefs? Killer Cults tells the stories behind both famous and unfamiliar cults, and the people behind them. Across a series of profiles, we learn the jaw-dropping truth behind some of the most mystifying and deadly cults, and their leaders, all of whom led their followers down a dark, murderous path.

Taken from Amazon.ca

As soon as I noticed this one I had to add it to my cart. After falling in love with the Waco story, I really wanted to learn more about cults. This book reminds me of a conspiracy theories book I have in my collection. I hope its worth the read anyways. It was $9.99 CAD.

Growing Boldly: Dare to Build a Life You Love by Emily Ley

In Growing Boldly, Emily will help you:

  • Believe in who you are and Whose you are . . . and move past the lies and fears holding you back
  • Figure out what makes you tick and own it confidently
  • Gather all your grit, learned lessons, and tools because it's all valuable
  • Imagine the life you dream of and decide how to make it happen
  • Love your people well so that you create a lasting legacy
  • Clear the clutter and cultivate clarity so you can do what matters most
  • Do the hard work without forgetting to feed your soul

Taken from Amazon.ca

When I read that, I knew I had to grab this book for myself. Worth the read in my opinion. I snagged this self-help book for $9.99 CAD.

Circe by Madeline Miller

This I think is the one that I am most excited about.

Woman. Witch. Myth. Mortal. Outcast. Lover. Destroyer. Survivor. CIRCE.

In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. Circe is a strange child – not powerful and terrible, like her father, nor gorgeous and mercenary like her mother. Scorned and rejected, Circe grows up in the shadows, at home in neither the world of gods or mortals. But Circe has a dark power of her witchcraft. When her gift threatens the gods, she is banished to the island of Aiaia where she hones her occult craft, casting spells, gathering strange herbs and taming wild beasts. Yet a woman who stands alone will never be left in peace for long – and among her island's guests is an unexpected the mortal Odysseus, for whom Circe will risk everything.

So Circe sets forth her tale, a vivid, mesmerizing epic of family rivalry, love and loss – the defiant, inextinguishable song of woman burning hot and bright through the darkness of a man's world.

Taken from Goodreads

I snagged this bestseller for only $9.49 CAD. I cannot wait to read it!

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig

Aged 24, Matt Haig's world caved in. He could see no way to go on living. This is the true story of how he came through crisis, triumphed over an illness that almost destroyed him and learned to live again. A moving, funny and joyous exploration of how to live better, love better and feel more alive, Reasons to Stay Alive is more than a memoir. It is a book about making the most of your time on earth.

Taken from Amazon.ca

This man's story about suicide and depression has wowed me for years. I have followed him on Instagram for quite some time. I have a few other books written by him but I needed this one added to my collection. I only paid $8.49 CAD for the novel.

Scary Stories To Tell In The Dark (The Complete 3-Book Collection!) by Alvin Schwartz

I LOVED these books when I was twelve years old. When I found this collection for only $11.49 CAD I HAD to grab myself a set. I cannot wait to read these again.

Cards Against Anxiety: A Guidebook and Cards to Help You Stress Less

Cards Against Anxiety is a unique approach to dealing with anxiety, overwhelming thoughts, and other unwanted feelings that accompany the stresses of everyday modern life. This slipcase set includes a guide to cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) techniques, and a deck of 25 wallet-size cards. Each card has a focus phrase on the front and a handy reminder of the technique on the back. The book highlights which methods you may find most useful for different situations, so you can pull the card that you want to focus on and carry it with you or prop it up on your desk or mirror. Whether you are at work, at school, at home, or on the road, these techniques are easy to use and, with practice, will significantly improve your mood, focus, and quality of life.

Taken from Amazon.ca

I didn't know I needed these until I looked through the cards for the first time. I fell in love with this deck of cards for anxiety. I did not actually know that Book Outlet sold card decks like this until last week. I had to purchase a set for myself. I snagged them for only $10.99 CAD.

Alchemy Elementals: A Tool for Planetary Healing

A revolutionary new tool for spiritual growth and evolution from one of today’s most dynamic spiritual leaders.

Shaman Durek is a 6th generation shaman who has devoted his life to bringing a message of transformation and healing to the world. Working with clients from Gwyneth Paltrow to tech giants like Dave Asprey, he’s one of the most inspirational thinkers of our time, offering ancient wisdom for modern seekers. Following the success of his first book, Spirit Hacking, Shaman Durek has created a revolutionary new spiritual toolkit in this 88-card deck designed to up-level human performance.

Each card of the Alchemy Elementals Deck carries an energetic code, known as a spirit enhancer in shamanic tradition, designed to deepen your energetic wisdom and grow your spiritual power. These spirit enhancers will help you heighten your psychic and healing gifts and strengthen your spiritual journey. The cards correspond to the Celestial bodies―Moon, Sun, Star, and Earth―in combination with the Elemental powers―Storm, Rainbow, Wind, Snow, and Lightning―forging a connection between the natural world and your own inborn power. Beautifully designed with luxurious finishes, each card is not only a spiritual catalyst but also a work of art.

Taken from Amazon.ca

This called to my soul. I read the description of this set of cards and KNEW in my bones that it was meant for me. This is the item I spent the most money on but it was WORTH IT. At least in my opinion. I spent $23.99 CAD but I just had to.

All in all, I spent $147.86 CAD on 16 different items!

______________________________

Have you read any of these books? Please let me know in the comments which one I should read first!

What books should I buy next?

Chloe Rose Violet

Don't forget to subscribe for more content!!

Reading List
15

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred9 months ago

    Thank you for sharing these, some good ones in there

  • Erica Wagner9 months ago

    Great, personalized recommendations — thank you for sharing! Love Matt Haig —

  • Ro9 months ago

    Oh, I love this website!!

  • Kelly Khoo9 months ago

    Impressive haul! Diverse selection, from classics to self-help. Enjoy your reads and continue exploring new literary journeys. Happy reading! đź“š

  • Chloe Gilholy9 months ago

    This website sounds brilliant. I would use it all the time if I lived in Canada.

  • MANOJ K 9 months ago

    Tq sis it's awsome keep writing

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Thanks for posting such an interesting and intriguing piece and list! There are lots of books on there by authors I've never heard of, but that sound great. Poe for the win, though (one of my favourite authors) Hope you enjoy the books you've not read before! Well done on Top Story too!

  • Ahamed Thousif9 months ago

    Congratz on Top Story! Good to explain.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Terrific review!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    These are some decent pricing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.